We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable rooms”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aigle
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room was spacious and comfortable, fully renovated with quite a good taste and details caring. The bathroom was probably older but kept in good conditions. Just a detail: the shower plate was not big, this was not a problem at all for me but I thought is was fair to mention.
The staff was very accessible and kind.
Breakfast choice was reasonable for the hotel size and the quality excellent. The breakfast area was spacious and welcoming

I would say that the only drawback I found in this hotel, but probably a characteristic of all that street or area is that you can feel the rumbling of the tram since early morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRMCLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Propriétaire at Hotel du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your last stay at the Hotel du Nord Aigle.

We take a good note about your comments.

We are hoping that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

With my kind regards,

Nicolas Ming
General Manager and owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

After a long journey I stayed the night at Hotel du Nord. It is within walking distance from the station which is handy.

The bedroom and bathroom were clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

The receptionist in the morning was very helpful by helping me with the next leg of my journey.

Breakfast was croissant, bread, meats and cheeses. All fresh.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithlasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Propriétaire at Hotel du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel du Nord Aigle and taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to read that our location and the services provided by our staff met your expectations.

Your comments will be shared with the entire team.

We are hoping that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

With my kind regards,

Nicolas Ming
General Manager and owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This is an excelent little hotel, familiy run in a lovely city. Perfect breakfast with a great variety of cheese and fruits. The price is a little high ( as everything in Switzerland ). Best option in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lhsr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Owner at Hotel du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear valued Guest,

thank you for your recent stay at Hotel du Nord Aigle and kind review.

It's a great pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you soon again

Best Regards

Nicolas & Christophe Ming

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed four nights in Aigle at this very recently refurbished small hotel. The new owners also have the Hotel Astra by Vevey station, so the du Nord is like a little sister to that much grander establishment, but has its own large-hotel pretensions, for example the Muzak in the lift and corridors and the 'designer' breakfast bar. The room with its VERY comfortable twin beds showed more signs of renewal than the bathroom which may have been renovated in an earlier modernisation, but all was immaculate. The 'family business' feel is of course gone with the previous owners but the staff were friendly and helpful enough. The street view from the bedroom was lively, with the Leysin trains passing. Rooms at the back would have only a view of a dingy courtyard. The town clock next door strikes the quarter-hours until nightfall. Despite these potential disturbances, it is a quiet and peaceful place to stay. The breakfast was fine with good coffee from a machine dispensed by the staff. Croissants and other viennoisserie were available, plus good bread, fruit and locally-made yogurts. There is no restaurant but snacks can be provided to order. Within its obvious limitations I would recommend this hotel warmly. With its very good access to trains and motorways, Aigle is a great little town to stop over in, and repays exploration of its castle and vineyards. The Hotel du Nord would be no good for families but ideal for a business trip - or a hideaway weekend!

Room Tip: A back room would be even quieter: OK if a view is of no importance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Propriétaire at Hotel du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear estimated Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your last stay at the Hotel du Nord in Aigle with its 24 rooms.

We are delighted to read that our location and the services provided by our staff met your expectations.

We also especially appreciate your recommendation to further travellers ! Thank You

We hotp that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in Aigle or Vevey

Best regards,

Nicolas Ming
General Manager and owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Small 16 room ( I think) hotel that has just lightly remodeled. The bathrooms are small, but. The room size adequate. Free Internet. The breakfast selection wasn't grand, but good quality. The hotel is located about a 3 minute walk from the train station. The hotel is quaint and friendly, I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Propriétaire at Hotel du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your last stay at the Hotel du Nord in Aigle with its 24 rooms.

We are delighted to read that our location and the services provided by our staff met your expectations.

We are hoping that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

With my kind regards,

Nicolas Ming
General Manager and owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Situated centrally in this metropolis of the French-Swiss vinyards where it is a pleasure to sit at one of the many roadside cafés with a demi of Aigle, the exquisite white wine, which grows all around and is served chilled in open carafs.The hotel is within a good five minutes
walking from the Aigle rail station on the Paris - Milano line, where only every second train makes a stop. The Du Nord is a family run bed and breakfast, where the guest is received in a friendly way to be given a simple and clean room, The beds are good but the mountain train to Villars, which serves here as a local tram can be be rather noisy, screaching around the curve on its narrow-track rail. The breakfast is excellent with local products such as braided bread,m baked freshly, by the local village baker, to go with the wide range of wonderful home made fruit jams from the garden of the owner. There is also a cheese selection from the nearby Guyère area, which can be counted as local product.. All in all a very satisfactory arrangement.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the upper floors to avoid the noise of the tram, which fortunately does not operat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLAUDE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Family run hotel with Max the owner's Golden Retriever much in evidence in the front lobby and on the pavement outside if the weather is sunny.

Pleasant, clean rooms with nice modern flat-screen TVs and the added bonus of a kettle, air-con and fridge (in the room we stayed in).

Luckily the town hall clock next door did not chime between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m.

The hourly light-rail line to the mountain resort of Leysin runs in the road past the front door, but is a novelty rather than a nuisance.

Buffet breakfasts are a high spot with a a variety of local meat, cheese and preserves.

It seemed perhaps a trifle expensive, but then it is Switzerland and the £ is in the doldrums again.

All-in-all highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartinSomerset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aigle
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#2 of 4 in Villeneuve
42 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Central Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
166 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Le Cedre
Hotel Le Cedre
#1 of 1 in Bex
37 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Grand Hotel Des Bains
#1 of 1 in Lavey-les-Bains
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Address: rue Colomb 2, Aigle 1860, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Aigle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aigle
Price Range: £107 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Aigle VD, in the heart of the Chablais in Switzerland, near the towns of Villeneuve, Roche, Bex and Monthey, Hotel du Nord, is delighted to welcome you for a leisure or business stay. The Aigle train station is only 300m from the hotel.Hotel du Nord, was fully renovated during the winter 2012/2013 and offers now 24 rooms with all the confort and a bar / lounge for a drink or snack. It is newly managed by the Ming family, which also owns the Astra Hotel Vevey.For leisure, the main attractions in the Chablais region are the Castle from Aigle, the vineyards from Aigle and Yvorne and the salt mines of Bex.Montreux Riviera Lavaux region on the Shores of Lake Geneva, with for example the Chillon Castle, is only 15 minutes away from Aigle.Mountains Stations of the Vaud Alps lile Leysin, Les Diablerets and Villars as well as the Valais and French ski resort Portes du Soleil are all easily and quickly reachable by car or train from Aigle.We look forward to welcoming you to Aigle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing