We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have visited this hotel very regularly owing to a close relative living in the area. We always find the service very good and the reception staff excellent.
We usually stay in a deluxe room and it is very comfortable. The only downside is the weak shower.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights that we stayed here and the food was excellent.
There was a wedding on at the time of our stay and although the behaviour of some of the guests was not what we are used to we were not disturbed by noise during the night.
A great place to stay and the staff cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hants_holiday_makers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel, staff are good, food fine, rooms clean but the only thing I found a negative was the wi-fi and mobile phone (Vodafone) reception was terrible. As this was a business related trip it was quite frustrating.

I did enjoy the food although it seemed to take a long time to get service and also in between courses, it seemed to average over an hour and a half for two courses. Breakfast includes a continental style as part of the pride which was adequate for me but a full English cooked breakfast was an optional extra.

Room Tip: If needing wi-fi try to get a room to front of hotel, seems reception was better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part if a groupon deal so got it a lot cheaper than the actual hotel tariff. Nice chilled relaxed hotel, leisure facilities are open to members too so could get really busy. Pool is nice but small and they gym was basic. We only got continental breakfast in our deal but loads of options available. Evening meal was nice no complaints and the conservatory was enjoyable to sit in with a drink after our meal. Nothing else around the hotel within walking distance. St asaph small village 5 min drive. All in all nice hotel for a relaxing few days. Would return

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophieee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for a night during the late May bank holiday for a family wedding. The service was absolutely great when we arrived, our room was ready almost immediately despite us been quite early. It was nice to be able to get settled in before the wedding. The room was a little old fashioned but I think that is the look of the hotel, the bathroom was amazing and had a nice big corner bath which unfortunately we didn't have opportunity to use.

For the actual wedding everything was lovely, the staff were great waiters/waitresses, and created a very welcoming atmosphere. The wedding meal was really tasty, especially the deconstructed cheesecake.

We used the pool the morning after the wedding, it is a little run down but perfectly adequate, and the changing rooms are a little small.

The only downside to the stay was the breakfast. You order the cooked breakfast from your table and so I expected it to be good, however when it arrived it was cold, and seemed the sausages and black pudding especially had been sat around for a while. We have had better from self service where food is kept warm under the hotplate.

Other than breakfast a very nice stay, we would go again if we had cause to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurySunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we have stayed, firstly for our anniversary and this time for my birthday. We came on a Groupon deal which is excellent value for money. The rooms are lovely, food excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Pool/spa facilities are also good and the grounds are lovely. If you have a road-facing room it can be a little noisy with the window open, but a minor inconvenience.
Will return!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Attended a charity luncheon at this hotel. Cost of tickets included canapés. However because of the badly organised staff our table was one of others which, because we happened to be the farthest away, did not get any canapés. Staff and the manager were told about this situation and asked if the table could be served canapés but this did not happen.

When we finally sat down to eat cutlery on our table had to be replaced because it was dirty with remains if food on it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Choosethebest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We currently stayed at the hotel on a 2 night groupon deal. Overall good value for money, room was pleasant, bathroom average size and breakfast plenty of choice. It looks like the hotel is going through refurbishment and modernization on a room by room basis which is the reason for the groupon deal. It looks like the hotel is greatly used for conferences and weddings. Definately a bit tired but overall, but I didn't have any complaints. Staff friendly and breakfast OK. The price of drinks average, compaired to most other hotels. Great base to explore North Wales. Nice gardens:)

1  Thank TripAdvocate1234
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
10.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
1.2 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
379 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
652 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range: £70 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriel Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Oriel Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Country Hotel St. Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel And Spa
Oriel Hotel St Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa St. Asaph, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing