We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing Hogwarts Night!”
Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashford Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It was the best place (hotel) we have ever stayed. Everything was made up to perfection. The feeling of going centuries back , extremely helpful staff( remembering our names) , dinner service and etc. Our kids enjoyed HOgwarts night sooooo much, it was well organised and we are definitely coming back next October . It is quiet expensive to stay as family with two kids but well worth it , as this is a very special treat. Thank you very much to all staff for amazing weeken!

Room Tip: We had family connecting room. Two double rooms. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We loved staying in the 15th c part of this amazing castle. The grounds are parklike and extensive, staff friendly and helpful and it was a rare experience to be able to enjoy lovely pieces of art. Breakfast and service great. Only negative was bartender in the drawing room one evening wanting to charge us for a unedible starter (slimy peppers with melted cheese and a vinegar type dressing poured over it). Price is high, but worth it for a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1947291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

What a great day we spent at Ashford, a walk to Cong, great lunch at the Hungry Monk, a drink at Lydon's, then Horseback riding with Guinness, Bramble and Tom. Then a wonderful manicure and steam. The Prince of Wales bar was incredible, The dinner was amazing and the service was top notch. Thanks to everyone especially Sophie, Frank and Tom.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Goodness, Ashford Castle is imposing and beautiful. The grounds and gardens are beautifully kept, and the vista overlooking Loch Carrib is - well, it's difficult to take all the beauty in and find words to describe it. We spent several days at the Castle enjoying horse trekking, a hawk walk that was awesome and a boat trip on the Loch to visit ancient Irish ruins. Our rooms were quite comfortable and nicely decorated. It had been warm, and because there is not air conditioning, the rooms became a bit stuffy. Wi-Fi is available only in the public areas downstairs, but we were not visiting Ashford Castle for the Wi-Fi so we managed quite well. A substantial breakfast buffet greets you in the mornings with every type of breakfast food you could want. We enjoyed a delicious casual dinner at Cullen's just across the bridge from the Castle and also in the formal Oak Room at the Castle. The staff ensured our stay was comfortable and effortless. I simply must find an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Castle has alot of great activities. We went horseback riding, had a carrage ride before dinner, played golf, fished for trout, went on boat tour, took fly fishing lessons and hikes some of the many trails. We walked 10 minutes to the town of Cong for lunch and tour. Music in bar area each night was great to relax after the great meals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfpterps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Even though we had a fair amount of rain here, the castle is lovely and they made me feel like a princess. Cong is a nice little town, a short walk from the castle. Our highlight was getting to fly the Harris Hawks. What a wonderful holiday experience. The staff was delightful and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

So now I know what staying in one of the best hotels in the world is all about. The staff are wonderful, the attention that you get from the moment you arrive is incredible. The place is luxurious, beautiful in every way and the setting is second to none. Our room was overlooking the water. The room was great with a big bathroom and 14 foot high ceilings! The food was very good. After dinner there was music and singing. A great place to stay and the whole experience is added to immensely by the thoughtful genuine staff.

Room Tip: 327 overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackytabacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
24.3 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
17.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,480 reviews
18.8 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: £260 - £585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashford Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing