We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

This B & B was recommend to host a foriegn visitor. The food was bland and tastless, the service was unbelivable, we had food ploked down then we were forgotton about while the cook ate her dinner with friends. The rooms were cold, there was no coffee making facilities. The path leading to the pub was broken and dangerous. An eastern european lady (I think the wife of the owner) was rude and very unhelpful. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Countrybumkin026, the Mortimer's Cross Inn is now under new mangement from June 2011. I would really like to invite you to revisit when you are next in the area. If you would allow me to show you all the improvemnets that have been made it would be much appreciated. As you can see from all subsequent comments, we have really made a difference. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    43
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
73
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

the rooms here are amazing, two out of the three rooms had spa baths, and the rooms are huge with everything that you could need. The whole place is well kept and clean.

We made a few requests like packed breakfast and overnight storage for all our bikes, and we were well looked after.

my only critisism.....where is the front door? we all wandered around the place (the wrong way )trying to find it!

would recommend this as a great place to stay....also for you guys out there...a romantic place to take your dearly beloved.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hampshireblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

I was recommended to try the New Inn Restaurant at Mortimers Cross for a meal.
I took my wife daughter and friends for lunch.
The staff were most helpful and the food was terrific. Great selection at very reasonable price.
The Inn has won several awards for real ale and I can understand why, superb!
Throughly recommend the New Inn to everyone and whilst there I saw the 2 charming charachter Bedrooms
Great Pub Great landlord and team

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Full of character
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank peterHerefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

We paid £160.00 in May 2007 for a 2 night DB&B break, advertised through Ebay by Martin and Emma Hathaway. It was agreed that we would
not be taking it until October/November but we would ring as soon as we had some dates.

To my horror, I found out that not only was the phone cut off, but the Inn was closed for refurbishment AND this couple were no longer licencees.

They were well aware that they had taken my money and made no attempt
to contact or reimburse me. I have contacted "greenhey" whose review I found on here.

I also telephoned Punch Taverns Plc who own the Inn...but to no avail.

Apparently it will reopen on 1st Nov 2007 with new people.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Scouse69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortimerscross, Owner at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2009
Dear Scouse69

I have just taken over The Mortimers Cross Inn and and am very sorry to hear what happened. I can honestly say that under no circumstance would we ever run off with someones money and it would be good to see you here at The Mortimers cross as we are trying to make it back into a traditional village inn

Thank you

Chris Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

We booked and paid for a weekend break advertised by the couple in charge on EBay in May. It was agreed we would fix the dates later, which we did in July .
We were due to be there 21/22 sept, and a week before tried contacting to confirm details. We could get no reply , via email or phone .
After a few days we learned the couple, MARTIN and EMMA HATHAWAY had left the pub and it was closed for work before takeover by someone else.
They had taken our money ( and, we understand, others' money) , kept it, and didnt even have the courtesy to contact us to save us wasting our journey.
I have spent days trying to find them and establish whether they are bankrupt ( tho the Insolvency Service do not have anything filed under their names or that of the pub).
They ran the pub as lessees of Punch Taverns, who do not want to be involved in the case .

Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank greenhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortimerscross, Owner at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2009
Dear Greenhey

I am sorry to hear what happened with previous owners of the Mortimers Cross. I have just taken over the Inn and I am mortified to read what the last people have done, I cna honestly say that under no circumstance would I run off with someones money and it would be great to see you at the Mortimers Cross as I believe it is a wonderful pub to stay at (but I am biased)

Thank you

Chris Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

cant say about the hotel, but went for sunday carvery, waitresses very good, food well presented, but whole experience spoiled by who we assume were the two (male and female) owners or maybe managers who because they seemed busy and under pressure were rude and arrogent .

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortimers Cross
0.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Bateman Arms
The Bateman Arms
#1 of 1 in Shobdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 8 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Mortimers Cross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Property: Mortimers Cross Inn
Address: | Kingsland, Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014, we are a family run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renivated the property making a large pulic games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscape beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms; 3 king size or twin beds and jauzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and jauzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and ensuit shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross
Mortimers Cross Inn Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing