We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at St MArtin Chalet”
Review of St Martin Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Michael im Lungau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Martin Chalets
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“great stay at St MArtin Chalet”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The Chalets are perfectly organized, with love for each detail. It is the perfect holiday for more people, looking for luxury and relaxed holiday. The landlords are very, very friendly and met our individual needs. The place is very good located and ski regions are very easy to reach.
Great price/performance

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralitzaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I've been lucky enough to stay in some wonderful resorts over the years, but accommodation is often a case of pot luck. Having stayed at the lovely St Martin Chalets I can honestly say that you can expect a warm, cosy and luxurious setting for a truly memorable skiing holiay.

The skiing is like nothing you'll find in some of the larger skiing resorts; quiet slopes, no queues and welcoming alpine huts/restaurants with friendly staff. I can recommend the local kaiserschmarrn!

Not much has been said about the night-life but we found it to be lively - if you know where to go - and the bars don't close until the last person staggers home!

Jodi and Herby know exactly what people are looking for in a holiday - the activities offered range from exhilarating snow-biking and off-piste sessions to more leisurely snow-shoeing and lazy horse-drawn sleigh rides.

We had an abolsutely fantastic stay in St Martin and can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

A great destination for a summer activity break with extended family. There were activities for all - a sauna for the lazy, short and long organised hikes, e-biking for the weak legged and great mountain biking for the more energetic. Plenty of choices to eat in the village within walking distances or try the free electric golf buggy to get you there slightly faster! A pub within 3 minutes walking distance. My dog came too and had a fantastic time – even received some dog training from the management team! The chalet itself was luxurious, the daily bread drop from the local baker delicious and the hospitality shown by the management team excellent. 5 stars from me and the rest of the family – a big woof from Lupoenergetic

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvicke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We had our family skiing holiday at the chalet which was fantastic. Chalet was beutiful and in immaculate condition. It was a perfect base for what we wanted to do. You would struggle to find better accommodation anywhere.
Ski hire was taken care for us and the service was superb. Lessons were also organised and again were faultless.
The area is stunning and the skiing in general ( although not mine ) was great.
I would go back there without hesitation and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timtilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at St Martin Chalets, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Receiving all these fabulous reviews makes all our hardwork and efforts even more rewarding!
Thanks to everyone and we look forward to your next visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

St. Martins Chalets are a small private development in St. Martins in the Lungau ski area. The chalets are new with all the latest facilities - ensuites etc but look traditional. The small development is situated round a central facility that includes an outdoor nature pool for swimming (in summer obviously) but more interesting for skiers is the large sauna. This is great after a day on the slopes and the owners were planning to add a gym to the complex.

The Lungau area is easy to get to from Salzburg and is pretty unspoilt compared to other ski areas. There ares everal resorts in the region and you can ski for miles if you want to - one of the longest runs is 5Km! When we were there in April it wasn't crowded and we had good weather.

St Martins is a village with a couple of Inns where you can eat and you can walk the 500m from the bottom of the lift to the chalets. If you want more life there is the picturesque town of Mautendorf nearby and if you want night life there are bigger resorts not far away but you will need to have a car or take the bus.

The chalets are managed by a really friendly Anglo/Austrian couple that can do ski guides and put you in touch with any local services you might need. We had a great time and are definitely going to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidw005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The Lungau valley really is a hidden gem, offering cycling, walking, rafting ectc in the summer and superb skiing in the winter. So desirable all the year round! We only stayed a few days that summer, (but promised to return to ski in the winter, which we did), because our main aim was to cycle the Murweg: 320km on the banks of the river Mur to the Slovenian border. AND we were able to start at the chalet, as the river Mur flows through St Michaal and St Martin, so a real bonus. A terrific off-road ride with few other cyclists even in July. Hosts Jodie and Herbie would be able to recommend shorter trips if that seems too far! as well as offer plenty of alternative activities. Certainly walking the slopes covered with wildflowers in the summer or snow in the winter is wonderful. The local and very attractive villages are connected by exellent bus services (run with Austrian efficiency) so it is possible to travel (without a car) to visit places of interest like the castle at Mauterdorf which is really interesting and worth a visit.
Travel details: easyjet flights Gatwick to Salzburg, airport bus to central bus and train station, yellow post bus all the way to St Martin, (slow, cheap but plenty to see on the way!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardharris60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Skiing during a school half term is usually very busy... but not in the Lungau. While staying for the second time in one of the gorgeous chalets we were able to take the local buses (perfectly timed Austrian efficiency) to ski the mouintains at Grosseck/Speiereck (the closest lift and easily walkable), Aineck, Katschberg, Fanningberg and Obertauern. Snow conditions in all areas were superb, and no queues! Returning each evening to the chalet for hot drinks we then made good use of the gasthof on the lane, which serves perfect apres-ski food at reasonable prices in a family friendly, pub- like environment. Staggering back the 200m was not a problem! Even cosier was when we chose to have a night in, using the first class cooking facilites in the chalet and sampling even more Austrian wine. A great week.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillHarris90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Michael im Lungau hotels
0.9 mi away
Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt
Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt
#1 of 5 in St. Michael im Lungau
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eckenhof
Eckenhof
#3 of 19 in St. Michael im Lungau
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Der Wastlwirt
Der Wastlwirt
#2 of 5 in St. Michael im Lungau
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sylpaulerhof
Sylpaulerhof
#1 of 19 in St. Michael im Lungau
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landhotel Stofflerwirt
Landhotel Stofflerwirt
#14 of 19 in St. Michael im Lungau
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Appartements-dalila
Appartements-dalila
#13 of 20 in St. Michael im Lungau
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martin Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martin Chalets

Property: St Martin Chalets
Address: Sankt Martiner-Strasse 198 | salzburg, St. Michael im Lungau 5582, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St. Michael im Lungau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in St. Michael im Lungau
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us at St Martin Chalets and experience self catering luxury high in the beautiful Austrian Alps and the Lungau UNESCO Biosphere. Our ten luxury chalets are fully equipped for the most demanding self-catering holidaymakers, but we also receive a lot of bookings from people who might prefer the idea of staying in hotels and enjoying catered Austrian holidays thanks to our diverse offerings. For example we can arrange in-chalet meals (that happen to be Michelin starred but without the hefty cost!) and we'll stock your cupboards before you arrive, delivering freshly baked bread rolls every morning if you want. In addition we'll light your fires in winter so your chalet will be warm when you get back, sort out child care, have your ski and summer outdoor equipment delivered and fitted in your chalet... We like to think of it as the best of both worlds - you have all the benefits of a catered chalet, yet you can eat out in town or get carried away with apres-ski without feeling guilty about missing an evening meal. We are situated on-site ourselves (our house is adjacent to the St Martin Chalets resort) and you'll usually find us nearby or busying ourselves in the resort reception, so if you need anything we are never far away. It makes for a fantastically independent holiday for you and your family but in the knowledge that we are right there when you need us. We are a family owned and run business and even built the chalets ourselves so you can imagine our pride and desire to ensure you have the best possible holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Martin Chalets Hotel St. Michael Im Lungau
St Martin Chalets Austria/St. Michael Im Lungau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing