We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Like other reviewers we were on a KGB deal that was remarkable value for money. This is basically a pub doing B&B with evening meals available. We were checked in by a helpful chap who was also the barman. The room was fine being clean and with a comfortable bed. The first nights meal was included in the deal and it showed. Perfectly acceptable three course meal but of average pub quality. Breakfast choice was a bit limited but OK. Make your own coffee or tea using a hot water jug and a container of instant coffee. The second night we ate from the standard pub menu which was better than the first night but still standard pub food. The rack rate shown at reception was £65 which I think was expensive but most of their trade seems to come from discount break sites. It would be worth ringing the hotel direct to see what their best rate would be. There were very few staff so if you need anything they are difficult to find. Nevertheless we would stay there again as it is very well positioned for visiting Hereford, Leominster (a nice town) and Ludlow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

This has to be the best waste of a KGB deal we have ever bought, when it could have been so much better if only....

If Only....
The "Warm Welcome" we were promised on the new website made us feel "Warmly Welcomed" - it didn't.

If Only.....
The 4 Poster bed - " furnished and equipped to the highest standard, with luxury in mind and with no expense spared" - was replaced with one that was not masquerading as a plank.

If Only....
The breakfast did not masquerade as "Full English"

If Only....
The 3 course meal included in the deal was actually as good as the excellent bathroom shower in Room 6.

If Only....
The bathroom towels were not masquerading as napkins.

If Only....
Alex Polizzi had been here beforehand............never mind. (The shower is really good!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Not a lot more can be said about this place...Went on a KGB offer, excellent value. Anyone with limited mobility may struggle as all rooms are accessed via a steep stair case and rooms 8 & 9 are up a second flight. Room 8 large and comfortable with jacuzzi bath. Staff friendly and helpful. Food okay,standard pub fare.Beer quality was very in & out, which with Wye Valley ales was disappointing - doesnt do justice to the brand name.We would happily return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night KGB deal at Mortimers Cross Inn recently. It was extremely good value. The room was very clean,large with high ceiling and exposed roof beams. The shower was very efficient and plenty of hot water.The food was tasty and well cooked. The staff were friendly.The road can be noisy, but that would not put us off returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the weekend and found the rooms to be spacious (esp rooms 8 and 9 on the top floor) with jacuzzi baths and exposed beams. Good quality bedding, warm and cosy. Locals in the bar made us feel welcome! The food was basic, but fine adn yes, there is some road noise - but overall a great place to stay for a value break - with some lovely walks on the doorstep.

Room Tip: top floor are the largest with jacuzzi baths and exposed beams. Very large too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salcheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just came back from a very good value for money KGB deal at Mortimers Crss Inn.
Very friendly staff. Large clean comfortable bedroom with a jacuzzi in the bathroom. Good food.
Would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights on KGB deal. Had a great sing a long with the locals on Friday night. We enjoyed the food but the atmosphere in the bar was a winner. The sun was out so we enjoyed a beer in the beer garden. I would not hesitate to come back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeathRedcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Address: Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range: £66 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014; we are a family-run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renovated the property making a large public games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscaped beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms - 3 king size or twin beds and Jacuzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and Jacuzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and en suite shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross
Mortimers Cross Inn Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing