We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure filled historic hotel on Coast of Ecuador!”
Review of Hotel La Herradura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bahia de Caraquez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Herradura
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This 100+ year old hotel is on the beach in Bahia in a very nice safe neighborhood. We watched a spectacular sunset on the Pacific Ocean and then went inside and had a delicious dinner. The first floor is filled with stunning antiques the family brought with them from Spain over 100 years ago. They showed us a room which was very nice with double bed, private shower, and AC for $50 per night.
Bahia is becoming very popular with expat retirees and is a beautiful "green" town on the coast of Ecuador. 3 hours by bus north of Manta or 90 minutes with a driver. They only allow bicycle taxis to prevent smog, so it is also much quieter. It was my favorite town on the coast! They are building a mall which is due to be completed May, 2014.

Room Tip: They have first floor rooms available if you have difficulty climbing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank blueskylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at this place around 40 years ago when Bahía was a quaint little fishing village and La Herradura was in its prime. We dropped in for a evening meal and were confronted by what can only be described as a pretentious and querky museum-like ground floor divided into tasteless themed seating áreas. As Bahía is devoid of any half decent eating places, we closed our eyes to our surroundings, and ordered a fish dish and soup. The dishes were just passable. I can't imagine anybody wanting to stay here. A totally forgettable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirklycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filiberto José V, Gerente at Hotel La Herradura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not find our hotel installations, food and the city according to what you expected. Bahia is a small city, with plenty of places to eat. Our restaurant and cafeteria feature countless antiques and historic objects, collected carefully since we opened almost 50 years ago. These objects were used in our province in the last 200 years they partially narrate the history or our region. Accordingly, our restaurant offers traditional food, dishes and delicatessen, presented with a gourmet quality, which makes the difference from other places in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I ate here several times in the months that I lived in Bahia. The food is good but not extremely well seasoned or imaginative. It's a good place for breakfast and a view of the sea but not special and is a bit pricey for what is served. I liked the decor and it was quiet and sadly almost deserted except for rare occasion. The restaurant itself is poorly managed and the service is unimaginative. A chef who understands seasonings and a bartender who wants to be sociable would help. The staff is rather preoccupied with doing the bare minimum. The Hotel is comfortable and if you discuss it with them can be rather affordable but if you just accept the first price....? The reason I liked it? View of the Malecon without being involved in the action. The Malecon can be somewhat dangerous and Bahia itself is noisy and not overly welcoming although there are exceptions to be found. I'm really on the fence about my experiences there.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms before paying. Haggle. These rooms are comfortable but not hmmmm, chic ? I liked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is unbelievable. It is filled with history, history, antiques. If you are lucky Miguel Angel Viteri, the owner will tell the history of some of family that are pictured at his hotel. It was a joy to see so many beautiful things that Miguel Angel has saved and displayed.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The owner has such a flair for desplaying his huge collection.

Room Tip: The new rooms have air-conditioning and balconies and face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duepplestrasse5-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

These guys have raised there prices to unacceptable levels for what you get. Stay at la Piedra or Casa grande for better value

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revisioncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filiberto José V, Gerente at Hotel La Herradura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Dear guest,

In the past there have been people who have provided altered information regarding our prices. Currently all our rates are available online for our customers to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This Hotel is very comforting and secure. The decorating style is exquisite and features many antique furniture pieces as well as decorative antiques everywhere. The environment very uplifting as nice music plays in the hallways. The staff was very friendly and performed a good job. The restaurant was delightful and provided us with great dishes from breakfast to dinner. The rooms were comfortable and the location was right in front of the "malecon" where all the action is happening. Great Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mechatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Upon arrival at Hotel Herradura, I was a bit underwhelmed by the facade but this hotel proved to be a real gem of Bahia. Although the staff consists of many younger males which was a surprise to this female solo traveler, I felt safe in its confines and treated respectfully. The hotel brings the sense of the history of the area in its lovely furnishings, many antiques and the ambiance of a time gone by. This hotel also has one of the best (and economical) restaurants I ate at while on the coast of Ecuador, with beautiful views of the ocean from the windows. I felt a sense of something proud and profound in the simple but historic decorations, the music (much of it was in the background and it was wonderful) and the nostalgia it invoked in this traveler. The only item I wished was available at the hotel was a computer terminal for brief internet access. Otherwise, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbell-SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bahia de Caraquez hotels
0 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
95 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bahia B&B
Hotel Bahia B&B
#1 of 8 in Bahia de Caraquez
64 reviews
0 mi away
Buenavista Place Hotel
Buenavista Place Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
109 reviews
0 mi away
La Piedra Hotel
La Piedra Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
85 reviews
0 mi away
Coco Bongo
Coco Bongo
#1 of 4 in Bahia de Caraquez
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Herradura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Herradura

Address: Ave. Simon Bolivar # 202 y Daniel Hidalgo., Bahia de Caraquez 131401, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Bahia de Caraquez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bahia de Caraquez
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Herradura, a place where the present recreates the past at every corner. Sculptures, oil paintings, feathers, stoves, running boards, pots and orchestra copper instruments from centuries ago, suddenly come alive, constantly harmonizing environments with a transition of shapes and colors. Prancing horses, that seem to move by lobbies and corridors, whips, brakes that marks the rhythm of a silent order. Hotel museum with stories and memories that keep decades of a journey that began in 1968. Located on the oceanfront main stage of the most spectacular sunsets, singular main attractive of Bahia de Caraquez. In more than forty years of service, the Hotel La Herradura has received tourists from all over the world, famous people including several former presidents of Ecuador. It has hosted countless conventions tourism, national and international; It has also provided training services to more than 5,000 people that are currently working in the tourism industry worldwide. The experience gained in this time gives us the confidence to offer high quality service and make your stay more pleasant . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Herradura Ecuador/Bahia De Caraquez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing