We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Front Oasis”
Review of La Piedra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Piedra Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beach Front Oasis”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent two days of relaxation soaking up some sun. Was told our room had partial ocean view and was totally surprised to come around the corner and see the expanse of blue. Just have to open the door to get the entire view!! Incredible stay - clean, comfortable room - bar and restaurant on site, pool to ourselves (weekday), walk on the beach at low tide and laundry service when requested. Funky bicycle taxi service available all over town but we chose to walk as shops, beaches and cafes are all nearby. Only negative comment I have is that bar service at the hotel poolside and in the dining room is really really really slow-but once you get your Pilsner - all is bueno!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My brother and I recently spent the night at La Piedra while visiting the Bahia area. The hotel has a prime location, overlooking the Ocean at the entrance to the Chone river estuary and our room, by the large pool, had a great view of the Pacific. The room was very clean, quiet, well decorated, quite large and well outfitted, offering free wi-fi internet access, a flat screen TV monitor with a wide variety of channels via satellite and telephone. There was plenty of hot water and the AC worked well. At a rate of under a hundred dollars we thought the price was right. The staff were most helpful and friendly, (since we both speak Spanish fluently I cannot say anything about their English language skills, although Mr. Zambrano, the manager is fluent in English) and provided us with much information about the area which greatly enhanced our visit. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which offered a large selection of options which were quite well prepared and inexpensive. The town is very quiet and the people friendly. It seems to be safe and relatively crime free compared to Manta or Guayaquil. A number of Europeans and North Americans seem to be buying property in the area and there is a large condo tower going up across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Beautiful location right on the ocean but showing signs of wear and tear, staff a little stand offish. Next trip in April stayed at Casa Grande two blocks away similar quality be supper friendly staff and owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin_Goes_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

After travelling 300KM around Ecuador this was a great spot to finally sit back and enjoy the great weather and very people. Had a massage pool side by Mercedes, enjoyed the hour massage and especially the price! The hotel is located right on the beach, which can mean that high tide does not allow you to go in the water as the under tow is quite strong. This also meant that my teens loved going out in the morning to collect the beautiful shells brought in. The pool is kept clean and we would it to be set at a good temperature. The restaurant has good food and is priced accordingly. Staff is not only friendly but very helpful and fluent in english.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, navada
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

this is good for a spanish project and a very good vacation spot. one of the best hotels in ecuador i loved it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idk711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
413 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I want some of what the Moon Guide writer was smoking. Everything is just so great when he describes some places that is a total let down when you arrive. This hotel is not Posh by any streach of the imagination. It is a middle class clean and comfortable hotel with a pool right on the beach. Priced as such. The restaurant is expensive for Ecuador and for the type of food you get. The town is clean and calm with very little to do and very little color. We went to the Corazon Island and saw a fair amont of large birds. Then we went to lunch to Canoa. Looking back I wish we had seen more of the sierra, the beach towns are not very nice, not matter what the guide books say.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

I stayed just for one night on my way from Esmeraldas to Guayaquil. Although the beach season is over, the room price was very affordable (so I chose a suite, because the difference was only about US$10). What I liked : The marvelous view to the Bahia bay. The friendly and kind staff. The restaurant was Ok. What I disliked : My room was SO far away from the stairs ... I dont know why the architect forgot about the guests on the other extreme of the hotel. Night illumination of the pool was very poor. There is no internet connection on the rooms (yes, I know that this is a vacation resort, but nowadays you need this kind of stuff on a so-.called "luxury hotel"). One final comment : Given that the hotel was built on the sea side of the pier, there is no space for a beach ...

  • Liked — Views / Staff
  • Disliked — Not prepared for business travelling
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fmalapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia de Caraquez
3.4 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buenavista Place Hotel
Buenavista Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
12.5 mi away
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
9.3 mi away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#7 of 14 in Canoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piedra Hotel

Property: La Piedra Hotel
Address: Av Virgilio Ratti 802, Bahia de Caraquez 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Bahia de Caraquez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bahia de Caraquez
Hotel Class:3 star — La Piedra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiete and wonderful city of Bahia de Caraquez, province of Manabi, known for being one of the most beautiful and peaceful on the Ecuadorian coast, the Hotel La Piedra, on the boardwalk, the largest and most comfortable in the area, unique with private beach, pool and gastronomy specializing in typical dishes of Manabi. Its infrastructure offers comfort and an excellent atmosphere with personalized attention by the warmest people on the Ecuadorian coast. It's unique natural surroundings, the plant life, the animals, the tropical beaches constitute the most exclusive on the Ecuadorian coast, which are ideal for family outings or corporate activities. Enjoy our hospitality, warmth, service and welcome to the exclusive Cialocotel concept. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Piedra Hotel Ecuador/Bahia De Caraquez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing