We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My partner and I went there last week on a deal. An unbelievable deal!!! We had 2 nights bed & breakfast + a 3-course meal (very generous portions!!) on one of the nights. A lovely hotel with plenty of character and very friendly, helpful staff. Daniella welcomed us on our arrival and couldn't have been more hospitable. We were taken to our room, which was very spacious and also had plenty of hot water with a jacuzzi bath/shower. All of this for £59!!! If ever you see a deal....grab it!!

There were a couple of slight downsides to our stay..... the bar/restaurant area was quite cold (although Daniella kept apologising for this as it is all very open-plan and hard to heat) and our room (No.7) was above the bar and you could hear the bass of the piped music and people talking, up until the bar closed....we had earplugs anyway so it didn't bother us too much....shame really because the room was lovely, but we would ask for another room if we go again, which we definitely would!! The surrounding area is beautiful and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    43
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
20
73
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

very friendly staff food great value and very good quality nice spacious room with a jacussi bath and a four poster bed ideal for walkers, commercial travellers, lots of historic towns nearby there was two flights of steps to our bedroom so i think it was not suitable if you have mobility problems other downside it is on a busy crossroads so traffic noise early in the morning and pretty constant during the day. so even if mobility or traffic noise a problem we still recommend having a meal in the restaurant very good price for quality food

Room Tip: i think the traffic noise would be less if your room is facing the back ours was on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed in room 8 for 2 nights on a KGB deal.Beautiful room,very clean and tidy.Superb bathroom,great storage space.The pub is very friendly ,very nice grub and the staff a real good team.We were made very welcome and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are up 2 flights so if you struggle ask for a lower floored room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joandrew160408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed in room 3 which was very warm, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Someone needs to do a walk round inspection of each room before allowing the guests in as there were a couple of niggling problems.
Firstly, neither bedside reading lamps had bulbs in, and 1 of the 4 main down-lighter bulbs was also blown This was a bit annoying as my wife likes to read before going to sleep.
( this is a common problem it seems, as the dining room lights also had several blown bulbs and there was also no light / blown bulb in the hallway outside the room making it difficult to unlock the door as we couldn't see the keyhole or key properly )

There was also no remote control for the TV, We had to ask twice if there was one, before being told "it must have gone missing"

Our room was right above the pool table, so was very noisy until everyone left at closing time, and then it was quite peaceful.
If you like an early nights sleep, this would be a problem to you. We are not early birds, so didn't cause us a problem. The room also looked out on the road but we didn't find the traffic noise a problem.
The toilet bowl or seat was loose as it moved when you used it, but the bath had plenty of hot water, but was a typical narrow "hotel size" bath.

The food was quite nice with a reasonable menu choice.

Overall this could have been so much better with just a little more attention to detail, and we would stay again, but would like a full compliment of light bulbs next time

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from above the pool table / bar area. The further towards the corners of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Just read Hugh L's review and wonder if we stayed at the same place!?!?. We were very pleased with our stay; we were also on a KGB deal and it was extremely good value for money. The room (with a four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath) exceeded expectations. The place was quiet as we went inbetween Christmas and New Year but that suited us. We ate there for lunch and both evenings and found the food very good. Staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandDenise_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night deal which included breakfast and first night evening meal, which was so good we ate there the second night and like many previous guests I had the steak- one of the best I have had. My husband chose the pheasant breast and was just as impressed. The meat is bought from a local butcher, which we found by accident in Ludlow and we bought several pheasant breasts to bring home. We were made very welcome and although it was an extremely cold week we were given a very warm welcome both by staff and the locals. A very quaint and extremely old building but comfortable and so are the bedrooms and beautifully clean. We found that if you required anything you only have to ask, nothing seemed to much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My wife and I were on a KGB deal - one of her birthday presents; she's going to ask for 2 weeks in Terehan this year... Reception: Almost non-existent. Room: Cheap, mock four-poster bed - about as comfortable as sleeping on roughly tamped concrete. Television fixed to a wall parallel to the direction of the bed; we left with severely cricked necks.... Large skylight, only partially covered by a blind; sure enough, when day broke, the light came flooding in. Bathroom heating inoperative; inadequate toiletries; ridiculously clumsy method of controlling the water flow whilst bathing. We weren't allowed to choose from the standard menu at dinner, in the dingily-lit dining room. We were, eventually, presented with a hand-written menu, replete with spelling mistakes. The choices were few, and were rather dire; when my main course arrived, it looked disgusting - I wouldn't have fancied treading in it - and tasted worse. After dinner, we went to our room, bathed and then watched TV, as if at a 1-way Wimbledon. We had a cup of tea each, and then the supplies were virtually exhausted. When the heating went off (we had no control over this), we tried to sleep, but the constant stream of traffic - most of it HGV - past, coupled with the awful bed and pillows, put paid to that. It was almost a relief when day broke. We had breakfast, which was more or less edible, packed our gear and left, fast (We were supposed to be staying another night, but our sense of humour didn't extend that far). Unlike The Terminator, we will not be beck!

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan R, General Manager at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Hugh L,
I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. I appreciate that you have only just registered with Trip Advisor and that this is you first ever posting. You say your stay with us was in October 2012 and we have been unable to identify you as guest and must ask the question as to your intentions of such a negative report.
We have worked extremly hard to give value for money in such difficult financial times and can assure you that for the £59 offer price, with current fuel bills, Rent, Rates, Food prices etc. that we have given an exceptional deal to you. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further.
Again I apologise if your stay was not as you had expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Property: Mortimers Cross Inn
Address: | Kingsland, Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014, we are a family run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renivated the property making a large pulic games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscape beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms; 3 king size or twin beds and jauzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and jauzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and ensuit shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross
Mortimers Cross Inn Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing