We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the quotes”
Review of Michaeleen's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Michaeleen's Manor
Ranked #5 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“loved the quotes”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

this is a purpose built b&b it was lovely and clean, breakfast was excellent. the staff were very friendly. We loved the pics and quotes from the film the Quiet Man. It was an excellent touch to have the dvd of the Quiet Man in the player. would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    25
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dromore, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Been coming here for the last 10 years; it's quiet, beautiful and relaxing. It holds special memories for us and we'll be coming here in the future: hopefully bringing our own children down here in the years to come! Margaret and Gerry are fabulous people, probably 2 of the nicest people we've ever met. Thank you for helping to create the special memories! X

Room Tip: Margaret and Gerry are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I had B&B travel vouchers for our trip to Ireland in November of 2013, so we never had to deal with any credit card issues, as mentioned by previous posters. Even though the purpose of our week long, first trip to Ireland was genealogical research in County Leitrim, we knew we couldn't come to Ireland, and have the ability to visit Cong because of a self-drive vacation, and NOT travel there! As promised in our B&B travel/guide book, Michaeleen's was everything a "Quiet Man-iac" could ask for in a B&B!!! The decor in the halls, rooms, and indeed the entire Manor consists of countless tributes to and memorabilia of the film, in all its glory. The B&B itself is lovely and relatively new, with several modern appointments noted in our quarters, particularly in the bathroom. When we were there, the proprietors were away - however, their friend Chris was most hospitable, and cooked us a very hearty breakfast, complete with touring instructions, directions, and anything else we needed. All in all, this is THE B&B for those who desire to be enveloped in the "Quiet Man" experience upon arrival in Cong, and throughout your visit!

Room Tip: (We did not notice an elevator, so we were happy to have our room on the ground floor!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmck0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked to stay in this B&B and was asked for my credit card details. Unfortunately I got very ill and had to ring up the day before my intended stay and cancel. I was told that I might have to be charged something, which I was very surprised at as I was giving 24 hours notice and I was sick. I was too sick to argue but really presumed that I would not be charged. However I have just noticed on my bank statement that I was charged 32 euro for not staying there. Total rip off. I would advise anyone to stay clear of the place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nmcb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked a 1 night stay in this B+B as i was attending a family wedding nearby. The booking was made over the phone about 3 weeks beforehand. The proprietor took my credit card details over the phone , something that doesnt normally happen when staying in a B+B in Ireland. However since he had my credit card details, one would have expected him to be relaxed about things when I arrived. If anything, he was the exact opposite!! First of all, there was no one at home when I arrived at the B+B. There was a sign on the door stating that if there was no one there to call to the hostel accross the road. This I did, but there was no one there either. There was a phone number written on the door of the B+B to ring but again there was no reply. I waited a further 10 minutes and eventually he turned up. He opened the door and his first words were not "Welcome to Cong...Let me show you to your room." or anything basically friendly like that. No his first words were to mention the price. I just replied "ok, that's fine" expecting him then to show me the room. Instead he repeated the price again and said "Can you pay me now?" I said, " Can you hold on til I bring in my bags from the car first?"
"No ", he replied, "Im in a rush." At that moment I would have walked out the door and told him what to do with his room but since he had my credit card details I was afraid he would charge me for the room if I didnt take it.
The room itself was adequate , of a reasonable size, but there were no toiletries provided and the tv did not work.
The breakfast provided was adequate but nothing special. In the morning over breakfast, he was very chatty and I could see some residents seemed to have seen a better side to him but even still with me he couldnt resist making a derogatory comment on my parking skills!!! Basil Fawlty is nothing on this guy! By the way I only met the wife when handing up the room key and she seemed like a nice friendly woman.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peadarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a beautiful B&B! Our room was very comfortable and we slept very well while staying here. Loved all the references to "The Quiet Man" including the opportunity to view the movie in the privacy of your own room! Gerry and Margaret were very welcoming and eager to offer suggestions on places to visit. Breakfast was wonderfully prepared and we totally enjoyed Gerry's humor. The only complaint could be the dampness felt throughout the en-suite but could be attributed to our room location.

Room Tip: Bring your own washcloth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPWui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

One of the nicer B & B we stayed at during our trip. Clean, larger that average room and bath. Could be a bit noisy since there was no carpeting to absorb sound in the room or hall. Nice large breakfast, friendly hosts and plenty of partking.

A note about B&B's: We stayed in 7 B&B's duing our trip, all 4 star or more. Generally they do not provide any wash cloths and just hand soap, no shower soap. As a rule the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, about 3' x 9' with just enough room for the shower stall, toilet and sink. The showers are snall some just 2' square. Most do not have any alarm clocks, have dim lighting especially the bathrooms and few or no outlets for charging phones, tablets, etc. That being said they were all clean with nice bedding, all provided a full delicious Irish breakfast and all the hosts were very friendly.

Room Tip: Could be a bit noisy if full as there is no carpeting in the room or hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.7 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michaeleen's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaeleen's Manor

Property: Michaeleen's Manor
Address: Lisloughrey, Quay Rd | Cong, Co Mayo, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michaeleen's Manor is a B&B themed on The Quiet Man movie, starring John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara which was made in Cong in 1951. Michaeleen's Manor offers a range of single, double, twin, triple and quadruple rooms, free parking, toiletries available from reception, all ensuite, with tea and coffee making facilities, filtered water, TV/DVD, towels and toiletries. Welcome to Michaeleen's Manor! We are Gerry and Margaret Collins, and we've welcomed guests from all over the world, including John Wayne’s daughter - Marissa Wayne, who kindly complimented our "warm Irish hospitality, great Irish breakfasts, comfortable beds and wonderful hot showers!". You can expect to be entertained over breakfast with tales from my time as the Quiet Man Tour Guide, while Margaret, who was a chef in Ashford Castle during President Regan’s stay in 1984, cooks you up a delicious breakfast! We look forward to seeing you soon! Gerry & Margaret ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Michaeleen's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing