We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly!”
Review of Hazel Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hazel Grove B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly!”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

It felt like home! Ann and her husband were so warm and friendly and very accommodating. The family rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were delicious with just about everything you could think of. We loved the area and the B&B so much we stayed an extra night! We're hoping to go back.

Thanks, Ann, you are a wonderful hostess!

Room Tip: Beautiful view from family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Travelling from Donegal to Doolin we, unfortunately, spent only one night at Hazel Grove. The proprietor was not on site during our visit, but we were more than ably looked after by her lovely daughter. Upon arrival we were shown to our ground floor room and found apple pie waiting for us! Our room was quite spacious and tasefully decorated and more than provided for our needs. Breakfast was very good.

Hazel Grove is in a lovely, peaceful rural setting whilst only a few minutes drive from the delightful town of Cong. If we return to Ireland we would definitely like to return to Hazel Grove. Not only is it a lovely B&B, it also appears to be ideally situated as a base to explore County Mayo.

Please note that our rating is restricted purely because of the length of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I keep coming back to stay at this lovely B&B! It is set in beautiful countryside, and the breakfast is lovely and it is reasonably priced. The rooms are very comfortable, with tea/coffee, biccies, TV and hairdryer. Very friendly and welcoming staff - would recommend this B&B as a base to explore the local area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceone68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Over the last 2 years my partner and I have stayed in this B&B many times and I can vouch for the quality and value for money. The B&B itself is surrounded by beautiful scenery which you can gaze out upon from the breakfast table. The rooms are always warm, comfortable and clean - with hot water bottles available as well! There is a lovely breakfast selection - I can thoroughly recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - and tea and coffee facilities are available in the rooms. Cong is a decent walk away, and from there you are set to explore the stunning local scenery. Anne is a warm welcoming hostess who will make your stay an absolute pleasure from start to finish! Ten out of ten for this B&B, the best I have stayed in!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate209950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We drove up from Cork to stay here before a wedding in Cross and reception in Westport the following day. We got there late and tired but were delighted to be met by the incredibly welcoming and friendly Anne Coakley. Our room was spacious, warm, clean and comfortable. It even had free Wifi.

There was a lovely smell of fresh baking in the room when we checked in and Anne arrived up with scones covered in butter and jam. Completely unexpected but exactly what we needed as it turned out. Breakfast was perfect the following morning with a wide and varied menu. Anne continued to strike just the right balance between friendliness and professional hospitality.

All in all, the best B&B we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Excelent value, clean, great breakfast, warm, lovely. Recomended for all, particularly for families!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

A warm and welcoming B&B set in the very pretty country side near Cong. Town is about a 1 mile drive. Very friendly and helpful hostess, great breakfast! We enjoyed our stay Hazel Grove and enjoyed walking around Cong, the Abbey and of course Ashford castle is a must see.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rattled_and_Hummed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.9 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Cong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel Grove B&B

Property: Hazel Grove B&B
Address: Drumshiel, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazel Grove B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to our 4 star family home. We offer excellent comfortable accommodation and personal attention is assured to make your stay a pleasant experience. Hazel Grove B&B is situated in a peaceful unspoilt countryside, nestled between two great fishing lakes Lough Corrib and Lough Mask. With a panoramic view of Connemara and Maam Turk mountains. The historic village of Cong is only 5 minutes drive from our B&B. Visit Cong Abbey, founded in the year 628 A.D. and "Ashford Castle Hotel." The famous "Quiet Man" movie was filmed in Cong in 1951; you can visit the Quietman Museum and many of the film locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hazel Grove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing