We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms, but 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Purmerend
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice big rooms, but 4 star”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights cycling,lovely views from room ,but no tea/coffee making facilities,no gym or swimming pool.shower curtain came off rail every time you used it,but plenty of towels,no fridge.The breakfast was very good ,we ate in the restaurant which was good but the service slow.waited four days to get light fixed in room.The bus stop was about 5 min walk ,regular bus service to Amsterdam.I think if small fridge and tea/coffee making facilities were added to the rooms it would make a big difference,staff very polite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne_Rozema, General Manager at Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisr.com
It was not our in intention to make your stay less comfortable.
We have made a note of all your comments, and we will assure you that we will make work out of it.
Thank you for staying at Hampshire Golfhotel Waterland.
With kind regards,
Suzanne Rozeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    153
    120
    45
    21
See reviews for
70
208
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here in September 2013 with one friend we were both possibly the youngest people in the entire building at that time (me aged 19 and my friend aged 18), i believe that the reception lady my friend conversed with was saying how rare it was to have younger people in the hotel, i think its exciting for them as this hotel attracts predominately older people (not because its bad -) because of it's lush green, golfing and package deals.

At the time of booking the hotel the pictures were a little bit misleading, some were showing pictures of a gym, and at time of arrival we had been a bit confused to find out that they had a gym but not anymore, something along those lines.
I wasn't too disappointed as we were more interesting in exploring
i can imagine how it might be a bit of a drawback if you're there for sporting activities and are keen on working out every day.

Getting to the hotel from the airport was a bit of a nightmare (we have not been to the Netherlands before) so we walked the majority from the purmerend train station which took a while indeed. I recommend taxi's (the receptionist can offer you numbers and a phone to call on) if you wanted to get into the purmerend center (cheap lunch available there), you can take busses which are also convenient, but we preferred the speediness of getting taxi's.
A 5 minute or so walk and you're at a bus stop which goes straight into amsterdam center and its quite cheap if your main priorities are site seeing, i think it worked out at 10 euro.

The staff were extremely helpful and answered all of our queries on particular places we wanted to go, and gave us addresses and looked up closing and opening times and offered to call these places on our behalf which was a really nice touch.

The Standard double/twin room we had was quite large for a standard room by any means.
there was a slimline television in the room, lots of towels in the bathroom, very deep wardrobe a few counters (perhaps to serve dinner onto) and table and chairs. the room had French doors opening up to one of those teeny weenie balconies (you cant stand out on them)
For whatever reason we had magazines (local) and room service guides and restaurant menus but no tea coffee making facilities in the room but with a quick nudge at the front desk we got the kettle with all the extra condiments. you may have to ask them for more if you're staying there for longer than 2 days. they also provide you with only some bathing gels/ect.
you can ask them for soap at the reception and they give you little cute golf ball shaped ones!

For food, the staff can recommend you some restaurants and they do not enforce their own restaurant (the magnolia) onto you.
we found some restaurants online ourselves however, (if you are looking for something cheap; The Cleopatra a local takeaway is fab) for 10 euros myself and my friend managed to get dinner and cans of drink, and they deliver free. plus the receptionist calls you down when it comes !

The onsite restaurant is still not to miss, the burgers are wonderful and everything is presented very well, its not incredibly too pricey, 18 euros for really good quality burger that comes with sides, i would recommend you at least try one dish there, its michelin star quality, the staff in the magnolia are wonderful and one of the young male waiters stood and spoke to us about life in purmerend and travelling places he was incredibly well mannered (i would have mentioned his name if i could remember). nice guy, just like all the staff.

Bar was reasonable still amsterdam prices, its sometimes cheaper to drink beer than fruit juice but there is a lidl in purmerend and many shops in the market town so you'll definitely need to go there at least once if you want to budget.

on the whole i very much enjoyed my stay, 4 star hotel at the same price as a 1 or two star hostel in amsterdam, its a no brainer.

I would come again probably request a ground floor or closer room to the lobby as we was walking forever !, and i will maybe actually play golf next time.

Room Tip: try and get a ground floor or a room closest to the lobby as you'll be walking forever otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maki25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne_Rozema, General Manager at Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Maki,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to see that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Please contact us in the future about your request (room on the ground floor), and we will do our best to provide you in a room on the ground floor.

Thank you for staying at Hampshire Golfhotel Purmerend.

We hope to welcome you soon.

With kind regards,

Suzanne Rozema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,234 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The location of the hotel is convenient, because it is situated 5 minutes from the exit "Purmerend Noord" on the A7 and has a large parking area. So, even if you don't play golf, exploring West Frisia with this hotel as headquarters is attractive. The hotel is presented as a 4 star hotel, but the hotel room lacks a small fridge, (with or without minibar), coffee and tea making facilities and free wi-fi, which amenities you may expect in a four star lodging. The room safe was also out of order. Furthermore, the housekeeping is less than fanatical, with dust gathering on the old fashioned television set (no flat screen TV here) and brown drip tracks on the tiles next to the toilet, the origin of these stains you rather should not contemplate. Positive points are the spacious room with table and a sitting corner with two armchairs, and the obvious recent renovation. See the pictures. The positive point of this hotel is the strategic location, or if you are a golf player, the wonderfully laid out golf course.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne_Rozema, General Manager at Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Mr. Hendrik,
First of all we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.com.
We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t had a pleasant stay in our Hotel.
It was not our intention to make your stay less comfortable.
We will look at this matter.
We hope to welcome you again in our newly renovated rooms.
With kind regards,
Suzanne Rozema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilzen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The entrance, bar & lobby seemed nice, but once in the room I noticed a lot of defects:
Lights and/or lightswitches were not working, the shower head was broken which caused the bathroom to look like an aquapark after taking a shower, towels had stains on them.
They could do better by fixing those issues. Hopefully they will for future visitors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjoj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne_Rozema, Manager at Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear sirs,

Thank you for your respond on Trapadvisor.com.

First of all we would like apologies for the less comfortable stay that you had with us.
We have already noticed this issues, and took care of it.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Suzanne Rozema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Purmerend hotels

Middelharnis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a night in this hotel.
Lovely surrounding area and well heated, great size rooms.
The rest of my opinion is it should not be open right now. They are in the musket is a huge refit and it is like a building site. Our level had a think 40 rooms and our room was the only one in use. It was spooky with all of the beds and furniture in the hall and ask the room doors wide open!..
We only book a few weeks before. . I'm sure they could have known this

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne_Rozema, General Manager at Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor.com

First of all we would like to apologies for the inconvenience during your stay in our Hotel.
During your stay in our hotel, we had a renovation going on, it was absolutely not our intention to make your stay less comfortable.

I hope we will welcome you again in our hotel, and enjoy your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms.

With kind regards,

Suzanne Rozema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed twice in two weeks in this hotel and I truely enjoyed the hospitality shown both times. I enjoyed the quiet green environment and the value for money is excellent! The rooms are outdated but very spacious and the breakfast and lunches were great. Above all, it was great to see that the catering and event staff did that little extra that makes the difference! Will for sure come back.

Room Tip: The junior suites are spacious, but only have twin beds, which is not comfortable for couples. Go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Helangui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne_Rozema, General Manager at Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Helangui,

First of all we would like to thank you for the nice review at tripadvisor.com
We are very greatfull you have this nice stay in our hotel.

I hope we will see you again!
Kind regards,

Suzanne Rozema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day trip and this was our chosen hotel. Having read some of the reviews we were a little worried as there were quite a few negative comments. We arrived on New Year's Eve and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful, they got us tea/coffee making facilities and sorted a problem with our TV within ten minutes of reporting it. Our room was spacious and very clean - we have stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam and nothing not even 5 star compared with the size of this room. We had 3 meals in the restaurant - all of which were well presented and of a high quality and very good value. Breakfast was absolutely fine - hot choice, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, continental, selection of 3 juices etc.... we wonder what other travellers expect? Location wise we found the hotel great but we did have a hire car. The staff gave us detailed directions to and from Amsterdam and Edam, Volendam and other places of interest were easy to find. Pumerend itself is a lovely town - the city centre is well worth a visit. The hotel is obviously under renovation as we could see that some painting and new flooring had been completed close to the reception area. Once this has all been done the hotel will look lovely. We would certainly recommend this hotel and we will return again at some stage in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room so you can sit outside in the patio area provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evil65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne_Rozema, General Manager at Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear mrs Evil65,

Thank you very much for your nice recommendation at tripadvisor.com.
We are glad to read you have a wonderful stay in our hotel!

Hopefully we will see you again!
Kind regards,

Suzanne Rozema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purmerend
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
3.6 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
#1 of 2 in Zuidoostbeemster
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
185 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
153 reviews
10.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland

Property: Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
Address: Westerweg 60, 1445 AD Purmerend, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Purmerend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Purmerend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very proud being able to call ourselves winners of the ‘World Golf Award.’ This prize is best to be compared with what the ‘Oscar’ means to the film industry. Visitors, business people, members, green fee players ….. locally, nationally and internationally ….. from all over the world one have voted us to be The Netherlands’ Best Golf Hotel. The, for Holland, unique combination of golf, hotel, food & beverage, sport, congresses and parties is what differentiates us. We offer all that under one roof! Our beautiful Resort is hard to summarize in a magazine. Therefore, please come and visit us and experience what we have to offer. The 36 championship holes of BurgGolf Purmerend are divided into four loops of 9 holes. This makes it possible to have sixteen different 18-holes combinations which is unique in The Netherlands. Besides these 36 holes we also offer another 9 holes par-3 golf course. These are ideal for practicing your short game and are also frequently used by beginners. The four PGA professionals offer you plenty of lessons to perfect all parts of the game of golf. They not only use the aforementioned 45 holes but also the large and partially covered driving range as well as all other practice facilities. Moreover, they are very happy to assist you in our well-equipped golf shop. The sales team is keen to inform you about our golf membership possibilities. It was Johan Edfors who, after 4 days of competing, held the European Challenge Tour Trophy up high. And that meant the kick-start of his golfing career. Because in the years after he went on to win many more tournaments on the highest level. Besides Johan Edfors, we also keep great memories of the second largest golf tournament of The Netherlands. It ensured that we are a European Challenge Tour Venue. For the golf lover there is nothing more convenient than to step on to the golf course straight from your hotel room. The four star Hampshire Golf Hotel Waterland features 100 bedrooms, divided into doubles and twins and are equipped with all what one might expect from a four star hotel. Purmerend is centrally located in this part of The Netherlands and therefore our Resort is the ideal basis for your day trips. Don’t just visit Amsterdam but also explore villages along the IJsselmeer coast like Volendam, Edam, Monnickendam, as well as the ‘Zaanse Schans’. All this within a radius of twenty kilometers. The Resort has several restaurants and bars. ‘Downstairs’ is ideal for celebrating parties, Magnolia’s is popular for lunch and dinner whereas ‘King Fisher’ is great to start your day with a full breakfast and seats groups over 100 guests. The terraces offer wonderful views as well as peace and tranquility. The kitchen brigade knows its trade which was also recognized by Michelin in 2010. A notification in their restaurant guide has been a fact ever since. Understandably that makes us very proud! The serving staff members will assist you with whatever you need. From the more simple dish to haute cuisine, their service and advise is always much appreciated. The Hotel-Resort also offers besides golf, bed rooms and food & beverage, six beautifully decorated and wonderfully equipped meeting rooms. Without any effort these rooms can be turned into a party venue or banquet room. Whether you have something to celebrate, either for business or pleasure, we will be glad to host your event. And even here, one always overlooks the golf courses. BurgGolf Purmerend and the associated hotel are ideally located for fun day trips. Cycling in Amsterdam, having your photo taken wearing traditional costumes in Volendam, eating smoked eal in Monnickendam or visiting the cheese market in Alkmaar. This is all feasible within a radius of 20 kilometers. The reception team is keen to assist you in regards to any further information you might need. We hope to be able to welcome you soon! On behalf of the entire team, very best regards, Mike Anthony Bosman (General Manager) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland Hotel Purmerend
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland Purmerend, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing