We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed In Lisloughrey Lodge last weekend, I can confidently say that it is the best break we have had - absolutely fabulous. It is truly relaxing with the best beds ever!! Be prepared not to want to get out of bed in the morning. As part of our stay we dined in the restaurant upstairs - it was the winter taster menu. The theme was 'Game' so we got to sample all kinds of meat i.e. goat, pheasant etc. Personally it was not for me but I am sure that if you liked game meat you would be in your element. Dinner was still fab and I can't wait to go back and sample from the restaurant menu. The staff are so friendly and helpful.in Lisloughrey making the stay a relaxing and memorable occasion. We met friends for lunch in the bar the next day and the food was lovely. I would highly recommend a stay and we can't wait to book our next break here. Thank you Lisloughrey Lodge!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suilgorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed one night in September. Food was superb along with the location, which is stunning.
The room we stayed in ( ground floor courtyard ) was really comfortable and more like a suite.
The breakfast was gorgeous and service was top class.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savoscully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We had a beautiful 2 night stay here during the Quiet Man Festival. The hotel is very well kept & pretty; staff were polite & helpful.

We stayed in a suite which had a lounge area downstairs & a bedroom & en suite upstairs. It was very comfortable & well appointed. The decor was modern & clean.

The food was amazing- breakfast was cooked to order & we had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night. Restaurant staff were excellent- pleasant, polite & efficient. On the Saturday night we attended a Ball here.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SharonaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were traveling across Ireland on drive and stay in castles holiday. Lisloughrey is the lodge that once belonged to the castle so we were somewhat disappointed but this was more with our travel operator than the lodge. the lodge is nestled in the woods overlooking the lake, great view from the dinning room. Our room was upstairs which was not a problem for us and our parents fortunately were given a ground floor room to save walking the stairs. Our room was Pauillac and was good sized and comfortable. Being off season, the hotel was not busy which meant we had the run of the place and it fairly quite. had dinner one night in the bar, the food was excellent and the bartender was very attentive and pleasant. the only distracting points were the water kept running in the toilette all night and the light from the hall coming to the room (the 2nd night we turned off the lights in the entry way). Breakfast was adequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IandD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently got married at the lodge and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location and the staff were excellent through out our stay. They could not have done more to help us and look after our guests. A big thank you to Rachael, Saskia and Garry, Lisloughrey lodge is lucky to have you three. This is a unique hotel and should not be missed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AJeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a fantastic night - Room was amazing - very large with lovely views and very comfortable.
Breakfast was amazing - a buffet but also order your hot breakfast to your table -omelettes, Irish fry, pancakes etc... Dinner was amazing - very very interesting menu with LOTs of surprises along the way. Have never had such an enjoyable exciting menu before with impeccable service. Would love to return in the near future and would highly recommend. Ashford castle is just around the corner - woth a walk out - but would recommend staying at Lisloughrey Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed recently on a 3 day package which included a lake cruise and tickets to Kylemore Abbey.We booked a lake view suite and it was extremely comfortable with beautiful views to the lake.The staff without exception were friendly and welcoming. Our evening meal in Wildes was superb as was the service. Ashford Castle which can be reached by a gentle stroll was truly magnificent and the gardens spectacular.I can highly recommend the cruise on Lough Corrib - Patrick the skipper is obviously someone who loves his work and loves his surroundings. Equally Kylemore Abbey is a must visit - indeed the drive to it has some beautiful scenery.The village of Cong is delightful. Why then only 4 instead of 5 in the rating? Well a previous reviewer had described Lisloughrey as soulless. Whilst I would not agree I did feel the lack of visitors meant there was no real atmosphere especially in the evenings and some of the decor is ready for a facelift. It was,however,midweek and I understand the hotel closes mid week from November onwards.Would I return - absolutely. The beauty of the area and the quality of the food in Wildes will certainly bring me back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,791 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,479 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong F31 YC85, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: £127 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing