We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but crowded” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of la Fosca Beach

la Fosca Beach
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ruines du château de Sant Esteve et baraques de pêcheurs de S'Alguer et Cala Estreta
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but crowded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A really nice walk from Palamós to la Fosca (Camí de Ronda - paths following the coast). You can also walk on to Platja de Castell (1 hour total). Ask the Tourist Information office about these paths.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    171
    29
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Whilst this is a beautiful beach, we unfortunately hit two bad days on both occasions that we went there. The first was a very windy day and the waves were so bad that we were not prepared to let the kids swim. The second time we went we were having a picnic on the beach and the kids were just about to rent one of the boats to go out on the water when it started to rain. But neither of these issues detracted from the stunning views, the clarity of the water, the relative seclusion of this beach and the fun we are sure we would have had there had the weather simply played along. We were staying in Palamos and drove to La Fosca. When the beach is busy, I think parking might be a bit of a problem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CorneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
898 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
“Friendly Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This beach is set near a nice community. While small it has a certain individuality. Not a rocky beach as some. Clear water and not too crowded in season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Wonderful small beach in a very natural setting, close to Palamos town. Well worth the visit and a nice change from the Paseo beaches.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank liane1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot - so relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A really gorgeous cove with golden sands and rock pools. The water is crystal clear and ideal for snorkelling. So many varieties of fish just beneath you as you enjoy a swim - bring goggles or mask. Ideal for families with young and not so young children. Some beach bars here too. La Fosca is at the start of a coastal path that takes you north of Palamos along a delightful adventure past ruined castles, fishermens cottages, breathtaking coves and more idyllic beaches. Be sure to return to La Fosca for a well earned swim and refreshment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed la Fosca Beach also viewed

Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 
Costa Brava, Province of Girona
Costa Brava, Province of Girona
 

Been to la Fosca Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing