We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must do this.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Fornace Deruta

Antica Fornace Deruta
Ranked #1 of 20 Shopping in Deruta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Antica Fornace Baiano is a genuine historical and cultural treasure -not to be missed- with beautiful pottery!ANTICA FORNACE DERUTA, located in the historic center, is always open. It is a genuine family run pottery shop, with an exceptional museum, a one-of-a-kind antique collection of pottery from the original largest pottery factory in Deruta complete with artists renderings and prototypes from over the centuries. Also inside the shop is the first kiln of Deruta, an Etruscan and Medieval pottery kiln to explore, with all of the artistic history of the birth of pottery in Deruta and fragments on display. Don't lose time and energy. ANTICA FORNACE DERUTA is the first place you need to see when you come to Deruta to understand and live again the history, the tradition, the passion, and the beauty that Deruta has given to the world for centuries through its art of hand painted pottery. Learn it from a family of quality artists and artisans, the Baiano family. The shop is open every day, all day. You will recognize the building by all the colorful pieces and shards of pottery embedded in the wall – always a favorite photo-op. The Baiano family lives above and is always available. Someone is usually in the shop, if not, either call up to the window ... Francesco! ... or call the son, Giovanni! who runs the shop and speaks English. In the shop, they sell all types of pottery using the unique designs from their collection for the table and home furnishings, wedding gifts and plates, and more. They also do custom table service in the antique style or from a piece of art that you like. When you buy a piece of pottery from ANTICA FORNACE DERUTA you bring an exclusively personal and unique piece into your home. We await your visit!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You must do this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Giovanni is friendly, knowledgeable and has wonderful manners. He clearly loves what he does and loves to share what he knows. His Etruscan kiln is just cool, and the ancient artifacts beautiful. Can't wait to drink our coffee out of our new Deruta cups! My favorite part of visiting Deruta. Thanks Giovanni!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmannuellaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A singular studio among studios, Deruta, Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My students and I loved visiting the fascinating ceramic studio and museum, Antica Fornace, in Deruta in Umbria, Italy. Joan and Giovanni were such welcoming, helpful, and informative guides. One of the highlights of our visit was chatting with Giovanni, Sr. who took us through the family's collection of pottery ranging from Renaissance pieces to very contemporary ones. It was March and as we were leaving, the elder signore broke off little sprays of mimosa from a nearby tree and handed them to each of the girls and women in our group on behalf of International Women's Day. Bellissimo! Grazie Antica Fornace Deruta per una visita indimenticabile!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NycDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great history off the main street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Our travel book that we use suggested that we seek out some of the shops off the main streets for some good deals. We are glad that we did. Antica Fornace Deruta was a gem. The owner was very pleasant to talk with and gave us a tour of the museum and old kilns.

Some amazing works there and cheaper than the stores on the main stretch.

Check out some of their modern art and "recycled" art as well...pretty cool.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Senica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian ceramics with true Italian hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I visited Antica Fornace in Deruta after reading many wonderful reviews, and we were definitely not disappointed! We have traveled through Italy and have visited numerous ceramic shops, but none compare to the true Italian culture, hospitality, history, and pride we found at the Antica Fornace. Ceramics have been in owner Giovanni's family for many generations and it shows, their quality is top notch. They even have a museum with archaic ceramics in the back of the shop. Giovanni was so proud to give us a tour and explanation of the museum, and let us walk inside an ancient kiln. We felt no pressure to purchase anything. We also had the pleasure of meeting Giovanni's wife who is originally from America, she made it very easy for us to communicate in English.
We purchased a table setting for 4 complete with our family name on the bottom. Our experience from choosing a design, placing our order, carefully packing it and driving us to our car was superb. It was wonderful to work with Giovanni and Joan, and we will return to their shop for many years to come.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank amdc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see in Deruta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My friend, her three children, and I went to visit this place after reading the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. As others have noted, this place is part museum and part store. The owner - Giovanni - is a gracious and informative historian who will answer all your questions and show you pottery that dates back to the 14th and 15th centuries. You can go into an ancient "furnace" where pottery was "fired" and Giovanni can explain both ancient and modern ways of making pottery. Better yet, you can select from a wide array of beautiful designs and have plates made to order - at the same price you will find in the other, more "commercial" shops. I am planning to order an entire set of plates, dishes, and bowls in a beautiful green pattern that I did not see anywhere else in Deruta. Go, go, go!!!

Ellen B

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Fornace Deruta also viewed

 
Deruta, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Antica Fornace Deruta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing