We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashford Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ashford Castle (two nights, four rooms). The staff was exceptional. The rooms were beyond even our high expectations and the grounds pristine. We took advantage of the falconry, clay pigeon shooting, the jaunting cart and horseback riding. All were terrific, though the falconry (the "Hawk Walk") was once in a lifetime great. We sent our other family members traveling apart from us to the Castle for falconry and they likewise had a spectacular time. We hope we can revisit the Castle again sometime in the future. For now, however, this was the most spectacular hotel we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Magnificent!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This has to be one of the most luxurious hotels on earth! We were greeted by a bagpiper after a scenic boat ride to the castle & escorted to the entrance where the staff,in full formal dress greeted us! The grounds are magnificent to walk around. The lobby & restaurants are all 1st class and a friendly staff everywhere. The rooms may be a bit small by American standards but it is well appointed. This is truly a 5 star resort-teat yourself.

Room Tip: Any room is probably wonderful but ours was in the front overlooking the gated entry bridge & st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oswegolinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Ashford Castle for 1 night and overall this is a wonderful place to stay. The location and castle ambiance was excellent and makes you feel that you have come to a royal luxury place. The welcome and the service provided by the staff was exemplary. We were a party of 6 and were booked in 2 rooms - 1 a family room for 4 and other a deluxe room for 2. While the deluxe room had Air conditioner in it, the family room did not. Initially, the family room had a musty smell to it but once we kept the window open, it was fine. We were also provided with a table fan. Both rooms had a good view of the lake and the gardens/fountain in the back. While the location, exterior view/ambiance of the Castle, the lobby, library, tea rooms and the Gardens and lake views are outstanding, once you enter the family room itself, it just feels like any other regular marriott or hilton hotel. The interior decorations for the family rooms could possibly be upgraded to enhance the experience. The deluxe room which I am told was already renovated does have a better luxury reel to to it as it had a nice decorative canopy over the bed.

Having said that, I have nothing but praise for the staff all around. They were very polite, kind and provided excellent service all through out. Since we did not like the family room because of the musty smell, we were provided with complementary drinks as they could not accommodate us at another room. There was a power outage for 3~4 hours in the morning and a fire alarm with the result that we could not really use the deluxe room at all in the morning. My son had to come to the family room to take a shower as he could not take shower in the deluxe room. While this somewhat downgraded our overall experience, we realize that it's not really the staff's fault as things do break occasionally and it was just unfortunate for us that it happened while we were there. We were given a marginal reduction in our rates because of the inconvenience that we had to endure -- although I did have to negotiate to get it.

The breakfast in the morning was very good but the service was somewhat slow. I have seen better and faster service at smaller hotels with a higher customer/staff ratios.

In summary, while I would like to give a 5 star to Ashford castle for the overall experience and the service provided but chose to give it 4 star primarily because of the $$$ that they charge and the overall value delivered. While I realize that one has to pay a premium for the Castle location, luxury experience and ambiance, IMHO, it just seemed that the premium was very hefty and more than what I consider to be reasonable. It's quite possible that the rates that we were paying was also high because of being there in the peak July season.

From an overall experience perspective, I would still highly recommend this place to anyone travelling to Ireland to experience staying in a Castle. If you are someone who looks for Value for money, you may want to see if you can get a better deal while booking the rooms.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank atlbkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear atlbkb,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your family stay with us at Ashford Castle.

Whilst I am glad to read you had a great experience on the whole, I would like to extend my apologies for the areas which may have deterred from your comfort during your time here. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay further please don’t hesitate to contact me at nrochford@ashforcastle.com, I would be happy to address these areas personally.

Thank you for noting the attentiveness and level of service you experience from the staff. I hope you and your family enjoyed their stay at an Irish castle and were able to facilitate the estate and grounds. We hope that you will let us show you an unfaulted stay at Ashford Castle and keep us in mind for future holiday plans.

Your Sincerely
Niall Rochford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a delicious lunch at Ashford Castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We then had a wonderful boat tour with Captain Patrick of Corrib Cruises. We were entertained with live music and learned about the rich history of the area. A great way to spend the day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Kathleen B,

I am happy to read you had a pleasant trip to the Ashford Estate, it really is a wonderful day out.
Please ensure you visit us again in the near future.

Many thanks
Niall Rochford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Ashford Castle was absolutely amazing! The staff knew all our children's names and left them cookies and apple juice everyday in our room! We enjoyed several activities including Falconry, horse ridding and the Loch cruise by captain Luskin. These are a must do while staying here!! Thank you for a great experience! I would recommend all who come to the west of Ireland to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McMahon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were part of Brendan Vacation tour with lovely and experienced Marion as tour director. Had lunch on board Corrib Cruises and serenaded by the charismatic Martin (an actor from 1951 film "The Quiet Man") with Irish songs accompanied by his accordion. Patrick, the skipper, was great as a guide about the history of Ashford Castle and we enjoyed a wonderful lunch on board. Disembarking from the cruise we were met by a jubilant bagpiper who escorted us to the hotel entrance while playing Irish tunes. We were then met by multiple hotel staff outside who then escorted us to check-in and we were then again escorted to our room by a staff member. We truly felt like royalty! We had a gorgeous garden and fountain view from room 306 but we also peeked into room 308 and that room is larger with a view of a summer garden from 1 window and a view of the fountain and lake from the other. Rm 308 had 2 sinks in bath and large queen or king bed. Both rooms were decorated in classic fashion with different toiles and matching bedspreads. Both rooms' baths updated and beautiful with expected amenities; ours had heated towel bar and bathroom floor with one sink. We had 2 twin beds in 306. Quiet and comfortable bed and sleep. George V dining room a true dining experience with fine food and wine and service under Waterford crystal chandeliers. Lunch and tea service served in separate equally well-decorated room with Murano glass chandeliers. Gorgeous gardens and walks through the forrest .We treasured our falconry experience that can be had at only special resorts like this. We also enjoyed our walk into the adjacent town of Cong with quaint shops and restaurants. Every moment was special here; did not want to leave but when we did there were several hotel staff members waving us goodbye.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a lake view and/or a fountain view. Also ask for a room with air conditioning cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texaninflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear texaninflorida,

Your review of your stay at Ashford Castle is a delight to read, I am so happy to find that so many aspects of your stay were exemplary.

Being a very old building our bedrooms are all different shapes and sizes, no two are alike, but every room has amazing views over the estate grounds. Thank you for mentioning how happy you were with food service during your stay, dining in George V restaurant is a very special experience.

We hope that you will keep us in mind if you’re ever planning a return trip to the West of Ireland.

Yours Sincerely
Niall Rochford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel really knows how to make a good first impression! the long winding driveway gives brilliant views of the castle as you approach and you know you're in for something special! The staff here are brilliant. They always called us by our names and made us feel like the only guests in the hotel. You're initially greeted by John at the gate and Frank at the door and both are such country gents! We were checked in by Christian who then led us to our room. Lovely guy who really knows his stuff about the castle. Very friendly and approachable. There were a few other staff members whose names i cant quite remember, but from the ponytailed room service attendant to the mustachioed gent in the bar, and Sile who checked us out, everyone was great.

The castle itself is magnificent and the facilities are top notch. The bed was incredibly comfy and my girlfriend even described the pillows as a "liquid cloud of silk". But for me, the real gem here was the breakfast! there was a huge selection of hot and cold food and even an a la carte menu with pancakes, eggs benedict etc etc.... i could have sat there all day eating! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear TallFoodie,

Thank you for your outstanding review of Ashford Castle.

I am proud to read that you received such a warm and welcoming service during your stay, and my thanks for taking the time to mention those staff members by name. Both housekeeping and the kitchen will be delighted to hear that they were able to assist with you stay being both comfortable and filling!

We look forward to welcoming you back, and hope it will be in the near future.

Kind Regards
Niall Rochford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
24.3 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
17.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
20.7 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: £266 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashford Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing