We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat here or miss a treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pieve Albergo Ristorante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Pieve Albergo Ristorante
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eat here or miss a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Wow! We stopped here en route to San Gimignano from Bologna airport. It was great. When we arrived the car park was empty, but we asked if they were serving food and sure enough they came up trumps. we had a choice of where to sit and chose a table on the terrace with beautiful views across the valley. What a start to our holiday! The lady who served us was very friendly, explaining local dishes to us and chatting. The menu was excellent with a really big choice. We ordered a wide selection of starters, cheese, meat selections and for mains our group had everything from steaks- amazing! to delicious Pici pasta. I think the most amazing desert was the affogato- ice cream with espresso. We were really impressed with this restaurant it set it a really high standard for the rest of our holiday and was excelent value for money. Thank you to fellow Trip Advisors for the great recommendation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    26
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
42
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Visited La Pieve Albergo in August when staying in Castelfiorentino. The views over the Tuscan countryside are wonderful when sitting outside on the balcony. The food served is typically Tuscan but the highest quality. My wife is still enthusing about what she describes as the best steak she has ever had!! Overall great quality and great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallnotsmallpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

After the hustle and bustle of Rome, this place was a retreat! The owners are very helpful and attentive and the food in the restaurant is of a really high standard.

The rooms are clean and fine - the views are what makes it!

I'd recommend to anyone who wants to relax and eat well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura-willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

An amazing place under the Tuscan sun. Amazing views, food, people. We stayed in this charming village but yet close to the big sites of Florence, Pisa and Siena. Even without a car we could travel with ease by train, Florence was only 40 minutes away.
The value for money is unmatched, if we come back I would rather stay here then in Florence. The food was amazing, you havent tried a real pizza until you tried a Tuscan pizza.
I can truly recommend it for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khorvath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I just returned from a trip in Northern Italy. Charlotte and Matteo were the perfect hosts. After 4 days of dealing with the pace, heat, and crowds of Venice and Florence, we landed in the relaxing full service pampering of the La Pieve Albergo.

The food was the best we had in our 12 day Italy trip. The location was ideal. The hosts were there to listen and assist with any travel questions about Tuscany. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable.

Tuscany is about taking time to smell the air, take in the beauty, eat and drink good food. I recommend spending a lot of time in this part of Italy. When you leave the La Pieve, you will be refreshed. To me, that is what vacation is all about.

Charlotte and Matteo work very hard and care about their guests. I deeply appreciate that hospitality and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bimecosms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I have stayed at Albergo La Pieve twice now. The first time in September 2012 and then April 2013. And you cannot find a more suitable location from which to explore the deligths of Tuscany. The hosts, Charlotte and Matteo, are more than willing to give you advice on what to see. Do you prefer small, quiant villages? Then San Gimignano is the place you want to visit and spend an afternoon in, strolling along the small, winding streets or old city walls. Are you fond of history? Then perhaps a day trip to Siena, where you may deligt in some of the most beautiful architeture - and, not to mention, try out some of the best tapas Tuscany has to offer!

Florence is only a 40 minute train ride away (for those of you who do not drive). Do not let this put you off. The train ride is quickly over, and trains depart every hour. So you can easily go into town every day and come back to your room in Castelfiorentino, where you can enjoy a drink on the terrace with a view of the rolling Tuscan hills and olive groves.

May I also suggest that you try having dinner here? And if you do, ask for the Antipasto Toscano, the Sbriciolona and the papardelle!

I will definately return here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnChristine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

What a refreshing change from the bust Rome streets. My wife and I were driving from Rome to Barcelona and picked this hotel at random as a convenient place to stop on our trip.
Wow, we sure got lucky, as the other reviewers said, the wonderful co-owner girls was an angel, absolutely 5 star service and more. Great room, great views, great food and a day to remember forever.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room is not important, they are all very nice, the people and the service and the views are why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelfiorentino
0.9 mi away
L'Antica Sosta
L'Antica Sosta
#2 of 4 in Castelfiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.3 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#2 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.5 mi away
Il Molino del Ponte
Il Molino del Ponte
#2 of 8 in Montespertoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
5.0 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#1 of 11 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel San Miniato
Hotel San Miniato
#2 of 5 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pieve Albergo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pieve Albergo Ristorante

Property: La Pieve Albergo Ristorante
Address: Via Orazio Bacci 2, 50051 Castelfiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Castelfiorentino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castelfiorenti...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pieve Albergo Ristorante 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Pieve, an old farmhouse, has the ideal location: overlooking on one side the beautiful Tuscan countryside and the ancient Pieve [parish church] of Castelfiorentino, and on the other side it's only 500 m from the old town. Our 10 cozy rooms are equipped with every comfort, and in the summer time you can enjoy your meals, a drink or just a snack out on our romantic panorama terrace, which has the most stunning view over the suggestive and enchanting Tuscan landscape. Tuscany is a land of great gastronomic tradition, which you can get to know better, appreciate and enjoy thanks to the varied and tasty treats of our restaurant, which offers a menu full of delicious regional specialties. Do not miss our homemade pasta and our grilled specialties such as the Florentine T-Bone Steak. La Pieve is an ideal base for visiting the area's numerous ancient cities, rich in art treasures, the characteristic medieval villages, churches, castles and off course the lovely Chianti-hills. Furthermore, compared to the places of major tourist attraction, Castelfiorentino is an oasis, where you can discover the real, authentic Tuscany: like at the Saturday market in the central square or wandering around the small characteristic streets of the old town and breath in the Italian atmosphere. You can comfortably leave your car in our private parking, because hotel La Pieve is only 700 meters from the railway station, from where you can easily reach Florence, Siena, Pisa, San Gimigniano etc and discover what the area has to offer in terms of art, culture and crafts. The hotel is family-run directly by us, Charlotte & Matteo. And with our experience, courtesy and availability, we will do our best to help you make your stay here unique, and give you an unforgettable experience of Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Pieve Albergo Ristorante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pieve Albergo Ristorante Castelfiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing