We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashford Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you want to stay in a castle...a real castle! Stay here, wonderful. Stated there with family, you feel special from entering the gates 0. The history is incredible, the room was a modern twist which went really well with the castle with complimentary macaroons when getting into the room. The beds are heaven sent. I could of married my pillow!

We stayed here & it was magical & something today we all smile about. Definitely want to go back. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shivvy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    127
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
381
762
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Ashford Castle is a great, historic property and the staff is definitely attentive to every need. The guest rooms seemed a little dated, but I know the new owners are spending a lot of money to revamp the place.

The highlight of our trip was doing the Hawk Walk at Ireland's only School of Falconry, which is located on the Ashford grounds. Our guide, Cullen, was amazing and patiently answered all of our questions for the hour that we spend with him, and our hawks Joyce and Wilde. I could go on for pages about what a great experience this was but I'll just say don't miss it - experience it for yourself!

Some of the other highlights include the grounds, which are extensive and extremely beautiful. The staff have many options for walks around the castle and to Cong. It was a great way to experience some of the nature of Ireland. Also great were the bar, which is cozy and a great place to relax after a long day, and the boat tour around the lake.

My only complaint it that it is a bit pricey. The buffet breakfast was $28 Euros per person each day, and dinner was out of my budget as well. Luckily they had a coffee and pastry/fruit option for breakfast, which is all I need anyway. Cong was close enough to walk to for dinner.

Room Tip: We got a lake view room which was really nice, although we had to also see the trucks from the renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYcurlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at Ashford Castle over the Christmas period and it was an experience of a lifetime. The staff at the hotel are outstanding and make you feel so welcome it was amazing. The food was outstanding and the warmth and comfort of the hotel was fabulous. You can dine at night in the hotel or at the Cottage close by and the food in both dining area's are oustanding. As a treat we ate in the hotel, the prices are expensive but worth every penny. The grounds are fabulous and you can walk for miles around the castle. You can also take a boat trip for €20 which is well worth it. We will definitely return and would recommend it hightly for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the lake which was gorgeous - the room was quite small but the view made u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I was treated to a stay here from 28th December. From the moment we left our car we were treated so well. We had worried about everything being ott but the staff there really made us feel at ease. It was 5* in every way. We had a deluxe room which had everything we needed, staff were attentive, professional but the biggest plus for us was that the staff were down to earth and genuinely friendly. By far Ashford's biggest asset. We ate in the dining room which was exquisite in terms of food, ambience and service. Breakfast was also incredible. Basically I would highly recommend Ashford Castle for a fantastic stay!! We also went for the cruise and to the falconry.. I can highly recommend both activities!! Cannot wait to come back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chillaxer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

First, lets say that this place is amazing. Maybe a bit too amazing. As part of a package week, the extras here are a little bit too expensive to enjoy. The hotel itself really is a castle and the service was exceptional. The critique would be the rooms. Small is okay and they were clean but the most uncomfortable hotel bed I have every slept in. Just not expected for this level of hotel.
Dinner however was amazing. We completely indulged in the tasting menu with wine flights. It was worth every penny as it was the culinary highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were on a weeks tour that excluded a nights say at Ashford Castle. It was a chance of a lifetime and it proved to be a spectacular hotel we had never expected. The grounds, staff, view, and dinner in main dining room was more than ever expected. Hopefully we will return some day.

Room Tip: First floor around by bar was our room and easy to reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We chose the Ashford Castle for a three night stay just before Christmas. We chose Ashford from a list of the most highly rated hotels in Ireland and expected the castle to live up to our expectations. We were not disappointed! The staff was outstanding, polite and helpful with every request. The accommodations were excellent. The rooms a bit small for our liking but with all the activities available, the idea is not to spend much time in the room.

The winter weather was especially "medieval" and it actually made the castle experience more authentic. The lakeside room we reserved was unavailable due to the amount of wind and rain coming through the walls of the castle into the room. We were given a room on the opposite side of the castle and had no trouble sleeping through the weather.

The castle is set lakeside in NW Ireland in the County Mayo and is surrounded by small Irish towns, rivers and lakes and the castle grounds (over 300 acres) are covered in trees, gardens and walking and biking trails.

The list of amenities available at the castle is extensive and the selection is outstanding. Had we visited during a more conducive time of year, we would have enjoyed golf, fly fishing, boating, horseback riding, archery and skeet shooting. We visited when winter was in full swing and used the time to enjoy the castle's ambiance and to experience some of what castle living must have been like for the traditional inhabitants. We were even granted a four hour power outage due to the severity of the storm and were able to enjoy tea by candlelight. Completely authentic if you ask us!

The Ashford Castle is not appointed with the finest linens, accessories and furniture and doesn't have the most spacious rooms or state of the art in room entertainment, but if you want to experience a five star castle hotel...this is the place to go. The service is outstanding, the accommodation is excellent and the amenities are plentiful. You will be happy with your choice and the castle will offer you and your family an absolutely wonderful vacation. Can't promise the authentic candlelight tea, however, that might have been specially arranged for Christmas 2013.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKate2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
17.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
20.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
20.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
20.3 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Property: Ashford Castle
Address: Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashford Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing