We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Malcontenta Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Thus was a nice place although not what we were expecting. Our friend from Barcelona suggested we stay here on our trio to Costa Brava. This is the Spanish equivalent of a very small American Canyon Ranch. It is about a 30 minute hike to the beach. Very quiet and relaxing with a wonderful pool, bikes to use and yoga. Beautiful grounds and a large, tastefully decorated room. We had room service. The food was very good, served in spa portions and very healthy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

must be one of the most relaxing hotels that i have visited,staff friendly and very obliging,quite unique furniture and so comfortable.I wouldn`t say it for children as not to much going on,but maybe i am not correct so another opinion may be different,just very quiet.Great restaurant and will certainly revisit next year.

Room Tip: room on first floor with balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffreyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband, two children (14 and 9) and I spend a wonderful 2 days at La Malcontenta. The hotel is beautiful and serene, rooms are large and elegantly decorated, and the staff was charming and extremely helpful. Breakfast was served on a beautiful outdoor terrace, and including a delicious array of cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, bread, and more. We were especially appreciative of the care taken to accommodate a severe food allergy of my son's, with breakfast cooked to order. Same thing held true at the lovely restaurant adjoining the hotel, where we had two delicious dinners, and an extremely sweet waiter who gave us both his wine and beach recommendations. Our stay was a highlight of a two week trip to Spain. Make sure to visit Begur and Girona while there.
Only recommendation - invest in a couple of kids' bikes....we would have loved to take a ride, but the adult bikes were too large for our 9 year old.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrantT740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A lovely classy and luxurious hotel. We had a 1st floor suite with a terrace. The room was absolutely fantastic with lovely design features. We thought that the hotel was nearer the beach than it turned out to be, but this was made up for the fact that the pool is magnificent. The restaurant is independent from the hotel and is fantastic. The food and service at the restaurant was out of this world. The waiter at the restaurant was the best that we experienced in our entire trip.

We borrowed bikes to cycle down to the beach. The reception hadn't much of a clue as to where to go on bikes when it fact it was totally simple - there is a great cycle path that runs just behind the pool area.

All in all though this is an indulgent luxury and to stay a here a couple of nights was perfect.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here, all the rooms look fantastic. We were pleased with our Gran Suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marka063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were not staying at this hotel but in a villa nearby and spotted it on the way to the beach at Castell. Went on a Monday evening. Not many diners. This is a classy restaurant, probably one of the best in the area. We all had fish dishes and without exception they were all first class. The service and wine list are superior to most other restaurants locally, and the final bill not much higher than one would pay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank dog63green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We spent two nights in a wonderful first floor room overlooking the gardens.From the moment we handed over our bikes(we were on a 7 day cycling trip around the region)we felt we were guests in a wonderful country house. We retreated to the pool to wash off the dust and loved the walk through the gardens.

Some hotels do luxury country in a formulaic way..this was very authentic and understated.

We had dionner both nights in the restaurant and both were outstanding.You are only a short walk from the beach and the hotel is ideally placed for walking or cycling in the region

We have booked to go back.

Room Tip: I would opt for a room upstairs..you get a great sense of looking out over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UluruAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a fantastic lunch in the restaurant enjoying some of the best local food we have eaten in Catalonia. My wife's Lemon Meringue Pie was probably the tastiest desert we have had in all of our years in Spain.
I will return soon to make sure that I order the correct desert next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank creativecatalonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palamos
2.2 mi away
Hotel Trias
Hotel Trias
#1 of 10 in Palamos
421 reviews
5.0 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
841 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal la Fosca
Hostal la Fosca
#8 of 10 in Palamos
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sant Joan
Hotel Sant Joan
#2 of 10 in Palamos
159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 10 in Palamos
114 reviews
4.9 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Malcontenta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Malcontenta Hotel

Address: Platja Castell 12 | Paratge Torremirona, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palamos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palamos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palamos
Price Range: £93 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Malcontenta Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Malcontenta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Malcontenta Hotel Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing