We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most unexpected surrprise of exceptional hospitality and food.”
Review of Hazel Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hazel Grove B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most unexpected surrprise of exceptional hospitality and food.”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The accomidations and hospitality were exceptional. The food traditional and divine. The hostess lovely. The town folk and the pub Donahers an evening we will always remember! Especially the local entertainment and the song "Clare Island"The bookstore a treat... Too bad they did not keep up the origional cottage from the movie "The Quiet Man".WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackdiamondranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Peaceful location, spacious, clean and beautifully decorated room, great choice, quality and quantity on the breakfast menu. Best of all a very friendly welcome, Ann even brought us chocolate bars to go with the tea/coffee in our room. Would definitely go back there if in the area again. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Owners Ann and Jerry Coakley are two of the nicest people you will ever meet.
The rooms are neat, clean and well supplied with anything you might need.
Ann makes a delicious and endless breakfast.
The house is located in a quiet and pleasant area less than 1 mile from the village
of Cong.
If the movie "The Quiet Man" is of interest, many of the scenes were filmed in this
area and with little effort can be located.
The "Woods" walks in this area are spectacular with good signage and many
options (distance, difficulty and direction). A good place to start is to the rear
of Cong Abbey located within the village.
Nearby Ashford Castle and it's grounds are a must see.
This is a great place to visit.

Pat and Bill

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galway1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Like being greeted by an Irish grandmother! Ann was so welcoming. We talked about our Irish roots and she recommended several pubs where we could have dinner. Our room was BEAUTIFUL! I loved it. She sat out the tea service for us and gave us a tour of her home before we set out to get dinner and explore. Breakfast was great. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were the best I had in Ireland. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Ann.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ann and Jerry are delightful and thoughtful hosts. Our en suite room was beautifully decorated and had all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was delicious and a great way to start the day to explore this magical area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights. The welcome was extremely warm together with homemade buns to go with our cup of tea. When we returned from our evening meal in the village Ann knocked on the door with a hot water bottle which was very welcome. The scrambled egg and smoked salmon were to die for, absolutely fantastic, the best I've ever tasted. Lots of choice for breakfast including homemade scones. Cannot stress enough how great this place is,like a home from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here last night. The B&B we had origionally booked into let us down and Anne kindly gave us her last room at last minute. We found this B&B clean, tidy, the room was fabulous and the hostess was extremely kind, friendly and helpful. I could not recommend this B&B enough. Its only a 2 minute drive from Cong village! I will go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,572 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.4 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Cong
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel Grove B&B

Property: Hazel Grove B&B
Address: Drumshiel, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazel Grove B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to our 4 star family home. We offer excellent comfortable accommodation and personal attention is assured to make your stay a pleasant experience. Hazel Grove B&B is situated in a peaceful unspoilt countryside, nestled between two great fishing lakes Lough Corrib and Lough Mask. With a panoramic view of Connemara and Maam Turk mountains. The historic village of Cong is only 5 minutes drive from our B&B. Visit Cong Abbey, founded in the year 628 A.D. and "Ashford Castle Hotel." The famous "Quiet Man" movie was filmed in Cong in 1951; you can visit the Quietman Museum and many of the film locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hazel Grove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing