We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice garden”
Review of Hotel Sant Joan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sant Joan
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is homely rather than hotelly. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and the room we had was comfortable, but quite basic. There is a nice garden with sun loungers but no sunshades except those over the tables and chairs - a bit of an oversight I think as it really restricts where you can sit in the garden. Breakfast is served until midday, but, as I discovered, if you are quite late down and there is hardly anything of the hot food left they do not offer to replenish it for you. It seemed that when it was gone, that was your lot! I would not have thought that this was the number one hotel in this town, but it is nice enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have to admit I was a tad disappointed when we first got to Hotel Sant Joan. Neither the hotel and nor the town of Palamos look like much when you first arrive. But the place quickly grew on me and ended up one of my favorites stops in our trip to Spain. The hotel itself has a lovely garden with a fountain, a big lawn, a hot tub and a small but refreshing pool. The public rooms are lovely and breakfast is terrific -- fresh breads, fruits, cheeses, meats and a hot dish each morning. Our room was small but comfortable. The front desk is very helpful. Palamos is a delightful town -- much less touristy than some of the towns on the Costa Brava. Walk the few blocks to the commercial district and you'll see families out in the streets. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jourprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We found this hotel on the net. The owners are very kind and welcoming. Breakfast is delicious (different sorts of bread, bacon, egg, fruit..) and till midday . They advised on restaurant, places to go... It was a wonderful and relaxing stay. To be recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boysteve21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is small, great, calm, clean. The garden is lovely. The staff are very helpful and they tell you about the best places and restaurants around. Breakfast (or brunch because it's until midday) is graet. We'll go back

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomaLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Very quiet and lovely hotel. Excellent attention to guests. Very clean and great breakfast. Free internet access which was very important deu to my job!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

It's a very charming hotel. The staf and owners are really helpful and make you feel like home. They give you really good tips for restaurants, good beaches, sightseeing... The place is very quiet and relaxing (except for occasional motorbikes from nearby road) and very clean. Breakfast is a fabulous buffet till noon. A good find and a delightful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

From phoning the hotel to arrange our reservation, to arriving on our first day, to departing at the end of our 1-week holiday, Mercedes (the owner manager) with her husband and team, just ‘couldn't do enough’ to make our stay a happy and memorable one.

· 7 nights for the price of 6 (seasonal offer).
·Free use of their computer to keep up-to-date on my e-mails etc.
·Complimentary Mojitos on the afternoon we stayed around the hotel gardens.
·Towel robes provided (because we didn't pack our own beach towels) for the duration of our stay, for the modest price of €3 each (for laundry charges).
·Security box at Reception for free.
·Umbrellas provided (when the weather turned unseasonably wet).
·Free car parking (only 10 slots though, so be early)

Breakfast Buffet table was groaning with a vast selection of Breads (11 types), Pastries/Cakes (4 types), Fresh Fruits (10 types), Hams & Cheeses (8 types), Preserves (7 types), Infusions (Teas etc - 12 types), and a hot option of Eggs, Bacon, sausage. plus the usual cereals, coffees cold drinks etc. The fact that this little lot was on offer until midday, underscored Mercedes' customer focus for even the latest of risers.

Snacks & Sandwiches were there within a few minutes of asking. The same story for drinks service. Their bar prices were most reasonable.

Our room (106) was lovely. Just big enough, but perfectly formed (and decorated). Including T.V., a.c., Lotions & Potions in the bathroom, and good quality towels. We had this delightful Juliet balcony (parting was such sweet sorrow).

I’ve never met a lady (in Mercedes), so committed to making sure that all of her guests are treated almost like family. It’s little wonder that so many other review contributors (everywhere) rate this hotel so highly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DarloBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palamos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trias
Hotel Trias
#1 of 10 in Palamos
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#6 of 10 in Palamos
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 10 in Palamos
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Malcontenta Hotel
La Malcontenta Hotel
#3 of 10 in Palamos
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal la Fosca
Hostal la Fosca
#8 of 10 in Palamos
101 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park Hotel San Jorge
Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Joan

Address: Avenida de la Llibertat, 79, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palamos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palamos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palamos
Price Range: £78 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Joan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sant Joan is the ideal place for those who are looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere with a personal touch. It is a family run hotel situated in the heart of the Costa Brava, 40km from Girona airport and 100 km from the French border.The Hotel is a XVIII century restored masía (Catalan Cottage), located in the old quarter of Sant Joan de Palamós (900mts from the beach), with a large garden (550m2) with an outdoor swimming pool (heated from June to October) and a hot water Jacuzzi that, due to its singular location, offers the guests quietness and privacy. The 20 non-smoking rooms are unique and personalised to enjoy a good rest with attention to detail to ensure your comfort. Most of them overlook the garden and all have bathroom with tub or shower, hairdryer, TV, safe, air conditioning (heat/cold) and free Wi-Fi. The junior suite and Superior rooms have mini bar. In order to have a good rest and to get up in no rush, our buffet breakfast is served from 8.30 to 12.00 and from 9.00 to 12.00 during the low season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sant Joan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sant Joan Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing