We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a fantastic night - Room was amazing - very large with lovely views and very comfortable.
Breakfast was amazing - a buffet but also order your hot breakfast to your table -omelettes, Irish fry, pancakes etc... Dinner was amazing - very very interesting menu with LOTs of surprises along the way. Have never had such an enjoyable exciting menu before with impeccable service. Would love to return in the near future and would highly recommend. Ashford castle is just around the corner - woth a walk out - but would recommend staying at Lisloughrey Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed recently on a 3 day package which included a lake cruise and tickets to Kylemore Abbey.We booked a lake view suite and it was extremely comfortable with beautiful views to the lake.The staff without exception were friendly and welcoming. Our evening meal in Wildes was superb as was the service. Ashford Castle which can be reached by a gentle stroll was truly magnificent and the gardens spectacular.I can highly recommend the cruise on Lough Corrib - Patrick the skipper is obviously someone who loves his work and loves his surroundings. Equally Kylemore Abbey is a must visit - indeed the drive to it has some beautiful scenery.The village of Cong is delightful. Why then only 4 instead of 5 in the rating? Well a previous reviewer had described Lisloughrey as soulless. Whilst I would not agree I did feel the lack of visitors meant there was no real atmosphere especially in the evenings and some of the decor is ready for a facelift. It was,however,midweek and I understand the hotel closes mid week from November onwards.Would I return - absolutely. The beauty of the area and the quality of the food in Wildes will certainly bring me back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had a lovely view from my room overlooking the lake. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. I found the place shabby (not shabby chic!) overall; the carpet was stained, there was sellotape holding the lamp together and along the corridor the paintwork was chipped. And who thought a blood red corridor with teal carpet and fringing on the windows was a good idea? I thought the decor was unsympathetic to the house or the beautiful location. My visit was short and so I only met two staff, both did what they had to do but there was no warmth, interest or friendliness. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackytabacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

During a 10 day road trip through Ireland, this was one of the stops. When we arrived we asked if we could upgrade to a view room and boy what an upgrade. Views down rolling hills to the water. A balcony overlooking all of it where we enjoyed cocktails. There was a copper tub that was big enough for two! Don't miss taking a walk to Ashford Castle. They won't let you in without a reservation so make a lunch reservation and enjoy hours of wandering through beautiful gardens. Just magical! The staff and the whole expericnce was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a water view. If you can get the Permoral room it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bballwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

On arrival upgraded to room with a view of loch, which we would definitely recommend. Very cheerful and helpful staff. Excellent overall package which included their very interesting seven course tasting menu, which really enhanced our visit. Very good location for days out enjoying the Irish lochs and coastline, particularly those beautiful little sandy coves with nobody around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amersham599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were sent here as a wedding present and went for a night in September. Everything about the hotel was top notch - the location and setting, the staff, the restaurant, room and breakfast. The drive in is impressive you arrive at reception overlooking the lake and woodland below the house. There was a wedding on but plenty of guests staying who were not involved. We had a drink at the bar which stocked a great range of craft beers and is set at the front of the house. A great place to relax after the drive and look out over the scenery. Our room was huge - which was in the old house and surprising as I would have expected it to be given to someone at the wedding. The decor was modern and very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was also large with a bath as well as a seperate walk in shower. Dinner at Wildes was included in the deal we chose from their website and was exceptional - the presentation as well as the food was great. We only spent one night here as it is expensive but having had the experience I was pleasantly surprised that they stood stand up to deliver the quality you would expect for that level. I would stay again.

Room Tip: While we had a room in the original house near the restaurant from walking around it looked like tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for just one night to attend a wedding but wished we could of stayed longer to enjoy it more.

The hotel rooms are fantastic and the overall hotel is very nicely decorated and clean.

The food was amazing as are the grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonsi_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
20.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
21.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,123 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: £125 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing