We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Clean Club Med but not easy for Non-French Speakers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Large Clean Club Med but not easy for Non-French Speakers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

After the Volcanic ash forced us to cancel our vacation plans, we booked a last minute trip (at a great price) for the Club Med La Palmyre. We have stayed at other Club Meds so knew not to expect a lot of luxury (that's not why you go to a Club Med).. Even though it was April and only in the low 60s during the day, the large pool was heated and enjoyable. The whole place was amazingly clean and even though it was also the time of the French school vacation (the placed was fully booked), we were always able to find space by the pool and in the restaurant, although that was little more challenging. Getting to do all of the activities we wanted was tougher and many things seemed to be full all the time. Our biggest problem was that only a handful of the GOs spoke any English and this limits a lot of the benefits of a Club Med (free tennis instruction for example). Our 3 children (9, 12 and 13) all tried the Kid's Club out and lasted a few hours before begging us to let them hang out with us instead. Our oldest two were actually told - in broken English - to leave and come back the next day because they were "full" - out of the large group of kids there, ours were the only ones who did not speak French and the only ones asked to leave. This may have been just a break down in communication but it was enough to have our daughters leave and not want to go back. We do speak enough Dutch and Spanish to get by in NL and Spain so if the GOs spoke these (and not only French) we would have had a better time but overall, we have no complaints and would recommend this trip to others - especially if you can understand/speak French.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheFiveTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    661
    221
    78
    25
See reviews for
1,014
226
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Made feel very welcome from arrival. Two families with five kids aged 5 to 13 and all of us were kept busy and happy. We especially enjoyed the tennis. The sailing was also very good. We had fantastic weather for June and only had one wet afternoon when the G.O.'s kept us all busy. The pool is lovely and heated. The food was excellent and everything in the resort is very convenient. A very family friendly resort. The accommodation was a good size and very clean. Would recommend hiring bikes for a few days as there are lovely flat cycle tracks all around the resort and area. However the cost of the bikes add up for a large family! The resort is very accessible as it is flat and has no steps. Going back again next June! Hope the sun shines again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheIrishFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

This resort is a wonderful family break. We were there the first week they were open during the season. The rooms were large and because of the layout of the resort, all were quiet. This can be a problem at other club med resorts. There was evening entertainment each night that had high quality singers and dancers. There was a real effort to include English speaking people.

The tennis facilities were very busy and well managed. Each evening there was a fun tournament for the guests to participate in. All levels were welcomed. There are kms of bike/running trails around the property to enjoy. I recommend you rent bikes for the whole time you are there.

I think the best feature of this resort were the GOs. They were so warm and helpful. They enjoyed visiting with the guests and spent alot of time interacting. There was one rainy day during our visit and many indoor games were organized to keep the guests busy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

From Boston, we took our 7, 5, and 3yr old to Paris for a few days then here for a relaxing break. We had so much fun. The kids were surrounded with other kids from all over Europe, which was a great cultural experience for our kids. There was certainly a language barier. For that reason, my kids hated the kids club because they didn't know the rules and the other kids would yell at them in different languages. It was no problem, because there was plenty to do at the gorgeous beach, pool and sports venues. We loved rock climbing, tennis, roller blading and archery. The food layout was easy and worked well of the kids. Note: there's NO air-conditioning. It was very hot 2 of the nights.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kidsintow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

My family (couple plus children 2 and 6) stayed here for 4 nights in August 2008. It was our first experience at a Club Med and it didn't dissapoint. The lowest point was right at the begining when after checking in we had to wait for a couple of hours for our room to be ready, only after complianing several times we were offered to seat in the bar by the pool and enjoy the facilities. Otherwise the experience was pleasant, the rooms are clean and the facilities in general are in great shape. The GOs (staff) really give great service. We learned archery and climbing... on some ddays we had to wait for 10-20 minute but that's ok. We enjoyed renting bikes and exploring the surrounding area. The beach in front of the club is also nice. The club is in a windy area but that's OK when it is hot (as it was). Just a couple of brief showers but the winds blew them quickly.
My wife signed up for one of the multi-day spa treatment packages and she was pleased with the service.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique was amazing!

Great:

-Food,
-Sports,
-Spa,
-Staff/service.
-Site

Good quality rooms/bungaloos.

They have a full size football pitch, football games/tournaments every afternoon.

Good sailing (Hobbie Cats) and windsurfing equipment.
Maybe not enough windsurfing sails in each size, but OK still: you rarely find yourself having to sail with the wrong size sail.

Lots of families, great for children and parents alike.
We went there as a couple, without children and didn't feel out of place.

Not so great: beach (no one there, no beds/chairs, no bar), but great swimming pool.

Try and spend 24 hrs in nearby La Rochelle: really nice historic seaside town.

  • Liked — The Sports, the food and the welcoming easy going staff
  • Disliked — The beach, but the watersports are excellent.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2007

We had a 4 day break at La Palmyre and it was great. The village is about 4 years old and everything is very new and nicely thought out. Rooms very comfortable (I liked the hard beds!) and spotless bathrooms with TV, phone and safe. Tastefully designed.

Pool was fantastic - a heated outdoor pool, so we were able to swim in October, and the outside terrace area is very attractive with view of the beach.

Bar and theatre very nice, and of course the big draw with Club Med was the fantastic food! Amazing buffet at every meal and snacking opportunities all through the day.

We worked off the food by doing lovely cycle rides along the very pretty coast. Plus learnt how to salsa and our daughter was kept busy with roller blading, archery and wall climbing.

The GOs were utterly charming and lovely.
Would highly recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jollidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Palmyre-Les Mathes
1.1 mi away
Le Palmyrotel
Le Palmyrotel
#4 of 4 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Cote D'Argent
Hotel La Cote D'Argent
#3 of 4 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Flots
Hotel Residence Les Flots
#1 of 9 in Saint-Palais-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Villa Ouest
La Villa Ouest
#2 of 9 in Saint-Palais-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
6.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Royan La Palmyre
B&B Hotel Royan La Palmyre
#2 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique

Property: Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique
Address: allee du grand Large, 17570 La Palmyre-Les Mathes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a unique 26 hectare site in Charente-Maritime, a paradise for nature and water sports enthusiasts. This Club Med Village of bungalows was inspired by oystermens' cabins with decor selected to blend seamlessly with its natural setting, achieved with an interplay of lively colours and natural materials. Located in a revitalizing conservation environment featuring 30 km of beaches, 65 km of cycle tracks and 8000 hectares of forest, this is the ideal place to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique Hotel La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Club Med La Palmyre-Les Mathes
La Palmyre-Les Mathes Club Med
La Palmyre Atlantique Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing