We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Character and Atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Lac et Foret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lac et Foret
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Will disagree with several reviews …stopped here while hiking 8 days from Annot to Riez and was the best stop on my route – provincial, 1930s, tidy, clean, great energy and laid back feel. Settled down after a day of hiking to French music and draft Leffe beer. The dinner felt and tasted like a home cooked meal with a pine nut dessert to finish. Absolutely loved this place for its character and ambiance...will be back when back in the area.

Looks like they are undertaking several room renovations this fall/winter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lac et Foret
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Unfortunately, the Hotel Lac et Foret was a disappointment. The décor was dated and dreary. The sink in the bathroom pulled away from the wall a bit just by leaning on it a bit. Tiles on the bathroom wall cracked as the sink pulled away, the toilet ran, and there were no wash cloths in the room. When we called the front desk, there was no answer. The room was not air conditioned and wasps had a nest near the open window. The bed slept okay. The only real good parts of the room were free Wi-Fi and the view when sticking your head out the window. The hotel offered a continental breakfast for $9.00. It was nothing special, but convenient for making a quick get away. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derbycitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel one night. It was a very bad experience for us. To start with the receptionist was rude, angry and did not speak any english even though the sign outside the hotel said they spoke german and english. We booked a room with "lake view" but could almost not see the beautiful lake. The halls were dirty and noisy and very old. The room was a good size but also dirty and old and in a great need of renovation. Wall paper coming op the wall, very old interior, carpet in the bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody even though the surroundings are beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Main building of hotel is quite nice, located next to picturesque lake. That is the only positive thing for the hotel. We were placed to the rooms in another building which looks like a depot for housekeeping; without any notice in booking messaging. Furthermore we were charged the same price for rooms with rubbish container view, as the rooms in main building with lake view.

The attitude of the owner and service personnels were rude and unpleasant except the barmen. Breakfast was expensive for the price, waiting time in restaurant was huge and food was average.

Pick any hotel or accomodation option in the area other than this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambacini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked on-line for a twin room with "view on the lake" - making us think of a quiet place with beautiful views in the country - in the French pre-Alps (1,200 feet) - a lovely retreat in the hot August heat. The price - 65 Euros without breakfast - seemed a bit high but for charm and beauty, a short-break, why not splurge? What we got was a 1970s style, hot & stuffy, walk-up room (no lift); no television (in 2012 !), one small window right over the cafe & kitchen (horrible cooking odors at 7AM!!); directly on a busy highway (Digne-Nice) with cars whizzing by even at 3 AM but no A/C so window had to be kept open... A nightmare in short and the lake? If you stood on tiptoes & leaned out, it was about 1/4 mile away. We were too tired to do or say anything but so happy to escape with just 1 night and our Alpine country "innocence" lost. Give me Paris, any day!! PS - My wife says we should, in fairness, say that the twin beds had firm matresses and that there were 2 towel racks in the bathroom. That's the best we can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Do NOT get the "lake view" those rooms are ALL on the very-noisy highway.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arizona-Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times, the latest stay was in early July 2012.
I can think of a hundred possible improvements this hotel could do but I would never suggest any of them because I don't want them to change. The hotel is dated but has a lovely charm. The ambience of the restaurant is lovely and very French in the best possible way. The best way to describe the room is "Imagine staying a few nights at a very old aunt's house". The rooms have no air conditioning and are in need of renovation but again, are charming. I prefer staying in the annex in one of the rooms facing the backside, towards a meadow. These rooms are 100% quiet and does not suffer from the rather heavy traffic on the road outside the front of the hotel. The lack of air conditioning is not a big trouble if you're staying in a room facing the backside, away from the road. It's safe to sleep with an open window and the nights are really cool this high up in the mountains even in the summer so you wake up in a perfectly chilled room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

On a motorcycling tour of Europe with my son, I wimped out as it got dark and cold when we were passing through St Andre Des Alpes. The Hotel Lac et Foret welcomed us, speaking passable English and opening their restaurant just for us!

The room was great, the food was excellent and in the morning we stodd on the balcony and admired the breathtaking view before pressing on into the most brilliant motorcycling country we had ever experienced.

All in all - an excellent place to stop. Garages and shops just up the road and the Alps all around you.

Room Tip: The end rooms have easy access to a lovely balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Andre Les Alpes
15.0 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
228 reviews
9.2 mi away
Auberge du Teillon
Auberge du Teillon
#2 of 8 in Castellane
193 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 8 in Castellane
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Canyons du Verdon
16.8 mi away
Hotel Le Provence
Hotel Le Provence
#2 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
78 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel De l'Avenue
Hotel De l'Avenue
#1 of 1 in Annot
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lac et Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lac et Foret

Address: route de Nice, 04170 Saint Andre Les Alpes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Saint Andre Les Alpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint Andre Les Alpes
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lac et Foret 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of Lake Castillon, in the "Alpes de Haute-Provence", near the Verdon Gorges and ski resorts... Hotel "Lac et Foret" offers 22 double and family rooms, library and TV lounge, meeting room, Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Lac et Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing