We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villaggio Hotel Lido San Giuseppe
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Briatico
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were a bit wary about booking this location based on reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. The location in not really Briatico, but not uncommon in the Italian seaside areas - but the beach was spectacular! We were met at reception by Mr. Biagio, who was very friendly. Our room was Huge, clean & modern with outdoor terrace on 2nd floor where we watched the sunset over Stromboli nightly! It is a cliffside resort, so be prepared to walk lots of steps or take your car! The breakfast was simple, but ample. We had dinner one night at the resort, by choice - it was good but pricey. I agree with other review regarding the cost for "club" priveleges, but keeping in mind that beach umbrella/chair rates average @15 Euro/day was not outrageous, but you should have your own beach towel or there is a 4Euro/day charge, not mentioned on site. Reception kindly booked us a mini cruise to the Aeolian Islands including pickup/drop off at hotel - Amazing!

Room Tip: Stayed at the 190 block - maybe newer?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

My Wife & I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on our Honeymoon.

Below are some comments all travelers should be aware of:

1.Location and Vista in Briatico is great however this is the only positive.
2.Staff were rude and un-accomodating.
3.The food provided in the restaurant was not of a high quality yet was expensive.
4.There were very few staff that spoke english for a 4 star facility.
5.There was a clear difference in the treatment of people who stayed at the B&B and the Villaggio.
6.Beware all customers there is a compulsory club card for access to the beach which the staff do not provide at check-in or tell you about. They are only interested in the extra money for this. Please note it is unreasonable to provide accommodation on a beach and then charge your guests to use the beach.
7.Beware if you wish to use the minibar and stock it with your own items you will be charged for misuse as is noted above the minibar in the room. This tells you enough about the quality of the people running this establishment.
8.Water pressure from the shower is poor and the hand wash basin does not drain properly.
9.As there are a lot of mosquitoes and insects there are no fly screens provided to openings which will not be good for families with kids.
10.The breakfast provided is of a poor quality and should not be considered as 4 star.
11.Parking on site is difficult and if you are unlucky you will find you will be walking a fair distance on not so easy terrain to your room.
12.General service and attitude of the people working in this facility is poor.

Room Tip: Request to stay at beach level if staying at this facility however I would suggest finding accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MS-1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

In a way it is true what somebody wrote before – the hotel is really in the middle of the nowhere. But it is beautiful and everything looks new and well maintained, the close neighbourhood is clean and the complex gives a feeling of harmony. Something which cannot be said about some even more expensive hotels we have visited in the area. So we were really happy to have chosen Lido San Giuseppe. Admitted it’s not the best choice if you want to go out in the evening, in this case obviously something in Tropea would be more convenient. Here you have to go with car and it takes some 15-20 minutes to Tropea, beautiful place with many restaurants and bars. But for us with two children of 4 and 6 it was an ideal place. We have been staying in the hotel in the mid of June and we have enjoyed especially the pool in the upper part of the complex – and we have had it practically only for us. It takes some five minutes to go the stairs from the bottom part to the upper part of the complex. We were very satisfied with the food and have found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Ivo Koznar

Room Tip: the suite directly at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were welcomed by a very friendly manager and receptionist who provided us with maps, restaurant recommendations and a brief description of the local area.

As the headline suggests, a car is essential when staying at Lido San Giuseppe. The road (loosely defined!) down to the reception area is very steep but don't let that put you off as there is a lovely beach waiting for you at the bottom. We stayed in one of the (six) rooms with the private balcony. The room itself was very spacious, air-conditioned, an all in all very pleasant. The only complaint would be that the bathroom didn't smell overly fresh; I believe there may have been a problem with the drains. However, this may have been because we stayed out of season and it didn't impact upon our stay.

Breakfast was basic but tasty enough (cappuccino, croissant and toast with various spreads). We didn't stay past check-out but I believe there is a EUR 10 charge to stay on the beach once you have checked-out.

Recommended if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing escape.

Note: if you are driving back to the airport from Pizzo, if possible, do not take the A3 - there is a very confusing road layout between exiting the dual carriageway and reaching airport (we ended up taking a wrong turn and going back 15km in the wrong direction along the A3!). There is an alternative route, which runs parallel (ish) to the A3 and from which the airport is well signed.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with private balcony, we stayed in one at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is probably the worst vacation I've ever been on, period! The hotel itself is stunning, nice swimming pool (although the bar was never open). Hot weather, nice water... but then when it comes to the customer service it is beyond appalling! The omnipresent owners are rude and shouted to me and my friend despite knowing no English at all. They look like the typical criminal type - bald round head on a neck-less body, rude with an all-powerful attitude, it feels they always threaten you with their very presence. I also wonder whether this hotel was actually built by them or somehow acquired by extortion and other illegal means from someone with truly great taste.
Food is abysmal, which is a hard thing to find in Italy. As others have described the breakfast is coffee from a coffee machine, terrible croissants and only one type of ham and cheese (plasticy), no fresh fruit. We had dinner there once and never repeated, it was rather disgusting risotto, served straight from the pan onto the plate by the waiters -- shocking, that I hadn't seen anywhere before. Food of course was expensive, which would be ok if it wasn't tasteless and served in such a manner. It feels like a terrible canteen. Oh and they charge for the "napkin" 2Eur per person, apparently that is an euphemism for service in Italy but boy is that some service!
They have tons and tons of rules, including that you can only sit on your assigned place in the restaurant, same on the beach with awful music blasting all the time and the annoying animators just getting in the way constantly.
Did I mention a 10 inch TV??! Blocked shower room!! The staff enter the room at any time without asking if it is ok and get on with their business there, no matter that I was naked in a towel... Can't use the fridge by the way. Crappy sheets and towels, not 4 star, not even 2 star!
Also, a friendly couple told us how they were charged for a blanket they requested during the storm, 10 EUR deposit plus 4 EUR/ day! What hotel does that!!!
Also, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and if you get off at Briatico, don't expect the lazy feckless villagers to offer you a ride. The hotel does not respond to the earlier emails requesting a transfer or a taxi and only there when we called they showed up eventually to pick us up.
We had to basically walk from the hotel to the station every day on the road about 3km in order to get to the station and travel to beautiful Tropea, just to get some decent food and have the freedom to sit anywhere we wanted on the free beach with much nicer, less prickly sand! Bulgaria is so much better by the way and much cheaper, nicer sand and nicer people... jeesh!
DON'T go there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yoankata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It felt like a prison, isolated and so many rules to attend to!
They try to cheat you all the time, offer dinner at arrival like its mandatory, but it is not included!
If you put a foot on their beach, they charge 10€ per night, not per day, and you cant check in until 17 and have to check out before10.
Better to walk 10 min south, there is a free and better beach.
When we checked out they charged us for our stay plus added another guests costs as well.
At the third attempt we got it almist right, but no excuse at all for the mistake that was revealed only coz we read the bill carefully.
Dont use this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bjorne1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We love this beautiful beach hotel. We have come back several times and look forward to coming back every year and bringing back more family to enjoy the experience. The owners and their staff are so wonderful and pleasant. Our children love it too. Everyone is helpful, kind and accommodating and happy to give their English a try. Communicating was fairly easy. The food is delicious and all the beach activities make it so much fun. The beach and the water are soooo gorgeous and there is nice pool. The rooms are clean, neat and freshly kept with fresh towels and linens daily with nice beach towels too. The sunset and view every night is awesome and nearby towns like Briatico and Tropea offer nice cafes, restaurants, bakeries and boat trips etc. That are easy to get to. We highly recommend this hotel for a spectacular vacation in Calabria Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newjerseykid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Briatico
5.9 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 14 in Parghelia
480 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Solari
Hotel Solari
#4 of 10 in Briatico
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riviera Calabra
Riviera Calabra
#2 of 11 in Zambrone
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blu Tropical
Blu Tropical
#4 of 11 in Zambrone
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baia delle Sirene Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel Scoglio del Leone
Hotel Scoglio del Leone
#3 of 11 in Zambrone
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Hotel Lido San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Hotel Lido San Giuseppe

Address: Localita Brace, 89817 Briatico, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Briatico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Briatico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Briatico
Price Range: £84 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Hotel Lido San Giuseppe 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villaggio Hotel Lido San Giuseppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido San Giuseppe Briatico
Villaggio Hotel Lido San Giuseppe Italy/Briatico, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing