We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of La Paillotte

La Paillotte
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol
Level Contributor
247 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The location was good, but the menu was boring and food not particularly well cooked. The service was not especially friendly. All in all, we would not go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    181
    43
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“La Paillotte”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Right on the front of La Palmyre, overlooking the harbour. A good variety of food, eat inside or, on a warm evening, outside

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value meal”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Our campsite owners directed us here for an evening meal and it was very agreeable - very busy with what seemed to be locals and tourists alike (mostly French people) the atmosphere was nice. A la carte or two set menus to choose from the 18 euro three course menu was had by two of us and the 26 euro 4 course by the other two. Starters all wonderful - their fish loaf is a nice idea and well done, nice, well flavoursed pate maison and the men were delighted with the Salade Landaise with it's extremely generous lardon and gizzard portions! The desserts were also very good - lovely ice cream in lots of flavours and a chocolate fondant. Wine choice was good - we had a very pleasant muscadet sur lie.
Main courses were the let down - the salt cod dish was supposed to come with vegetables and instead came with a sad, un-dressed green salad and both steaks and the duck were not cooked as ordered - a well done sirloin came bleeding and a medium bavette was very unevenly cooked - some lovely, some very rare and some well done! Chips automatically served with the three meat courses - they were nice but would have been nice to have a choice of starch. Still gets 4 stars from me though becasue we had a great, good value evening and having tried some other restaurants round La Palmyre this is one of the better ones. Laso - it's nicely situated by the port and you can sit in or out (we sat in). If you have kids it is right next door to Youpi land (a kiddy play attraction) so I guess they might really enjoy a go in here before or after dinner since it is open late - we couldn't hear any noise from it from inside the restaurant though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SightseerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Smashing food and marvellous service”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were staying nearby at Keycamps and decided to look for a local restaurant. A quick surf on Tripadvisor led me to La Paillotte. What can I say.....superb menu and food, with smashing service. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone staying locally!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harwoodjmrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sea food spot”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have been visiting this seafood restruant for about 10 years,so long now we are greeted with hand shakes on our arrival , not usual with Les Anglais,food service all more than just excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterwebb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Paillotte also viewed

La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
 
La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to La Paillotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing