We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Sonne

Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Altstatten
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have been here for just one night, with very early check-out (5:00 am). The hotel is nice, rooms not extremely big, but comfortable enough. You have private parking available, and free wi-fi. Restaurant seemed to be interesting, but we decided not to stay for the dinner. Anyway, it is open till 9:00 pm. What I really appreciated was that we had a very early check-out, and though breakfast was obviously not available, they left for us at the bar counter yougurt, jam, bread, orange juice and a thermos with coffee: actually, a continental breakfast! What I mean to be customer oriented!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu_pavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
3
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

For this small village, this is the best hotel you can choose. It is clean, the staff is very friendly and the food is just excellent. When we stayed in this hotel, it was out of the season but still the breakfast was sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed here during my recent trip to Switzerland. The place so to say is neat and clean and the room is also spacious. But the hotel as such is a basic hotel with no major facilites. The food at the hotel is nice in the restaurant. The breakfast is pretty limited to some fruits, tea, cereals and some cold cuts with breads.

The location of the hotel is nice as it is 5 mins away from the main market in Alstatten.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawansahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed here near the end of Nov 2011 for 4 nights for business trip. Alstatten is not a big town so there were not much choice and the choice was made by the company. The room rate was 100 Swiss Franc per nite including breakfast and free Wi-fi.
The room was old with wooden cupboard for your clothes but do have flat screen TV on the wall. Selection of channels is normal like any other hotels. Like most hotels in Europe, there was no tea / cofee making facility. I was not sure if there is any room service available because I had to come down to borrow a kettle to boil hot water for my tea.
The atmosphere was not for me, it's like staying in a hotel in the 60s. The carpet is outdated in red, the hotel room door is using a normal key with very heavy key chain tag. The restaurant food has good selection of food on offer.
In all, I did not enjoyt the stay and was not a value for money. The hotel need modern amenities but it can maintain its classic look on the outside.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukri_karim2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altstatten
0.0 mi away
Hotel Untertor
Hotel Untertor
#3 of 4 in Altstatten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Badhof
Hotel Restaurant Badhof
#1 of 4 in Altstatten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sky Motel Kriessern
Sky Motel Kriessern
#1 of 1 in Kriessern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Sonne

Property: Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Address: Kugelgasse 2, Altstatten 9450, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Altstatten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Altstatten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing