We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Menta

La Menta
Ranked #6 of 163 Restaurants in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$76
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Recommended to go here by head water holidays ...We were not disappointed,the food was exceptional and the staff lovely..
Fresh anchovies to start,dressed in what looked like jewels,What a work of art on a plate and tasted amazing.
I had fresh tuna as my main,which was absolutely beautifully cooked and presented
My pud was probably the best chocolate pudding i have ever tasted,worth every penny, it is not cheap but an experience you must have when in Palamos if you love food and a cosy fine dinning experience.(something special)
We visited on the 17th Sept and wanted to go back on our second and last night in Palamos but they close on a Wednesday
Thank you to the staff and chef .especially the lovely French girl married to the chef...first class in every way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharonx855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    107
    32
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We went at La Menta at the beginning of our trip in Palamos this summer. We ended up eating three times at this gem of a restaurant during our two week stay. The food is really, really good. Loved the gambas three ways and the gambas a la plancha. My friends delected themselves with the filet mignon (they had it twice). The restaurant is owned by a very creative chef, a Catalan, and his French wife, Agathe, our hostess. Agathe was very knowlegeable about her menu and the wines she recommended. She and her staff were aslo very welcoming. I strongly recommend it. I only wish people were not allowed to smoke at the table. Even on the terrace, the smoke coming from adjoining tables can be annoying.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Celine899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I very rarely give a one-star review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

As a matter of fact, I think this is the first time I have given such a low review of a restaurant. The food that night was simply strange. The gazpacho was bitter as was the 500 Euro per kilo (or so) canalonis were also bitter. Perhaps the chef didn't understand that you can't put fresh basil in because it makes the food bitter? (The calamaris, I have to say were very good), but nothing could be more bitter than the manager who, after asking me to tell her why I had problems with the service - which was borderline comical - started to tell me off. I was stunned. Well not that stunned since her snobby remarks started with "Well, in France, we have an expression..." that's as far as she got before we stood up and walked out. One good waiter, but the rest I guess family. Fine, if you're running an inexpensive family restaurant. I would have preferred to give my EUR120 to a better cause - like a book on etiquett for the staff. It's the second time I experience their indignancy and very uneaven cooking. Try La Selvatana 10 steps away. MUCH better everything. This place has a very attractive atmosphere, which, along with the exhorbitant prices (for Palamós) has tainted the opinions of the comments you read below. This restaurant is WAY over priced and has easily the worst staff in Palamós. Awful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank stellarartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricey for Palamos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Charming service and expertly prepared dishes. My sweetheart and I had lunch one afternoon and returned with my family the next. Both times we ordered the tuna tartare. You should, too. The local gambas may be even better. The wine list is more extensive than other restaurants in Palamos and quite a bit more expensive. Excellent desserts and dessert wines. The owners are from Toulouse; the young wife manages the house with flair.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Investment Adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We shared a beautiful tonyina €20 for starters after a first class complementary tomato soup. The tuna had been marinated on lime and quickly seared. It was magnificent served with cherry tomato and horseradish sauce. Small in quantity but taste to be proud of. Followed that with perfectly fresh gambas de palamos. The peach Melba dessert was especially nice. Bread, coffes, and bottle of house wine €11 came to total of €75.
Felt it was a quality meal served by friendly people with a bit of atmosphere. Would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dommags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Menta also viewed

Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 
Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 
Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 

Been to La Menta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing