We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food/lovely wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed 10/11th January, The food throughout was excellent, Family dinner, 2 breakfasts & wedding reception. The eggs in particular which were sourced I believe from their own chickens. The rooms were fairly standard, high ceilings which gave the impression of space on the ground floor rooms, bed not the most comfortable, the bathroom was a good size, but with 2 light bulbs out in the bedroom & 1 out in the bathroom I found most annoying, however when we mentioned this the Duty manager offered to change our room immediately. & housekeeping could do with going round with a feather duster to get rid of the cobwebs outside.
On the plus side all the staff which we came into contact with were friendly, very helpful & efficient, especially the Duty Manager.
Nice location for a wedding, bar a bit pricey!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were cooler, upper rooms had lower ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megavegasfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

having stayed at oriel house three times this was a let down room was delux room but the window didn't open the hot water was not very hot,i booked an early morning alarm call for work but after filling it in on my check in form and telling the receptionist that I needed it never got it hence got up late had no time to eat breakfast just grabbed a bacon on toast,no apology came even though they checked on system to see if it was there fault and to there surprise it was there fault,the manager on duty did offer a take away breakfast but still no apology,dont think I will be going back there again

Room Tip: get delux one plenty of room and seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulandelaine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Arrived 31st Dec 2013 for 1 night NYE package. Very nice welcome by reception staff, speedy check in. Bedroom was very spacious with a large bathroom. The hotel has a relaxed & calming feel to it. The meal served was absolutely delicious and piping hot as it should be. The quality and presentation 2nd to none! The service we received was very attentive and they couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast the next morning was served in a delightful room and there was plenty of food available.

The only downside to this hotel is that they do not have a lift which could be a problem for some folk and the stairs is rather steep and wide.

This was our first stay here and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: if you have difficulty with stairs, choose a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gioiosa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked a 2 night stay on Groupon...stayed in room 223...(. 27th Dec ) ..amazed at how attentive staff were...how lovely the meals were...had to pay extra for full Welsh breakfast and evening meal but well worth the money...had the pool to ourselves both nights...cannot believe anyone could complain about this hotel....Look forward to returning ..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here on a very cold night in Easter week in March. The deluxe rooms were fairly basic and old-fashioned and freezing cold.
Food in the bar in the evening was standard pub grub type and the breakfast wasn't impressive.
Cheap but not really recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZZZZZZZZZZZIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We play in a local squash tournament every year and once again returned to the Oriel, Excellent hotel which has been partly refurbished since our last stay. The staff and the management at the hotel are highly efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank partiLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Bought a 2 night stay on Groupon and added a third night. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Very attentive service. Easy parking and a great location to explore North Wales. Basic continental breakfast and spa facilities but what was there was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
1.2 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
388 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
658 reviews
10.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
6.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
660 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriel Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oriel Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Country Hotel St. Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel And Spa
Oriel Hotel St Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa St. Asaph, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing