We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love the jacuzzi....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mortimers Cross Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love the jacuzzi....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a KGB voucher. Very good value for money - food was lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. We had a Jacuzzi in our room which was a pleasant surprise and we had a wonderful time. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Helen543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    42
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
70
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Although difficult to find at a quiet rural crossroads, this hotel/restaurant/pub was almost quaint. Clean and mostly modernised, room was fine and bed comfortable. Free WiFi worked adequately and staff were welcoming, friendly and accommodating.

We stayed here on a special deal and this exceeded expectations.

Food and breakfast in pub/restaurant was good, as was local real ale at the bar.

It turned out to be conveniently located to visit Ludlow and Leominster, so ended up a pleasant few days break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 86bbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have just had two nights with an evening meal. We could not fault it. It was clean and the staff were friendly. The lady behind the bar forget to charge us for some drinks which was naughty of her - not fair on the owners.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

What a lovely little place to stay. Room was immaculately clean and very well presented. Only complaint was that it was above the bar so a little noisy in the nights. Would try to get a room on second level if we went again. Service was excellent and staff couldn't do enough to help. Just a shame its so far away from everything. It is a typical county pub in the middle of the country. We ate both evenings. Food was very nice and good value for portion size. Would definitely go again if offer came up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely Cambrideshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have had a really good 2 day stay at Mortimer Cross Inn. On our arrival we were met by a very nice lady who booked us in and showed us to our room. The room for a couple of nights was adequate, the bathroom was small, and I caught my arm on the heated towel rail which was very hot. All the staff were very friendly and we didn't feel like strangers. We also met the lady who owns the Inn and she was also very nice. The food was great we ate there both nights service was excellent. One person who to me stood out was Imogen our waitress she is only 14 but extremely friendly a very hard worker and she kept her eye on the ball all the time, nothing was to much for her to do. Meals were average price. The only thing I thought was lacking was an area you could sit on comfortable chairs and read a paper or just have a drink. But apart from that we did enjoy it. There were many places you could go and visit, my favourite place was Ludlow so quaint and great shops.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 but rooms on higher floors are better, unfortunately my legs wouldn't allow me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We've spent three stays at this family run hotel and always found the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms well furnished and clean. Food has been well-cooked and in ample portions.
The latest chef (the third we've sampled), let the side down in my view. We had our starter without an unreasonable wait, but our main course did not arrive until an hour after ordering. My wife's chilli dish was lukewarm and my battered fish had been cooked until it was as brown as the woodwork in the bar. I removed the batter and ate the fish. At breakfast the following morning he managed to produced a poached egg with a hard yoke and soggy white. His motto appeared to be 'I've cooked it so I'll serve it.'
My grand-daughter is a chef and would never send food to a customer in other than a perfectly cooked and presented state. We did not send the food back, having heard my grand-daughter's tales of some of the unspeakable things chef's can do to food for complaining customers.
Needless to say we did not dine at the hotel for the remainder of our stay.
On our next visit, hopefully, there will be another new chef chef with higher standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaly G, Owner at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi, just to inform you Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership and in the future if you wish to stay again we hope to provide an overall excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed with my partner on a KGB Deal for a 2 night stay. Very good value for the amount we paid
and included a three course meal on the first evening. The Owner was very friendly. The room was ok but no Jacuzzi bath as advertised, just a shower cubicle. A draw back to this room was it was at the end of a corridor with no light so it was very difficult to locate the lock. Breakfasts were fairly good as was the evening meal. Overall a great deal but would not have liked to have paid the full price. Not an area I would return to although the Black & White village trail was very interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortimers Cross
0.0 mi away
The Bateman Arms
The Bateman Arms
#1 of 1 in Shobdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Mortimers Cross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Property: Mortimers Cross Inn
Address: | Kingsland, Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014, we are a family run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renivated the property making a large pulic games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscape beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms; 3 king size or twin beds and jauzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and jauzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and ensuit shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross
Mortimers Cross Inn Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing