We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great small luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Malcontenta Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great small luxury hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

must be one of the most relaxing hotels that i have visited,staff friendly and very obliging,quite unique furniture and so comfortable.I wouldn`t say it for children as not to much going on,but maybe i am not correct so another opinion may be different,just very quiet.Great restaurant and will certainly revisit next year.

Room Tip: room on first floor with balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffreyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    50
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
37
95
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband, two children (14 and 9) and I spend a wonderful 2 days at La Malcontenta. The hotel is beautiful and serene, rooms are large and elegantly decorated, and the staff was charming and extremely helpful. Breakfast was served on a beautiful outdoor terrace, and including a delicious array of cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, bread, and more. We were especially appreciative of the care taken to accommodate a severe food allergy of my son's, with breakfast cooked to order. Same thing held true at the lovely restaurant adjoining the hotel, where we had two delicious dinners, and an extremely sweet waiter who gave us both his wine and beach recommendations. Our stay was a highlight of a two week trip to Spain. Make sure to visit Begur and Girona while there.
Only recommendation - invest in a couple of kids' bikes....we would have loved to take a ride, but the adult bikes were too large for our 9 year old.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrantT740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A lovely classy and luxurious hotel. We had a 1st floor suite with a terrace. The room was absolutely fantastic with lovely design features. We thought that the hotel was nearer the beach than it turned out to be, but this was made up for the fact that the pool is magnificent. The restaurant is independent from the hotel and is fantastic. The food and service at the restaurant was out of this world. The waiter at the restaurant was the best that we experienced in our entire trip.

We borrowed bikes to cycle down to the beach. The reception hadn't much of a clue as to where to go on bikes when it fact it was totally simple - there is a great cycle path that runs just behind the pool area.

All in all though this is an indulgent luxury and to stay a here a couple of nights was perfect.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here, all the rooms look fantastic. We were pleased with our Gran Suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marka063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were not staying at this hotel but in a villa nearby and spotted it on the way to the beach at Castell. Went on a Monday evening. Not many diners. This is a classy restaurant, probably one of the best in the area. We all had fish dishes and without exception they were all first class. The service and wine list are superior to most other restaurants locally, and the final bill not much higher than one would pay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dog63green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We spent two nights in a wonderful first floor room overlooking the gardens.From the moment we handed over our bikes(we were on a 7 day cycling trip around the region)we felt we were guests in a wonderful country house. We retreated to the pool to wash off the dust and loved the walk through the gardens.

Some hotels do luxury country in a formulaic way..this was very authentic and understated.

We had dionner both nights in the restaurant and both were outstanding.You are only a short walk from the beach and the hotel is ideally placed for walking or cycling in the region

We have booked to go back.

Room Tip: I would opt for a room upstairs..you get a great sense of looking out over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UluruAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a fantastic lunch in the restaurant enjoying some of the best local food we have eaten in Catalonia. My wife's Lemon Meringue Pie was probably the tastiest desert we have had in all of our years in Spain.
I will return soon to make sure that I order the correct desert next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creativecatalonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful property! So chic and classy. Surely, No touristy place. The service was wonderful, specially at breakfast time. The front desk was extremely helpful with other reservations and with all our questions. We had 2 very large rooms that cod not be any beautiful and comfortable. Ours had a huge living area with a extra large comfy white linen couch and beautifully decorated. Our sons stayed next door at a 2 storied bedroom as wonderful as ours.
Great for couples and for families that like the extra elegance.
Very nice pool area and grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pilarcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palamos
2.2 mi away
Hotel Trias
Hotel Trias
#1 of 10 in Palamos
392 reviews
5.0 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
788 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sant Joan
Hotel Sant Joan
#4 of 10 in Palamos
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#7 of 10 in Palamos
92 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hostal de La Gavina
Hostal de La Gavina
#1 of 4 in S'Agaro
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Malcontenta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Malcontenta Hotel

Property: La Malcontenta Hotel
Address: Platja Castell 12 | Paratge Torremirona, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palamos
#2 Family Hotel in Palamos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Malcontenta Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your La Malcontenta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Malcontenta Hotel Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing