We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country relaxation”
Review of Il Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Borgo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Country relaxation”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Beautiful large rooms, pool and countryside. Great breakfast and coffee. Hallway outside rooms was very noisy - all tiled- which was a shame and made it hard to sleep in :( wifi only at reception this should be extended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    69
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

First of all, they are located in the middle of the mountain. They entrance is in the road, but inside is quiet and without "street" sounds. Is quite easy to arrive, but essential to have a car to move around the area.

Terralcantara Il Borgo is part of the "complex" with other two buildings Il Poggio and La Casa Delle Monache, which are located some km around.

Depend what is your expectation of "agriturismo", but for us Il Borgo is not. They are an hotel which produce some products as jams, olive oil, etc. that they offer to buy when you are there. They don´t have kitchen where you can cook for yourself of fridge in the rooms.

In Il Borgo building they have two parts. One that is what you most of the times can see in the photos, is the oldest and the stylish with the medieval building. The other, is a new building with more rooms.

When we booked we choose Il Borgo because the photo´s that we saw in the advertising. These were from the old building, with a supposed nice rooms. But when we arrived they gave us a room in the "new part" of the building with no class and a very limited view from the balcony (we could see some paths, but no mountains or the view that you can see in the websites).
As we complain they moved us to the old part (because we were in the low season and there were availability). We had a Junior Suite where the quality of the rooms was better but still the view was limited.
The only rooms that are consistent with what you see in the advertising are the ones that are in the first floor from the old part. They are Senior and, of course, more expensive.

The swimming pool is nice. Chilling in the swim area is quite nice, but If the complex is full could be a problem because is not so big as is in the photos. Also the chairs are nice, but the style doesn´t match with the environment.
They have also some sofa´s that normally have pillows in the top to make it more comfortable and be in the shadow chilling. These doesn´t have that so make them a little bit uncomfortable to stay so long.

The service in general is good, but not outstanding. The team is quite easy reactive if you ask something of you have a problem. The english is limited, so is almost essential that someone speak some Italian.

The cleaning is not so good, very basic. Example: we used the glasses and the 5 days that we were there the glasses were still there dirty, of course. They´ve never changed it.

The breakfast is good, but also... not outstanding. First of all, is only until 10.00 PM. They serve many "pastry" things but if you want ham or sth like prosciutto or cheese you have to pay apart.
Something really bad that the do is that they serve some things from the day before as the fruit salad in small portions.

The restaurant has good dishes, but a little bit overpriced. Be sure to sign the bill when you eat.

The check out also is quite early, 10.30.

So, is a place that promise more that they give in the moment that you are there... Is not the typical Sicilian cosy place with a friendly and familiar environment that we were looking for. Is more an hotel.

Room Tip: The only rooms that are consistent with what you see in the advertising are the ones that are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent a week at Il Borgo . We arrived late at night but the staff welcomed us warmly. We had (unwittingly) requested a room in the modern block of the resort at the time of booking . This was perfectly adequate , with a pleasant view & a balcony , but the following morning we asked if we could see a room in the older part of the hotel and the manager willingly offered to move us to a suite above reception . This room was much larger & full of character , with magnificent views & I would agree with those who have commented that the older rooms are much preferable to the more modern block .
Throughout our stay the staff were universally friendly & helpful . We had lunch on one occasion & dinner on several evenings & we couldn't fault any of them . We would agree however that breakfast is a bit "sparse" & arriving down for breakfast after 9AM meant that there wasn't much left to choose from .
The hotel is well located for visits to Etna & Taormina as well as the gorge , which is well worth a visit (hotel provides a complimentary pass) . There are plenty of pleasant restaurants in surrounding villages , for both lunch & dinner.
A car , I would have thought, is pretty well essential , given the rather remote location , especially if you're intending to stay for more than a couple of days .
All in all a very relaxing & interesting holiday & a delightful place to stay .

Room Tip: I would do your best to get a room in the older part of the hotel - even if they prove to be a bit p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeds45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il- Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Make sure you update your SatNav before heading to this hotel, once that is done the rest is simple.
This converted farmhouse is a sight not to miss, it comes along with a 'Grotta' and a private stairway to the Alcantara river.
Absolutely fantastic scenery.
Breakfast was very weak compered with the really friendly staff and need to improve a lot.
Rooms are kept clean and are very comfortable but not so easy excess with pathways ,stairs & ramps to get there.
I wouldn’t recommend this for families with little kids, it's somewhat dangerous!
Otherwise is great.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite reception entrance are easier and better situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayM0258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed here in middle October, 2012. It is easy to locate, on the main road through the Alcantara Gorge. It is a cluster of buildings centered on one very old and quaint building. Some of the lodging is in a newer building, but I stayed in a room in the older building. The room was well appointed and comfortable, and consisted of three rooms, a bedroom, bathroom and a sitting room, with plenty of space to relax or to hang up your washing as I did. The restaurant is very nice with good meals, although it is overpriced, common in my experience in Sicily. The staff was generally friendly and helpful, although English is limited. With the room goes a free pass to the Alcantara Gorge nearby. It involves a series of trails that meander around the upper rim of the gorge, with some fine views. I would stay here again if I return to Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affligem, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Borgo was the last stop after a 10 days tour around Sicilly. I Booked a triple room for 3 nights at this so called old typical Sicilly farm. From the moment ont that we arrived my son was very disappointed because ot the very small and old looking swimming pool.The room we had was just a cross the reception in the "newer building"overlooking the walking pad with no balcony and no privacy.
The room did'nt look very nice and was not really a 3 persons bedroom with a very old looking bathroom.
Also the very old looking tv set did not work and was only repaired the next day, we did not used it anymore because of the poor quality. I have seen other rooms with flatscreen tv sets in the same building.
The daily menu is OK but it's not possible to order a la carte. Breakfast is poor and some of the tapas from the evening diner were served again for breakfast.
If I could have left this 4* hotel 1 day after my arrival I would have done it. All togheter I have visited 6 hotels in Sicilly and it's hard to believe that this is a 4* hotel (except of the price )
This hotel could offer so much more because of it's beautifull location....
All this look's nice on booking.com,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVD-004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We just came back from Sicilly, Il Borgo of Terralcantara was our last stop on the island. Together with our friends we spent 2 nights at this resort. We chose it specifically because of its "medieval" character and authenticity as an old but elegant agriturismo - as displayed on the website, leaflets and photos of booking.com. Upon our arrival we quickly became disillusioned by the place. First of all, we were allocated rooms in a newly built one-storey building - not the ancient Borgo as promissed by the booking.com (actually majority of the rooms are situated in the new building, the Borgo contains only 3 rooms). Our rooms did not have any balconies and overlooked the walking path to the reception where many people pass all the time. This means no intimacy, an no view at all. When we asked why we don't have a room with a view as stated in the booking offer, the lady at the reception said all rooms are already occupied and she can't do anything. No apologies involved. Only after a firm intervention of my husband, one of us was finally moved to a room with a view (it turned out not all of them were actually occupied) and the second couple had to wait until the next day to have their room changed. Another suprise came straight after - no TV operating in the rooms, although the TV sets were placed there. As we were explained: the hotel has not bought the TV decoders yet...
When we decided to use the pool (so nicely looking on the hotel pictures) to relax after our trip we found a very small swimming basin (maybe 10 square meters) full of children which made our swim impossible, so we gave up. We actually never used the pool again. Just to add, the sunbeds around the pool are all plastic (which does not fit in with the rest of the öld borgo look) and do not have umbrellas. We decided to use the SPA, because the IL Borgo calls itself a NATURAL SPA RESORT. Unfortunately, as the management explained, the SPA part is still "in the making" which means not available for the guests yet....
A walk around the premises showed the place still needs some good work, the stairs to the "river" are harsh cement and full of wires and the balconies with bare iron rods look just sad.
FOOD: It needs to be stressed that our dinner experience at the Borgo was quite enjoyable, the food was nice with good quality local ingredients. Yet there was not possibility to order anything alse expect the 3 meal options of the set menu the hotel offers. As we travelled with a pregnant friend, she did not have much choice but to go for risotto, chicken or the local polpette.
The nice dinner experience was spoiled the next day at breakfast when we were served all the leftovers from last night dinner: risotto in fancy looking pots, caponatta, hard bolied eggs and very heavy selection of local meats (all served at night). The cornettos were not too fresh as compared to our previous Sicilian experience.
Generally speaking, the Borgo you see on the leaflet is not the Borgo you'll arrive at. You simply feel cheated. It's a shame because the place really has the potential to be something more...

Room Tip: If you ever go there, as explicitly for rooms in the reception building - the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kar0lina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione di Sicilia
5.0 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
764 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alcantara Resort
Alcantara Resort
#1 of 1 in Gaggi
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casale Romano
Casale Romano
#1 of 2 in Motta Camastra
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
#3 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
222 reviews
4.6 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
379 reviews
8.6 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo

Property: Il Borgo
Address: Strada Provinciale 81, 39, 95012, Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid luxury country resort, Il Borgo is only 20 kilometers away from Taormina, in the beautiful landscape of the Terralcantara farmstead, surrounded by over one hundred hectares of olive trees, vineyards and citrus groves that gently descend towards the sea. This is truly a spectacular view for the eyes and hearts of every traveler. Located in an ideal area to visit the Parco delle Gole dell'Alcantara and to go for walks along its trails, the country resort Il Borgo gives you the chance of enjoying a vacation in complete contact with nature and its products, staying in comfortable suites inside a completely renovated age-old farmhouse with a pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borgo Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing