We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful apartment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tankerness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments
Fife
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in the Bayview apartment which fantastic - immaculate, cosy and comfortable with everything you could need. Sheena even provided a couple of new jigsaws for our daughter. The welcome basket of orkney produce was great on our first night. Loved it - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank weemac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
inverallochy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our first time in Orkney so we wanted to stay somewhere central on the main island. Sebay Mill was perfect, only a 10 minute drive from Kirkwall & a short drive from all the main tourist attractions - Italian chapel, Skara Brae, Maeshowe, Brodgar, Highland Park etc. We stayed in the Ladeside apartment for four nights which was excellent, very clean, modern & well equipped. The owners were very friendly, there to welcome us when we arrived & also came round during our stay to make sure everything was allright. For us, Sebay Mill was the perfect place to stay & we would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in the Bayview apartment at Sebay Mill for four nights in May as part of our lengthier driving tour around Scotland and are already eager to return. The apartment was remarkably clean, tastefully decorated and highly functional. Sheena's answers to my myriad of email inquiries as we planned the trip were helpful and remarkably rapid. Given the high quality of the apartment, we thought it an excellent value. For us, the wi-fi in rental apartments must be 100% reliable and fast, and it was. The location of Sebay Mill was perfect for exploring the sights. We very much appreciated the kitchen as it was ideal for preparing dinner at home each evening. The welcome pack of Orkney products was much appreciated. The only item missing from the welcome pack was the mini Highland Park whisky mentioned on the Sebay Mill website. Once we realized it was missing, we drove to the Highland Park distillery and quickly compensated for the mysteriously absent mini whisky.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BG_and_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have visited Orkney several times in the past as I used to have relatives living there. I had seen Sebay Mill on the Internet a couple of years ago and thought it looked interesting. This year we took the plunge and arranged a trip to Orkney to coincide with the St Magnus Festival and booked Burnside apartment at Sebay Mill. We had a marvellous week and would recommend others to not only stay at Sebay but time their stay to link in to one of Orkney's festivals. As others have said, Burnside merits 6 stars, not the 5 awarded. We loved the simple but stylish decor and the magnificent views in all directions from the top floor living room - the binoculars provided were well-used looking out the windows at the wildlife! There was something magical about the apartment - no matter what the weather was like outside, walking up the stairs to the living room always felt as if you were walking into a sunny room. I can't think of anything that was missing from the apartment. Also, everything was so clean and pristine that we could have been the first people staying there. Top marks for the range of books on Orkney, its history and wildlife, and the maps available - we made good use of them as we travelled around. I can't think of a single critical comment. I look forward to many return visits in years to come, which was a common theme in the apartment's visitor's book.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our first visit to Orkney and we'd found out about Sebay Mill on Facebook. We stayed in The Roadside and were absolutely delighted with everything. The apartment was so well equipped and everything had been thought of. Spotlessly clean and a wonderful place to stay. We had taken our bikes with us and Sebay was ideally located for us to get out and about. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our third visit to "Bayview", the specially adapted disabled-friendly flat in Sebay Mill. It is definitely the best in terms of quality, facilities, accessibility, parking, access and overall inclusive-design that we have ever encountered. My wife has considerable mobility difficulties yet, because of the layout and ease of access throughout, toilet, wet-floor shower and parking (at the door) she is able to enjoy substantial independence. Sheena and Billy are very attentive hosts, nothing is too much bother, and we also benefited from the collection of DVDs of local interest, books and information. The spacious flat has everything - hob and oven, frig, dishwasher, washer-dryer, flat-screen television, microwave, two radios, CD and tape player, freezer, and a welcome-pack of local produce. We have booked for 4 weeks next year. as well as all this, it is a superb conversion of a building important to the heritage of Orkney.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our two visits have been a joy. Fantastic luxury accommodation with everything needed and more The owners are so kind and friendly. It is situated in a delightful spot, and is very convenient for everything.Orkney is such a refreshing and interesting place to visit.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tankerness
5.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
15.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
10.3 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
15.7 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments

Property: Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments
Address: Quoyburray Road, Tankerness KW17 2QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Tankerness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tankerness
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebay Mill Holiday Apartments. World class award-winning luxurious four and five star self-catering apartments. Located six miles from Kirkwall in the beautiful east mainland of Orkney. Each one to two bedroom apartments boast luxurious modern living spaces. We are a short distance from the spectacular beaches and cliff walks of Deerness. A local Orkney welcome pack with some wonderful jams, oatcakes, cheese & a miniature of local whiskey! awaits you on your arrival so you can relax right away. Sebay Mill has undergone a complete restoration to provide you with a very special experience!• Rural location • Local welcome pack • Linen/Towels provided• Private garden area • Cots available • Private parking• Near heritage sites • Free WiFi • Bus route nearby• Restaurant/Pub nearby • Airport 3 miles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing