We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, disappointing facilities and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room, disappointing facilities and food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We arrived on a groupon offer to find a nice sized room, of good overall standard, although the radiators could have done with a thorough clean inside. The restaurant was nice however the food was disappointing and not very good value. I received a coffee which was lukewarm at best and a cheesecake which hadn't set - and nor had the cheesecake of the couple next to us. The mains were ok but overpriced. One of the waitresses was also rude when I asked about the dessert options.
We enjoyed the swimming pool but were greatly disappointed with the shower rooms and spa; having come up for a couple of treatments we found the spa was closed on the 2 days we stayed. The receptionist of the gym didn't have any information on why and nor did the main receptionist. They only had 1 therapist to work in the salon which apparently they can close when they like.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemonywotsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltrese, Owner at Oriel Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We always appreciate guests taking the time to review our hotel and facilities. With regards to the Spa facilities, we advertised on the main Groupon site and reiterated in all our Groupon booking confirmations (and in fact on all our hotel confirmations) that Spa treatments must be pre booked to be guaranteed as available. This is because our two fabulous therapists will often work very early mornings or into the evenings but they schedule their time around what the business demands of them. Where their diary is clear, they will sometimes close the salon in order to accommodate other guests and their requirements, but as we always pre warn guests in their booking confirmations that this is what might happen, we can't pass any blame onto them. I do hope if you come back to us, you will book some Spa treatments as we really do have a fantastic Spa department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    184
    105
    47
    19
See reviews for
92
226
10
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Oriel Hotel in a family room 216. The room was horrible not resembling the photo's of rooms on this site and others. Our room was vile; dark, depressing, stuffy and smelling of damp on entry. The room is in very poor decorative order with large stains on the wall, water damage on the ceiling and various holes on the walls particularly around electrical fittings. The biggest problem was the perception of cleanliness. The carpet is filthy with unidentifiable things stuck to it. The skirting boards dirty, dusty radiators, filthy ceiling fan in the bathroom and valance sheets looking like they had not been changed in some time. The carpet also appeared to have not been vacuumed with bits of cotton, clothes tags and fluff all over it. This may have been due to a poor quality or over full vacuum but nevertheless dirty and re-let in that condition. The receptionist did, however, arrange for it to be redone. The furniture in the room is poor, the TV, too low to view from the far side of the bed, is placed on an old battered black ash unit which once had doors.

The bed has to be one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in. Extremely hard. The stuffiness of the room could not be resolved by opening a window. The bottom section restricted to a small opening with a safety chain and the top part broken so would not stay open at all.

There is no mirror over the dressing table area only a helpful picture. There is a full length mirror around the corner and you can pull a chair up to it but there is nowhere to plug in the dryer to reach the mirror properly or to put down the hairdryer, which cut out half way through drying my hair. To dry your hair you will have to do one side from a plug around the corner and then plug it in behind the tv to do the other. Ridiculous.

The public areas of the hotel are fine. Staff are pleasant our evening meal in the restaurant was lovely. Breakfast was good.

This hotel seems to have distinct differences in the quality of their rooms. Don't assume that people giving poor reviews are fussy or obviously people that are never happy. If considering a stay at this hotel you would be unwise to expect that you will get what you see in the publicity photo's. The room we stayed in could, in no way, be classed as 4*. Absolutely horrid. As we were only staying one night along with numerous other family members we 'sucked it up' but in other circumstances I would have left. We could not wait to leave.

We have stayed in many hotels and have experienced far better accommodation for much less than the £140 per night to stay at the Oriel. If these poor standard rooms are to be let out they need to be at a far cheaper price.

Room Tip: Find out if you have a refurbished room if not don't bother. Avoid 216 like the plague rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fradfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very friendly staff, the hotel is very comfortable however it's a shame that there are little things that let it down. You look out the window to the side of the hotel and there is a skip with lots of hotel rubbish e.g. old chairs, wood etc just piling up.Looks like it's been there for years. In the leisure centre the door is hanging off the Sauna and the lockers are not good. That being said the breakfasts were wonderful. We did not eat in the restaurant at night so cannot comment, the reason being were were expecting maybe a set menu on the evening but there wasn't, average main course about 10 to 13 pounds. We decided to eat outside of the hotel as a result of this. Nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltrese, Owner at Oriel Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always appreciate the feedback. We are currently waiting for a skip of the relevant size to become available, and we as are aware that refurbishment projects at our other properties have caused a build up of items currently being stored at the hotel. When you next visit the area will be spick and span!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

groupon deal-excellent value.ALL staff we met were helpful,friendly,professional.Reception staff very welcoming.Wonderful sitting in the conservatory and dinner in the restaurant both nights was fantastic.Room comfy and well stocked.No hesitation in returning.Steven in bar/dining was lovely as were ladies waiting on in well stocked breakfast room.Thanks to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosbygirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant and comfortable stay in the Oriel. The service throughout was excellent - attentive and helpful - in reception and the restaurant. We had a package that included a 2 course evening meal which was delicious and beautifully served (the curry was excellent). Our room was very clean, spacious, warm and comfortable. What's not to like!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sausages121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Just stayed last night! Booked last minute, and arrived late, so eat in the restaurant. It was very quiet but the food was excellent. Had shepherds pie, pirripirri chicken and whole seabass.
Room was lovely and clean and warm, with an excellent firm bed.
Amazing choice at breakfast.
Staff were always very attentive.
We had a big family meal today, and again it was all excellent and fresh.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ-and-Wend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon voucher from 2 March-4 March. Great place, staff very welcoming, lovely room with massive bed and flat screen tv. Food is very good in the restaraunt. Would certainly stay again. Never got chance to use the spa, so cant comment on that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
1.2 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
326 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
351 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
569 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
16.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriel Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oriel Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Country Hotel And Spa
Oriel Country Hotel St. Asaph
Oriel Hotel St Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa St. Asaph, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing