We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Ystalyfera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here on business at the beginning of November. I had a very large room on the ground floor. It was at the end of a long corridor so I had no problem with people walking past. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast and service were excellent. I didn't get a chance to use the pool but I will make sure that I do when I return. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Can't remember if my room was 104 or 114 but it was at the end of the corridor and it was better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annwyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    179
    104
    46
    18
See reviews for
88
223
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, ideal location to visit North Wales and local area, including the smallest cathedral in UK, St Asaph. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Room 222, front corner suite, was large, sunny and quite, even though main road close by. Had the 2 course special evening meal on the first night, excellent quality and value. Only had the continental breakfast, both mornings and this was more than adequate with a wide selection. Used the Gym & pool both days and the facilities and staff, Leon was very helpful. Overall a great stay and will recommend to family & friends.

Room Tip: Room 222, corner suite large and sunny to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My partner won a raffle prize: a spa day for 2 people, including 1 1/2 hour of treatments, use of the facilities and lunch, which he gave to me and my daughter.

Fiona, who welcomed us on the day and looked after us for the duration of our visit made us both feel at ease, was very friendly and done everything she could to ensure we both had a lovely relaxing time, including giving us complimentary vouchers to use the leisure facilities on an alternative day (we were unable to the facilities on that day due to us having to leave earlier than expected). Lunch was plentiful and sustained us for the remainder of the day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnajames99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Enjoyed a relaxing stay here a couple of weeks ago. Very professional and customer friendly staff. Lovely evening meal food from a good range of dishes, nice spacious rooms which we very clean. Recommended and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here Oct 2013 for business. It was ok. Food was excellent - particularly breakfast. Staff friendly. I had a minor complaint with my room and was moved - which was nice. Bed was comfy. Wireless signal was ok for me. The gym is quite impressive for a hotel gym with a pool, series of weight machines, and free weights as well as a bunch of aerobic machines.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We came to The Oriel as part of our pearl wedding road trip. From the outset we were made to feel special. Our suite was beautiful and the hotel itself both peaceful and well presented. Swimming pool and gym were great. Food very good. Felt very spoilt. Will certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northstandgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband & I spent 2 lovely days at this pleasant hotel (Groupon deal) for my birthday. The hotel is warm, comfortable & clean. The bed was large & comfortable and we had everything we needed to hand. We were able to enjoy a dip in the heated pool & could have used the gym facilites if we had wanted to. The lounge & the conservatory have large, plush sofas to wallow in, while you sit back & enjoy a drink or two. The most impressive thing was the food. We enjoyed a generous continental breakfast both mornings, with ample jugs of coffee. We opted for the 2 course meal deal in the evening, which was amazing value. Tempura king prawns on chilli jam, was presented wonderfully & tasted fantastic. Followed by a main of Duck breast with Colcannon mash & vegetables in a honey glaze, which tasted delicious. The portions are large, contrary to what other reviewers had said. The hotel has amazing staff who are wholly attentive to you, while you are there. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel & there is a little traffic noise in the morning, but its no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
5.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
314 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
591 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriel Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Oriel Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Country Hotel And Spa
Oriel Country Hotel St. Asaph
Oriel Hotel St Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa St. Asaph, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing