We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, clean, comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Katharein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Katharein
Ranked #1 of 8 Opava B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
234 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“nice, clean, comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

this is my second visit to the hotel
arrived very late (22:15), registration was very quick and with a smile
unfortunately - kitchen was closed even that they have a restaurant

room is very nice, clean, big.
didn't had iron board but they just took my shirt and iron it for me - this is even better !

internet connection is free and without any games of long passwords and small letters

Room Tip: ask for the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

A fairly new hotel, so expect clean rooms.. I would class this as budget.
The Wifi is free, stronger in the restaurant though.

Stay away from room 19 (yep I got this one, asked to be moved but they were full) its very close to reception, and the stairs leading to the exit, so noisy. It also fronts a busy road.

The restaurant was very good, basic menu but nice..beer also :)

Very friendly Staff

For business or short break it is ok!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are close to busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetaylorfailiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I am visiting Opava regularly for business. I always want to book here having experience with other hotels in Opava . Not far from the centre, just walking distance, very easy to park a car in courtyard. Always found very friendly receptionists here. I prefer rooms with courtyard orientation. Rooms to the street can be noisy early morning, especialy during the summer when you open a window , so better to ask when you book. Rooms are OK , flat Tv, free WiFi. Breakfest service from 7 am . Offer is reasonable maybe more fruit and vegetables will be welcomed. Will come back again , maybe i should ask for i discount as a returning guest :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstrauchsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

It is very nice place to stay in Opava. I stayed there for only one night and it is the only hotel in Opava where I stayed, so I can't say much about getting to town from there or compare it with hotels nearby. I can compare it to hotels where I stayed before and this one is very good. I had very nice room with lovely bathroom everything was perfectly clean and bed was very comfy. There also was a kettle (not very common in Czech republic) but I didn't see any tea or coffee or a mug. But I was not looking for it. We also went to hotel restaurant, but I wasn't hungry, so I took only soup, but I heard that food there is very good, too. I wasn't fully satisfied with breakfast, but I guess that we came late.

Room Tip: 25, 26, 33 and 31 are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysophylax_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottville, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was a very fine hotel near Opava city center AND was extremely quiet. From Michigan (USA) visiting former exchange student and her family for a week. Staff very pleasant and most spoke very good english. Excellent breakfast was included in very reasonable 83 euro's per night room (2 twin beds, air conditioned). The only thing that it needs is an elevator and they were working on renovations to install one in the near future. We will be back to Opava and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with A/C if there in summer. Sooo glad we had it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opava hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Koruna
Hotel Koruna
#1 of 4 in Opava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberia Hotel
Iberia Hotel
#4 of 4 in Opava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Opava
Hotel Opava
#3 of 4 in Opava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Studio 58
Studio 58
#2 of 8 in Opava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penzion A club
Penzion A club
#3 of 8 in Opava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartmany Kramer
Apartmany Kramer
#1 of 8 in Opava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katharein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katharein

Property: Hotel Katharein
Address: Ratiborska 1580/37, Opava 747 05, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > Moravian-Silesian Region > Opava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Opava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katharein 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Katharein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing