We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of Fresh Air”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed on A KGB and when we arrived were greeted with a warm welcome. We were taken to our room which was a very pleasant surprise. It was light and airy, roomy and spotless. Lovely comfortable bed and the Bathroom was something else. Not what I would expect for the price we paid. It had a large corner bath with Jacuzzi and shower, loads of hot water, pure luxury. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent value for money, quite simply prepard but tasty. Good choice of wines and an excellent Breakfast menu whch was plentiful. Would I stay again, definitely even without the KGB deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooopduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a great 2 night stay here.Staff were welcoming and very friendly.Our room was clean and warm with a very big comfy bed.The inn itself is very old,with low beams and quirky nooks and crannies,we enjoyed our stay very much. The KGB deal made it an amazing bargain,and with a nice cooked breakfast,you could not find better value.We would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a twin,but if beds joined together they make a very comfy 6' bed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindalindabevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed at Mortimer's Cross on a KGB deal and paid £59 for 2 nights for 2 people including one 3 course dinner each! We had a lovely room on the top floor with a large bed and a vaulted, beamed ceiling. The bathroom was large and well-fitted with a very large, good-quality jacuzzi bath. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely - breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent - and the bar was very friendly. It is a good base for visiting nice towns and stately homes. It is on a fairly busy road but I slept well. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed on a KGB break deal which included two nights and a three course meal on the first night. I have to say that our expectations were not high, due to the seemingly rediculously low price (£59). We were really pleasantly surprised. The room we had was supurb, including a jacuzzi bath. It was spacious, clean, and warm (it was freezing outside). The meal we had on our first night (which was part of the package) was excellent. So much so, that we chose to eat again at the Inn on our second night. The food menu was quite comprehensive, the food was wholesome and tasty, and reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is also quite handy, being in the country yet not far from nearby towns. You do need a car though, thats a must. To sum up, this place is well worth a try, even without the special price deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tidy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

just had a brilliant weekend away (2 nights with three course evening meal on first nite)
Staff very friendly room very clean with Jacuzzi bath, Food very gd value. Nothing to much trouble. Would agree with others need a car to get around Did Leominster on the Saturday having bought a Treaure Trail found this helps seeing more of the place than u would just going and staying to main areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail_60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were approximately at table of 26 people, all pre booked meals. The starters were fine ... Pâté, fish cakes and prawn cocktail.
Main courses were very, very poor. I had chicken and chips. End of story. No trimmings at all. Very dry with a tasteless mustard sauce. I was served at least 10 minutes after all the other meals had been placed.
My husband had a similar steak. His comments being, I could have had better in a transport cafe.
We were served by very nice young people in hoodies etc, not appropriate for a restaurant . With no training at all.
All in all it was dreadful.
The great company we were with, made it a lovely night.
Not to be recommended as a place to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metalderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaly G, Owner at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hello, I am very sorry about you meal. I would like to inform you there is now new ownership and we are making lots and lots of changes over this next month or two. Would be lovely to see you and I would hope this time your visit would be much more enjoyable!

Annaly Goodwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Mortimers Cross Inn.My husband and I went with four other couples on a KGB deal that cost us only £59 a couple,this included two night's bed and breakfast and a meal on Friday night.
Each couple had a fantastic bed room with a jacuzzi bath in the immaculate bath rooms.
All the staff were very welcoming and Dannielle, the owner, was an absolute joy.
Breakfat each morning was very good and the evening meals ,whilst not fine dining,were excellent value for money.
We would all definitely return if we were in the area.

Room Tip: room 5 had a very big comfy bed and a huge bathroom with double jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette_price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortimers Cross
0.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bateman Arms
The Bateman Arms
#1 of 1 in Shobdon
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Mortimers Cross
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Address: Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range: £73 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014; we are a family-run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renovated the property making a large public games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscaped beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms - 3 king size or twin beds and Jacuzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and Jacuzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and en suite shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross
Mortimers Cross Inn Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing