We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ZOO”
Review of Zoo de la Palmyre

Zoo de la Palmyre
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ZOO”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Better than any zoo back in the UK for feeding animals.
Get a bag of popcorrn & watch as most animals eat from your hands!
Kids Love it

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GMCTYPHOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,758
    1,063
    302
    120
    64
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb zoo”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Super very well laid out and stocked zoo. Went on a rainy day and it was lovely and quiet. Usually has crowds queuing outside. Fantastic stock of animals and great descriptions in French and English. Don't' miss the seal show - it's a real treat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dunmore1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NO INTEREST IN ANIMAL WELFARE. FOR PROFIT ORGANISATION. ANIMALS CLEARLY IN DISTRESS IN CRAMPED CONDITIONS.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place should not be visited if you have any care for animals. When you enter the 'zoo' you can buy popcorn (which should be for HUMAN comsumption), but the zoo seems to think it is acceptable to let visitors feed it to the animals in the zoo as the staff are not implementing any rules stopping this. ELEPHANTS AND MEERKATS AND ALL ANIMALS DO NOT AND SHOULD NOT BE EATING SUGARY POPCORN IT IS TOXIC IN THEIR SYSTEMS! I sensed a general lack of staff, and a lack of interest from the staff of the animals. When seeing one of the otters playing with a small bit of metal, trying to chew it, I straight away alerted a member of staff as I knew that it could have lethal consequences if swallowed. After finally finding a thoroughly bored looking member of staff she gave a nonchalant look to me and I never did see her go to help the poor helpless otter. I doubt the innocent creature is still alive, not that any animal would want to be alive in that cell of a prison.

So we carried on wandering through the 'zoo' trying to squeeze past the hordes of other visitors (hoping that they too felt as disgusted as us but they looked like they got so much joy at feeding the animals pop corn and any other junk they had their hands on I very much doubt it) and stumbled across a very sad Polar Bear indeed. His only relief from the boredom of the enclosed space he was forced to live in was to do back flips against the glass side of the aquarium wall. If any of you have no self respect and choose to visit this 'zoo' after reading this review, you too shall probably see this act of despair. I also saw a Polar Bear on the other side of the aquarium, away from the crowds passed out in the sun, it's fur looking limp and showing signs that he had 'given up.' Its's not that warm in the arctic is it?

Need I even go on to describe how horrific it was watching the sealions being forced to perform a 'show' with tacky Euro trash blaring unfavourably loud to the whooping and cheering crowd.

THIS ZOO IS NOT WORTHY OF THE 4.5 STAR RATING IT HAS PLEASE DO NOT VISIT THIS HELL HOLE.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank 1funky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent zoo, shame about the facilities”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This zoo is one of the best you can go to in terms of interaction with the animals. Being able to feed giraffe, ostrich, zebra, and goats as well touching tortoise and watching a sea lion show made it a fab day out.
The only downside was the facilities or lack of, especially the English kind which is greatly required when you have young children (especially when they have tummy troubles). In addition, the one way system further complicates the ability to find facilities in a hurry.
The food is expensive (as expected) so take a packed lunch. Also take a bag of popcorn as feed for the animals.
Parking is ample and free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Loughborough, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice day out but some animals had cramped conditions”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My 7 and 9 year old had a nice day at the zoo. We were disappointed to see the cramped conditions mainly of the cats. Elephants seem to miss out on space too. Having been to the South Yorkshire wildlife park I can say there is no comparison with living conditions. A few animals paced up and down.
Take a picnic - cafés microwave meals.
It is an enjoyable day but could be better for some of the animals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zoo de la Palmyre also viewed

La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
 
La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
La Palmyre-Les Mathes, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Zoo de la Palmyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing