We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Piedra Experience”
Review of La Piedra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Piedra Hotel
Rancho Cucamonga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Piedra Experience”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel has a beautiful location and was a great place to stay in Bahia. The rooms were clean and I got a kick out the elephant towels. The problem I had was that the hotel staff was not attentive. We went down to the bar and it took forever to have anyone greet us. It then took forever to even get drinks. We also had a plumbing issue and it was very hard to communicate what the problem was due to the lack of English. I realize the place was being renovated when we were there but we should have had more attention then what we received as a guest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbarsi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel has a beautiful location right on the point. The rooms were average but clean. There was not much in customer service at the front desk, the bar, or from the hotel staff in general. The wi-fi was sporadic at best. We did not use the pool but it looked very nice. Overall an average hotel with a very nice location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at La Piedra one night in May and although the hotel has a great location right on the point in Bahia I don't know that I would stay there again. Anything to do with the staff was a nightmare because they all claimed to speak zero English and they were slow to do anything once communication was established. It really took us 25 minutes to get 3 beers and a margarita and we were the ONLY ones staying at the place because they were renovating most rooms apparently. In a pinch it would do, but there are better places just south of Bahia.

Room Tip: 301, 302 and 303 are the best in the place - all with great ocean views, no obstructions and spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarinB352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent two days of relaxation soaking up some sun. Was told our room had partial ocean view and was totally surprised to come around the corner and see the expanse of blue. Just have to open the door to get the entire view!! Incredible stay - clean, comfortable room - bar and restaurant on site, pool to ourselves (weekday), walk on the beach at low tide and laundry service when requested. Funky bicycle taxi service available all over town but we chose to walk as shops, beaches and cafes are all nearby. Only negative comment I have is that bar service at the hotel poolside and in the dining room is really really really slow-but once you get your Pilsner - all is bueno!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My brother and I recently spent the night at La Piedra while visiting the Bahia area. The hotel has a prime location, overlooking the Ocean at the entrance to the Chone river estuary and our room, by the large pool, had a great view of the Pacific. The room was very clean, quiet, well decorated, quite large and well outfitted, offering free wi-fi internet access, a flat screen TV monitor with a wide variety of channels via satellite and telephone. There was plenty of hot water and the AC worked well. At a rate of under a hundred dollars we thought the price was right. The staff were most helpful and friendly, (since we both speak Spanish fluently I cannot say anything about their English language skills, although Mr. Zambrano, the manager is fluent in English) and provided us with much information about the area which greatly enhanced our visit. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which offered a large selection of options which were quite well prepared and inexpensive. The town is very quiet and the people friendly. It seems to be safe and relatively crime free compared to Manta or Guayaquil. A number of Europeans and North Americans seem to be buying property in the area and there is a large condo tower going up across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjhein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Beautiful location right on the ocean but showing signs of wear and tear, staff a little stand offish. Next trip in April stayed at Casa Grande two blocks away similar quality be supper friendly staff and owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin_Goes_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

After travelling 300KM around Ecuador this was a great spot to finally sit back and enjoy the great weather and very people. Had a massage pool side by Mercedes, enjoyed the hour massage and especially the price! The hotel is located right on the beach, which can mean that high tide does not allow you to go in the water as the under tow is quite strong. This also meant that my teens loved going out in the morning to collect the beautiful shells brought in. The pool is kept clean and we would it to be set at a good temperature. The restaurant has good food and is priced accordingly. Staff is not only friendly but very helpful and fluent in english.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia de Caraquez
3.4 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
92 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in San Clemente
197 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 15 in Canoa
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Hey-Sol
Casa Hey-Sol
#2 of 3 in Bahia de Caraquez
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piedra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piedra Hotel

Property: La Piedra Hotel
Address: Av Virgilio Ratti 802, Bahia de Caraquez 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Bahia de Caraquez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bahia de Caraquez
Hotel Class:3 star — La Piedra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiete and wonderful city of Bahia de Caraquez, province of Manabi, known for being one of the most beautiful and peaceful on the Ecuadorian coast, the Hotel La Piedra, on the boardwalk, the largest and most comfortable in the area, unique with private beach, pool and gastronomy specializing in typical dishes of Manabi. Its infrastructure offers comfort and an excellent atmosphere with personalized attention by the warmest people on the Ecuadorian coast. It's unique natural surroundings, the plant life, the animals, the tropical beaches constitute the most exclusive on the Ecuadorian coast, which are ideal for family outings or corporate activities. Enjoy our hospitality, warmth, service and welcome to the exclusive Cialocotel concept. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Piedra Hotel Ecuador/Bahia De Caraquez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing