We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The deal was £59 for two nights B&B with a meal on night one.
For what we (five couples) received for our money we have absolutely no complaints.
We are seasoned "two day break" finders and this was a bargain.
On the second day, the afternoon of Wales v Scotland we decided to have lunch, watch the match there and have dinner that evening - mainly because you need transport to go anywhere else.
The locals were incredibly friendly throughout our stay considering we were attired in red Wales rugby shirts. We even had a pool competition and singing and a little dancing with the resident Scotsman.
We were a party of 10 and were told that every room had a "jacuzzi" which I didn't believe.
Well, each of our rooms had a very modern whirlpool bath and ours was big enough for two!
There is no doubting that the rooms are "quaint" but each of our ladies loved them.
Before our second night dinner our party wanted pre-dinner drinks in our room and the staff kindly brought up a tray of wine glasses. Last year I stayed in a hotel that demanded £20 for consumption of your own wine and then robbed us in the bar.
Apart from the bar and restaurant staff there was Danielle who appeared to be in charge.
She was charming, helpful and very accommodating.
We had one issue over one of the meals but that was deducted by Danielle without argument.

The only "downside" of the Inn is that you need your car if you venture out - it's a little remote.
Also, those of our party on the first floor said they could hear us on the floor above especially if the jacuzzi was switched on..
We were in rooms 8 and 9 and had no issue.

On the other hand it's superbly placed for Ludlow and Leominster.

Overall great value at the price offered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Mortimers Cross Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

my only gripe about the time we were there was we had no phone signal due to the location & had to drive about 5 mile to get one (we r both on 02 net work) & that is not the hotels fault would recommend the hotel & would book again with out hesitation if they offered the same deal for next year I would book now

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickyddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed on a KGB deal £59 for 2 nights B&B and a dinner.
We stayed friday and saturday night. We had a good sized room, clean and well equipped with a large bathroom with double jaccuzzi bath. No complaints.
The included dinner was good pub food. No complaints.
We had the room directly above the bar but there was no music after 10:30, we could hear chatter but the best answer for this is earplugs. Worked a treat and slept well.
Breakfast is OK, not the best sausages but everything else was good.
The beer is good and not expensive.
The location is good for visiting local national trust properties, the black and white villages and good walking country. Shobdan church nearby is a must!
We enjoyed our stay and felt welcome, comfortable and well fed. Try the salmon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilltrudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

my wife and I plus 2 good friends used a groupon voucher to stay for 2 nights at this rustic old inn.We found the staff to be very pleasant, the rooms very large and comfortable.They were
cleaned daily which I found to be suprising as we were only here for the 2 nights.(1/3/13).A real bonus.
Food was good and reasonably priced.Used as a base handy for nearby leominster and hereford.
I would recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My partner and I went there last week on a deal. An unbelievable deal!!! We had 2 nights bed & breakfast + a 3-course meal (very generous portions!!) on one of the nights. A lovely hotel with plenty of character and very friendly, helpful staff. Daniella welcomed us on our arrival and couldn't have been more hospitable. We were taken to our room, which was very spacious and also had plenty of hot water with a jacuzzi bath/shower. All of this for £59!!! If ever you see a deal....grab it!!

There were a couple of slight downsides to our stay..... the bar/restaurant area was quite cold (although Daniella kept apologising for this as it is all very open-plan and hard to heat) and our room (No.7) was above the bar and you could hear the bass of the piped music and people talking, up until the bar closed....we had earplugs anyway so it didn't bother us too much....shame really because the room was lovely, but we would ask for another room if we go again, which we definitely would!! The surrounding area is beautiful and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

very friendly staff food great value and very good quality nice spacious room with a jacussi bath and a four poster bed ideal for walkers, commercial travellers, lots of historic towns nearby there was two flights of steps to our bedroom so i think it was not suitable if you have mobility problems other downside it is on a busy crossroads so traffic noise early in the morning and pretty constant during the day. so even if mobility or traffic noise a problem we still recommend having a meal in the restaurant very good price for quality food

Room Tip: i think the traffic noise would be less if your room is facing the back ours was on the front
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed in room 8 for 2 nights on a KGB deal.Beautiful room,very clean and tidy.Superb bathroom,great storage space.The pub is very friendly ,very nice grub and the staff a real good team.We were made very welcome and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are up 2 flights so if you struggle ask for a lower floored room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joandrew160408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortimers Cross
0.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bateman Arms
The Bateman Arms
#1 of 1 in Shobdon
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Mortimers Cross
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Address: Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range: £82 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014; we are a family-run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renovated the property making a large public games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscaped beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms - 3 king size or twin beds and Jacuzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and Jacuzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and en suite shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross
Mortimers Cross Inn Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing