We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a lovely site, not too far from the beautiful beaches, and the site is kept clean and tidy, is well laid out and has many great facilities. On the flip side it is the biggest site we have ever stayed on and does not have a homely atmosphere. Bear in mind that you have to pay extra to use the pools and entertainment facilities (£173 for two adults and three children). Pool is very clean and well supervised with plenty of lifeguards but as others have said it gets incredibly crowded if most of the occupants of the 1,000 caravans use it at the same time! The bungee trampolining was a hit with our children (extra charge) and the young man hiring out bikes was very helpful. The shop is extremely expensive for those of us using Sterling and I would recommend Carrefour or Aldi in nearby Arvert. Avoid Grand U as it's got very narrow isles and long long queues and frayed tempers. Noise from Luna Park Fun Fair is a factor and even though our caravan was a fair way from it it did disturb us on a couple of nights. I was really disappointed that Siblu charged us 35 Euros for a mini clean alleging we left the caravan dirty when I had spent several hours cleaning ensuring we left it in the condition in which we found it. Once they have your money there is no redress and although it is a not a lot in the scheme of things it left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siblu17, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Bonjour,
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday. We are pleased that you found the site has great facilities and that it is kept clean & tidy. It is something we are proud of.
When a customer rents a mobile home directly from Siblu, the price includes access to the swimming pools, children clubs, complex and entertainment hall if you book privately the pool access is an extra, but the mobile home owner should have informed you off this. Other guests, who book privately, purchase a daily pass for the pool to allow you to swim just on certain days rather than paying for your complete holiday.
Concerning the 35€ charge that you paid for the cleaning, I would like to clarify this was not paid to siblu but to the person controling this private sublet.
We hope te be able to welcome you back to Les Charmettes once again.
Best regards
Nenella Whitehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

I would recommend hiring a caravan through a website run by owners of the caravans rather than through Siblu direct. You are more likely to get a bigger sized pitch as a result, and you'll know exactly what caravan you will be staying in. Also highly recommend you bring bikes with you (you can hire on site - if you're there early-mid august get in quick!). The cycle paths in the region are fantastic. The kids loved the pool (again, like other holidaymakers 2 of the three ended up with sore ears) and the slides and enjoyed the dance in/around the pool that they did every afternoon.

Places we visited and would recommend:

Indian Forest - a good few hours spent here on the high wires through the trees - they have about 6 different courses all depending on how high you are - our youngest is 7 and he was able to do the two "lower" courses. All of the family can do this (if you don't mind heights!).

Youpiland in La Palmyre - near the beach and is good for an overcast day (not if it's raining). it's a load of inflatables/swings/slides,etc you can bring your own food or one of you pop out to buy from town. adults free, and kids can go in and out of complex all day - they get a wristband.

Brouage - about 10 miles away and a small citadel with walls that kids enjoyed walking along - a few gift shops and restaurants - like a big village really.

Royan - we went there to the go karting and had a great time - we took the scenic route back along the coast road and there are a few beaches in bays that are near to all amenities.

We sailed back from Caen and made a day trip of it there before the night sailing - it was a nice enough place with plenty to keep you interested for the half a day we were there.

Would we go back again? Yes, but perhaps in 2-3 year's time and maybe to another site in the region (somewher between Royan and La Palmyre maybe) so it feels like we were visitng somewhere different.

Room Tip: try to book with an owner directly to guarantee a bigger plot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambretta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siblu17, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments.
siblu's policy is to help our owner's to rent their own homes so we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and loved our wonderful region.
A bientôt
Elisabeth Bénaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Les charmettes was our first experience of camping in France and whilst it was highly recommened to me i was very apprehensive about venduring on this holiday.
it could not have gone better, from the moment we arrived at Bordeaux Airport to renting the car with Hertz and on the road to the camp site we already knew things were going well.
Arriving late to the camp site due to 10yr old daughter requring medical attention with acute asthmatic attack (easy access to Doctor in the local Town of La Palmyre), was not a problem. On sat this is a very busy office but all paper work was in order and no delay was encountered. Wi Fi can be purchesed here in this office so we bought the seven day card.this turned out to be very unsatisfactory as the connection was slim to nil most of the time , this was also a common complaint amongst other residents however we did not mention to any staff member.
Kids clubs were welcoming however our 4 children did not participate as this is a very busy holiday otherwise
Welcome information morning on the sunday morning is a great idea because one could organise the week or two with day trips and this information morning explains the route to take if you decide to go with a trip.
Mobile home was lovely , very modern and well equipped , ours was a 3 bedroomed excellence with A/C and a large deck and BBQ. Showers were difficult to regulate the hot water but there was no shortage and children may get scalded if left unsupervised.
The big and only down side to this holiday was the bed it was so uncomfortable , although it looked very comfortable. I wished each night that i had brought pillows with me
Kids loved the rented bikes and were always opting to travel by bike rather than the car. they were willing to travel to the Proxi Shop on site at any given opportunity.This is a very expensive shop but needs must.
This is a beautiful area with lots to do and explore. Siblu run a very well organised and supervised camp. It far exceeded our expectations of camping and we will find it very difficult to convince our children to try an alternative hoilday now

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrys_eye2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siblu17, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for all of your helpful comments, sorry for the mattress!
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Best regards
Elisabeth Benaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Recently stayed at Les Charmettes in France, stayed with Siblu in a 2 bedroom caravan. The site is very big, and there are over a 1000 caravans on site! The caravans feel very packed in, and the site has almost outgrown the facilities. There is 1 Restaurant, 1 shop, and a pool complex. The pool complex gets so packed its actually very difficult to move. The sun beds are all gone by 11am, and then if you want a sun bed you have to pay for it! The slides are good, but again the queues are quite long. There is not enough pool for the number of caravans.
The entertainment team are very good, and the kids clubs are well run. There is an entertainment complex and in the evening entertainment is provided, but very hit and miss, some good and some terrible. Be aware a lot of it is in French, thou you are in France!! The caravan was clean but no outdoor space as Siblu have packed them in. If you like Butlins, and want to experience it in France then this is for you. Not for us, but the kids loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siblu17, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your comments.
This summer was exceptionally hot and lots of people passed their days at the pool.
The entertainment team try there best to satisfy all of our holiday makers and do half in french and half in english.
We hope that you enjoyed the holiday overall and apprieciated our lovely region.
Best regards
Elisabeth Benaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Firstly this is our third year in row coming to les charmettes for the summer and every year it gets better and better without fail !! Firstly all the site staff and reception staff are lovely and more than willing to help with your every need also they all speak very good English so no need to worry about a language barrier if there's any problems which doubt ! Secondly the site is very clean and family friendly ! The children's clubs are fab , it's nice to have a couple of hours a day away from the children !! All the staff members in the clubs treat the children asif they were they're own in particular Vincent ,Natasha,Ellen ,clemont and moniek they were very lovely and helpful !!the pool complex is very nice and its usually quiet busy so you have to arrive quiet early to grab a sun lounger ! Also there was lots of activities able in pool including after aerobics ,Zumba and the sunshine dances everyday at 4 pm with Alice Jordane maxime and Laura (it was always such a giggle ) the evening entertainment was very good they always performed to their best every night in particular we enjoyed 'the freaky show' which included all of the entertainment team and was very interesting it was hard for me not to sing along to the songs ;-) my children couldn't help them selfs but to ask all the entertainers for photos with them in the fab costumes !located on site is and info nation office which gives you lots of ideas of where to go during your holiday and tourist attraction and they also give you a little discount when buys tickets for attractions from the office ! Also I recommend your bring bikes along as the campsite is very big and there's cycle paths everywhere around the area!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leticia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siblu17, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your holiday. We are delighted that you once again had a fantastic time on our park.
We will pass your comments on to our entertainment team.
Hope to see you again next year.
Kind regards
Elisabeth Bénaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our first french camp experience and overall a fantastic time had by all especially 8 year old son who loved the pools, football and chance to meet and play with other kids. 13year old not into organised clubs but enjoyed cycling , beaches and nearby high ropes courses. Have never cooked on hols before but vibe was so relaxed that did so quite a few times enjoying al fresco eating on mobile terrace. However on site restaurant is very good, and Spar is just up road for cooked chicken and the best herby potatoes if you feeling lazy. Hired bikes from helpful friendly guy on site. Well worth it as used almost every day for trips to beach through beautiful woodland path. Beaches outstanding. Booked 3bed 'top range' mobile thru Siblu. Not great - old broken furniture on terrace and painfully uncomfortable beds but luckily in outstanding position right next to complex. Would definitely book direct with owners now know layout of the place. Pool area was kept spotless and very well staffed with lifeguards. No prob getting beds up til about 11.30am even at the busiest aug weeks but no chance between 2.30 and 5.30. Everyone we encountered on camp and in local cafes and restaurants were really helpful and friendly. Now sadly the bad bit....journey there and especially back was absolute hell. Alleged 8hrs from Essex door to door via euro tunnel was actually 14 there and 17 back! Traffic horrendous, French drive like maniacs, full motorway service stations with cafes and shops are very few and far between. We were very unlucky to experience torrential rain on the drive home which coupled with very poor road markings and signage in the pitch dark made for a very long and stressful journey. Never been so relieved to touch British soil and see cats eyes! Overall had a fabulous family holiday and would love to repeat the experience of relaxation and activity balance with gorgeously warm not searingly hot weather but don't think could face the travelling hell again.

Room Tip: Placements to the extended rear of the park have much less privacy and space than those in the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siblu17, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again next year and the easiest way to overcome the traffic is to fly over to La Rochelle and then hire a car to enable you to visit our superbe region again.
Best regards
Elisabeth Benaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had an excellent time and our children, aged 14 & 10, didn't want to come home...! From the moment we checked in at Reception, everybody who worked at the site, and this includes those worked in the on-site shops & food bars, were extremely friendly and very helpful. There was even one occasion when, after a week, we ran out of gas, so I walked to Reception to report it. By the time I had got back to our accommodation, the maintenance men had already arrived, so we were really impressed. The on site shop was very well laid out and had the essentials we needed although we did our main shop at a supermarket which was 10 minutes away. We had a couple of meals at the restaurant which were good and reasonably priced.
Now for the entertainment...
I have to say my family and I were very impressed with the standard of the Entertainment Team, led by Laura Noble. The team consisted of Laura, Max, Alice, Jordan, Monique, Natasha, Clement, Anna, Vincent, Benjamin and others, and every one of them were superb. Every show they put on was of the highest quality. There was even an occasion where my daughter left her handbag at The Equinox, but she didn't realise until the next morning. When we enquired about it, Laura was very helpful and found that it had been handed in, with all the money intact, so we are very grateful to her for that. The Sunshine Dances at the pool at 4.00pm were fun, as were the 3 songs/dances at the end of each show.
The pools, whilst busy, were very good and the pools catered for all ages.
The location of the site was well placed for the lovely beach at La Palmyre, Other nearby attractions were Palmyre Zoo and the Luna Park Funfair.
All in all it was a great holiday and we are already looking to book for there again next year.

Room Tip: My advice would be to try to get one of the top range homes as I felt that the bedrooms were a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siblu17, Responsable relations clients at Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your great feedback, it is always encouraging for the teams to know that all of the hard work and efforts are apprieciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Best regards
Elisabeth Benaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Palmyre-Les Mathes
8.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Marennes Oleron
7.1 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Troja...
#1 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
849 reviews
7.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Royan La Palmyre
B&B Hotel Royan La Palmyre
#2 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
Aquatique Club Camping La Pinede
#1 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
489 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plage
Siblu Villages - Bonne Anse Plag...
#4 of 23 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
388 reviews
4.6 mi away
Siblu Villages - La Pignade
Siblu Villages - La Pignade
#1 of 5 in Ronce-les-Bains
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes

Address: Ave le Palmyre, 17570 La Palmyre-Les Mathes, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Price Range: £37 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes 4*
Number of rooms: 1062
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large holiday village that packs a punch, with a large pool complex including indoor and outdoor pools with new slides, fantastic indoor and outdoor entertainment facilities, a lively bar and French restaurant. There are three free children's clubs plus lots of sports facilities, soccer coaching, tennis courts and even a hairdresser ! Fantastic beaches and great towns are just a short drive away. Spacious, modern holiday homes, with terraces as extra, provide the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Siblu Villages - Les Charmettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmettes Hotel La Palmyre-Les Mathes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing