We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very friendly staff, the hotel is very comfortable however it's a shame that there are little things that let it down. You look out the window to the side of the hotel and there is a skip with lots of hotel rubbish e.g. old chairs, wood etc just piling up.Looks like it's been there for years. In the leisure centre the door is hanging off the Sauna and the lockers are not good. That being said the breakfasts were wonderful. We did not eat in the restaurant at night so cannot comment, the reason being were were expecting maybe a set menu on the evening but there wasn't, average main course about 10 to 13 pounds. We decided to eat outside of the hotel as a result of this. Nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltrese, Owner at Oriel Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always appreciate the feedback. We are currently waiting for a skip of the relevant size to become available, and we as are aware that refurbishment projects at our other properties have caused a build up of items currently being stored at the hotel. When you next visit the area will be spick and span!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    179
    104
    46
    18
See reviews for
88
223
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

groupon deal-excellent value.ALL staff we met were helpful,friendly,professional.Reception staff very welcoming.Wonderful sitting in the conservatory and dinner in the restaurant both nights was fantastic.Room comfy and well stocked.No hesitation in returning.Steven in bar/dining was lovely as were ladies waiting on in well stocked breakfast room.Thanks to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosbygirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant and comfortable stay in the Oriel. The service throughout was excellent - attentive and helpful - in reception and the restaurant. We had a package that included a 2 course evening meal which was delicious and beautifully served (the curry was excellent). Our room was very clean, spacious, warm and comfortable. What's not to like!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sausages121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Just stayed last night! Booked last minute, and arrived late, so eat in the restaurant. It was very quiet but the food was excellent. Had shepherds pie, pirripirri chicken and whole seabass.
Room was lovely and clean and warm, with an excellent firm bed.
Amazing choice at breakfast.
Staff were always very attentive.
We had a big family meal today, and again it was all excellent and fresh.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ-and-Wend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon voucher from 2 March-4 March. Great place, staff very welcoming, lovely room with massive bed and flat screen tv. Food is very good in the restaraunt. Would certainly stay again. Never got chance to use the spa, so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The appearance of our delux room was fine, however, the smell of the aerosol air-freshener was overwhelming. Only one bath towel provided for two of us. We had booked dinner, bed and breakfast at £150 for the night. The atmosphere in the dining room was depressing, dull and dreary, so we ate in the conservatory which was definitely more pleasant. While the fish was good, the shepherds pie was awful. The highlight of the breakfast was the fried eggs with deep-fat fried black pudding and sausage left uneaten. The building itself is a bit of a mess with many narrow corridors and sloping floors. The whole place has been cobbled together and lacks any character.

The best part of the stay was the warm welcome received from Mandy on reception. Sadly she told us she is leaving!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were made very welcome on arrival and the receptionist was lovely. The room was large and comfortable if a little tired looking. Food in restaurant is top notch, and service spot on. Downsides - hotel could do with a bit of a refurb, lounge/conservatory area very cold, and has absolutely zilch atmosphere. No music, no ambiance, really lets the hotel down.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
5.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriel Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oriel Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Country Hotel And Spa
Oriel Country Hotel St. Asaph
Oriel Hotel St Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa St. Asaph, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing