We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An honests family run good old british country pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mortimers Cross Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An honests family run good old british country pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We,being my wife and i stayed for a few days at the Mortimer's cross,our room was A1 bed and bathroom spotless,our host annely and family were so helpful,with a great knowledge of the local area,the hospitality was great made to feel very welcome it was what we wanted a few days away, we met local people finishing work every one from farm workers ,electricians,builders and more some colourful and all very welcoming and friendly and proper country pub,a good selection of real ale,cider and lager or coffee was no trouble if we wanted,our meals we couldn't fault good home cooked food,a little noise in our room from the bar but hay we found that a comfort not a problem hope this helps anyone looking to stay here,for us it was great and will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 117Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    43
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
71
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had a family partly in a village just down the road and booked for one night. Our room was spotless and spacious with a four poster bed , the bathroom was , again , spotless , we were made to feel very wecome and our brealfast was perfect. We will certainly go again. The new owners are certainly going to do well there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I had to look at pictures to make sure I had the right place. Sadly, nearly everything went horribly wrong today. A group of 10 of us had booked a few weeks ago for my MILs bday. When we were brought to our table the room was very cold with only a tiny portable heater in a far corner. Apps and mains were ordered together and apps came out in a reasonable time. However from there onwards nightmare. We were not told of any wait, the restaurant was near empty anyhow. However we must've waited nearly an hour or more for our meals. We actually asked if we'd been forgotten about after so much time had passed without any thought to let us know of a wait. Half of our meals were not exactly as ordered and some had to be sent back immediately as they were cold. No ones meal "wowed" and only 2 of our group finished their meals. We were offered free tea and coffee and nearly a round of drinks was taken off our bill. This however was not enough to compensate for how bad the food tasted and how long a wait we had. The veg lasagne was cold/tepid, all the mixed grills overdone, both salmons so dry unable to eat (even doused in sauce), some meals had black puddings others(of the same meal) did not. Our bill with discount was still just under 200£, very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonePimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaly G, Owner at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hello, I am very sorry you had such a bad stay. I would like to inform you that there is now new ownership. It would be lovely to see you and hope this time your experience would be a much better one.

Annaly Goodwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at this Inn last weekend after attending a family party in the restaurant where good food was served by a friendly staff in charming surroundings. The hotel room was very pleasant, it was a very large room with a four poster bed a large spa bath shower. The breakfast in the morning was excellent cooked to order.
This INN is in an isolated spot but is worth going to as it is in easy access to many places of interest and good walking in the area. It is very reasonably priced i certainly will consider staying again in the future

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are good but if you ask for rooms on the top floor they are certainly big with f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IckenhamChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Had lunch here on a long cycle ride holiday. The young lady behind the bar was very pleasant and the food, starter and main, on one of those weekday offers, was a fabulous cooked meal at great value-for-money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyFamily_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a KGB voucher. Very good value for money - food was lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. We had a Jacuzzi in our room which was a pleasant surprise and we had a wonderful time. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Helen543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Although difficult to find at a quiet rural crossroads, this hotel/restaurant/pub was almost quaint. Clean and mostly modernised, room was fine and bed comfortable. Free WiFi worked adequately and staff were welcoming, friendly and accommodating.

We stayed here on a special deal and this exceeded expectations.

Food and breakfast in pub/restaurant was good, as was local real ale at the bar.

It turned out to be conveniently located to visit Ludlow and Leominster, so ended up a pleasant few days break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 86bbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortimers Cross
0.0 mi away
The Bateman Arms
The Bateman Arms
#1 of 1 in Shobdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Mortimers Cross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Property: Mortimers Cross Inn
Address: | Kingsland, Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014, we are a family run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renivated the property making a large pulic games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscape beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms; 3 king size or twin beds and jauzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and jauzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and ensuit shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross
Mortimers Cross Inn Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing