We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”
Review of Coco Bongo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coco Bongo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Love this place”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a great stay, and it's an incredible bargain. The breakfast was excellent....eggs, pancakes, sausage. They have brick pizza oven that does wonders on pepperoni pizza. The bartenders know how to make a cocktail!!!! :<). The staff is very helpful, and it really makes a difference. It's in a great location and its easy to get to Canoa and Isla de Corazon from there. We will be back again Sept. It's the best bang for the buck by far in Bahia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
20
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We read review and thoug this would be a good choice. We were disappointed. The room was right over the bar and the floor had enough cracks in it that you could see the bar below and hear it even better. We had to catch an early bus and the sleep quality was really bad there. Terrible sway beds, loud ceiling fan, thread bare sheets with no mattress pad and there was even a few mouse droppings on the pillow case. They said someone would be up to call a cab for us early. We had to leave at 5:45 am and had to go looking for a cab at that hour. Anyway I would not reccomend it.

Room Tip: I can't imagine where the good rooms would be
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandykthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, Owner at Coco Bongo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience at our hostel. The hostel has recently changed hands and Its under going phases of remodeling. This room is schedule to be remodeled next month. The room you rented is usually the last room we rent out. But I believe we rented that room to you because we didn't have another room available and it's our largest room and if I remember correctly you had a group of 6.

We do not have a mouse problem in the hostel. Wish you would have called this to our attention while you were having some of our great pizza downstairs that evening. I'll have to talk to CoCo about this tomorrow, our resident cat. :-)

The procedure for our staff is to call and make a reservation for a taxi for an early hour transit. Unfortunately our employee that was suppose to do that forgot. We apologize for this mistake. We do have night manager shift, it's more like a night watchmen to check people in and help people check out. They usually go to sleep around 12 and wake up at 6. There is a ringer at the front door and another at the bar that you could ring and they will wake up and help you with whatever you need. Again sorry for this mistake, if we are lucky enough to get your business in the future I will personal drive you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
312 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We went for breakfast, and it was the best food by far in Ecuador. The Pancakes were delicious, omelet best in town. We will definitely fine here again. Service was great, the place was beautifully decorated. We found everything to be very clean. The cleanest restaurant I have been in here in Bahia.
We did not stay here, just went for breakfast. But reviews claiming it to be dirty, you have to remember this is Bahia. As in many beach cities comes with a lot of sand & dirt. Not easy keeping things spotless.
I would recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommysmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hostel after reading reviews here. We were not disappointed in our choice! If you're expecting a five-star hotel, this is not the place for you. If you're looking to meet incredible people, both expats and natives, you won't be disappointed. The hostel is old, as are most of the places in Bahia. That is part of the charm of this hostel. Beds are clean and comfortable, showers are hot, and food is great! It is located near the beach, stores, and other great things to see and do in Bahia. The staff is friendly and will help you get a taxi or give you directions. They are also very happy to help a gringo with their Spanish. They never laughed at me once! We enjoyed our stay and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Comfortable, affordable, clean, with a beach cabaña vibe. Just looking at this place you can feel yourself start to relax. The food is great but you definitely have to try the blended iced coffee. Better than Starbucks at half the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed only one night and i meet so nice and warm people! Good location, service, clean, style, lots of good words. Recommending 100% if you look where to stay in a town.
Greetings from Estonia and see ya soon;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Saint Louis, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

While visiting Bahia, Ecuador I stayed two nights at the Hostel Coco Bongo. The main downtown shopping area is just two blocks away. The hostel is across the street from Bahia's most beautiful palm lined park. Staying there was quiet and comfortable. Also, the food was great. They serve both American and Ecuadorian breakfasts and real Italian pizza. There is also a wide variety of beers, mixed and blended drinks. Their high speed Internet was a big plus. As far as I am concerned, Bahia is the best place to visit while in Ecuador and Coco Bongo is the place to stay.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms in the back of the hostel are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia de Caraquez
0.0 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buenavista Place Hotel
Buenavista Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Hey-Sol
Casa Hey-Sol
#2 of 2 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia B&B
Hotel Bahia B&B
#1 of 9 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Terrazas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Bongo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Bongo

Property: Coco Bongo
Address: Malecon Alberto F Santos, 410 y Arenas, Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Bahia de Caraquez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bahia de Caraquez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coco Bongo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to CoCo Bongo. The hostel that everyone can and does recommend! A American and Ecuadorian run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bahia de Caraquez, just a block from Bahia's best beach. CoCo Bongo Hostel is a combination of nice private rooms with baths and dorm rooms created to give you, the adventure traveler, a friendly and fun base from which to plan your explorations of Ecuador, take a break from your travels, meet other travelers, or just recharge your batteries before heading out for further adventures. We have pulled together the best ideas over the years from travelers just like you and put about everything a traveler could want from a hostel under one roof. After having a good night's sleep you can enjoy the best breakfast in town with coffee or tea.Our breakfast menu, full of yummy treats at reasonable prices. Our courtyard offers a great hang-out area and our Bar offer the coldest Pilsener in town and a wide variety of drinks. If you like White Russians like the Dude, I recommend a White Ecuadorian. All this and much more is provided by our friendly, helpful international and local staff, most of whom speak English and Spanish. We are happy to help you with free traveler information and insider tips. CoCo Bongo welcomes you to enjoy our facilities and make new friends in a safe, fun, clean environment, and we'll bend over backwards to ensure that your stay with us is unforgettable. The CoCo Bongo emphasis is on providing a fun social environment, always offering opportunities to meet new people while still giving you the opportunity to get a good night's sleep should you have early morning travel and adventures planned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coco Bongo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Bongo Ecuador/Bahia De Caraquez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing