We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather have stayed elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

I thought that this place was dark and dingy. The rooms have dark wood panelling on the walls AND ceiling or have this crazy paving style brickwork. Breakfast was cheap and the opposite of fresh.The hosts are not the friendliest and do not speak English. The town itself is wonderful- great for exploring. About 18km from Mount Enta and also 18km to Toarmina. Just stay elsewhere like hotel Federico. Sometimes its worth paying a bit more.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missyp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunzio27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

dear travelers this review to tell you the truth I do not know who they are, in my page tripadvisor recommend them to go to another hotel, I'm sure these guys have never been in my hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

I was at this hotel from the 21/9/12 to 28/9/12, the hotel is clean and tidy, the breakfast was good and the views are perfect.
Valentino the owner is a friendly person and all the staff is great.

Only one thing is missing in this hotel A SMALL COOLER OR MINI FRIDGE IN THE ROOMS, I personally told the owner about this and he agreed with me, he promised that he is going to try to include these in the rooms in the coming future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

The B&B is extremely charming and has great character. Our room was clean, excellent wireless and a great view. The place is quaint and very cute. Service was excellent!!!! The owner and staff were very helpful ( they even helped us pay a parking ticket from a neighboring town!!). I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alivera1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

If you are thinking of travelling to Sicily without breaking the bank this is the place to go.
This B & B has so much more to offer than just bed and breakfast.
Spectacular views and Sicilian delicacies just to mention a few.
The staff could not have been more attentive, offering advice on local eateries and attractions.Our room was spacious and clean and breakfast was perfect. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who wants to see the real Sicily, you definately won't be disappointed.
Thankyou, Thankyou, Thankyou!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyg2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

If you want to make a small journey towards Etna, i suggest you stay at this B & B. It is located in a small nice village where you can enjoy a good Sicilian dinner in accomplishment with nice locally produced wine. The tips provided from the B & B are really nice. The rooms are nice and clean, and our beds where good. The five stars come from the really price worthy stay that we had, one of my best during forty years of traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skinnershusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We've just returned from a 14-day stay at the Santa Caterina (17th June to 1st July 2012). We received a very warm welcome to this quietly situated B&B with views up to the castle and out towards ever-smoking Etna. Rooms are distributed over several floors and neighbouring buildings. Our room was comfortable, with a large double bed and single bed, wardrobe and dressing table, a table and three chairs, an en-suite shower room and a large balcony with table and chairs and sun from dawn to dusk. Breakfast al fresco on the terrace among the ancient pots and jars, flowering and foliage plants was a daily pleasure with cappuccino served and re-filled by Enza, freshly-made local delicacies such as cannoli and bigni, cereals, fresh orange juice, bread rolls, sliced ham and cheese. Valentino and crew were always ready with recommendations of places to visit and eat out. We left with hugs and kisses and certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in May. We arrived quite late and had no problem checking in at around 8pm. We parked on the street where there are a couple of places for maybe 4 or 5 cars. Our room was big and rather dark but I personally did not mind the dark wood as it gave a nice summer house feel to the experience. En-suite bathroom, Internet (although did not reach our room too well), balcony with nice view of the castle and with sunshine in the mornings as well as great (! - but really) coffee - were all very positive features of this B&B. The town of Castiglione di Sicilia above this B&B is only 5 minutes away and offers a great base for those who want to travel to both the coast and Etna. We had great time there and staff were very helpful, even when we asked them whether they had a bottle-opener, they managed to get one for us from their own house. Needless to say, I highly recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagdaHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione di Sicilia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
115 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
855 reviews
1.8 mi away
D'Orange D'Alcantara
D'Orange D'Alcantara
#1 of 1 in Francavilla di Sicilia
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.7 mi away
Hotel Ciuri di Badia
Hotel Ciuri di Badia
#1 of 1 in Buseto Palizzolo
637 reviews
9.6 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Borgo Gallodoro
28.3 mi away
Catania International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina

Address: Via Tenente Mazza 10, 95012, Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range: £25 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The diffuse hotel Santa Caterina is at the center of one of the most beautiful tourist destinations in eastern Sicily that go by the imposing Mount Etna, the beaches of Taormina and Giardini Naxos, without underestimating the extraordinary natural and Alcantara Gorges. On the slopes of Etna, a medieval town first inhabited by families of farmers, is the 'diffuse hotel Borgo Santa Caterina. The apartments have been expertly created by restoring the old buildings of 700, to best match the needs of tourism, with the recovery of 'originality, simplicity and beauty of the ancient rural Sicily. In the structure, you can still admire the cellars for storing wine, olive oil and nuts, the old barn and other structures once used by farmers. Today the old winery has become a lovely breakfast room, with characteristic terracotta floors and brick arches, where breakfast is served a rich breakfast buffet with a wide selection of local products. The rooms are all built in a rustic style with wooden beams, are all equipped with private bathroom and a balcony with panoramic views. The terraces are a true paradise thanks to native plants, the vintage jars, the beautiful landscape. Especially in the summer months, when you can make outdoor dining, you will always live a unique and magical. Santa Caterina is located 18 km from Taormina, 16 km from Giardini Naxos, 4 km from the Alcantara Gorge, 15 km from then located close to the main tourist itineraries in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing