We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
109
71
40
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
71
40
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner stayed days nice village catalina town castle etna
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We felt like we were living like locals here. We were in a little village in the mountains and it was lovely.

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good.

Would recommend this to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steven e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Charming rooms in a lovely old building, some with delightful terraces looking over the roof tops of Castiglione di Sicilia, which is an unspoilt old town in beautiful countryside. Sadly, the owner can be disagreeable. Although breakfast is optional (you pay extra to have it), we found him quite unpleasant to guests who choose not to take it. Then, when we got home, we found that we'd been charged twice for our three nights accommodation. They debited our credit card when we booked but also asked for cash when we arrived. After several phone conversations and emails, still no refund. The first time something like this has ever happened to me! A real shame and means we can't recommend Albergo Santa Caterina.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FifeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Very small and characteristic old town. The hotel was quaint and quirky, which is great, but all looking a bit tired and in need of some love and attention. We got picked up from the bus stop, but had to pay 20 euro for a 4km drive. The amenities were very basic, but to be expected at the price we paid. No hairdryers, irons, etc. Minimal bathroom supplies (4 sachets of shower gel/shampoo). Rosario, who did everything, was friendly enough. We arrived on a Friday night and he was quite happy to rustle us up a 4 course meal, which was very basic, but tasty. We walked around the town on Saturday, which is when we discovered that it is like a ghost town. Hardly any of the shops were open and a lot of the houses are empty and in a bad state of repair. A lovely local showed us around a few places, which was great. The tourist information office was no help at all and she couldn't speak any English. We were told the walk to the next town would take us 40 minutes, when it took us 1 hour 10 mins, down a very long, steep, winding road. We also discovered that it was the end of their tourist season, so most of the tours had finished. Buses do not run from here on Sundays, so another expensive trip by the local man to the nearest large town, Giardini Naxos, where we were told we could hire a car, but not on Sundays!, so we discovered, Buses do run there though, so a trip back to the airport to hire a car. Giardini Naxos is worth visiting and so is Taormina, which are much more vibrant and have many more facilities.

Room tip: If you do not like the smell of cigarettes, avoid rooms over the courtyards.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Looberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Do not expect all mod cons,rather a rustic charm in a quiet village that feels as if you've stepped back in time. Very friendly staff that will try to make your stay as good as possible.The sowers are very small,but my partner and I managed to squeeze in and were not exactly slim! Food is traditional Sicilian ,breakfast is homemade cakes and pastries and dinner if you require it is available. There are a lot of steps so not suitable if you have mobility problems ,but if you want an inexpensive base from which to explore this part of Sicily this Borgo is ideal .

Date of stay: September 2016
1  Thank maryrS2562YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Although we had initially booked the accommodation for our entire stay in Sicily (10 nights) the poor conditions of the accommodation forced us to leave immediately the premises, having to look in a rush for a new accommodation at the peak of the hot season of the island.
The service and accommodation was unsatisfactory in the following ways:
1) Five minutes into having checked in into the B&B the receptionist left the premises holding our passports overnight and without giving us any emergency contact number.
2) The walls of the accommodation were thin and permeated all the noises around: we could hear the snoring from the neighbouring rooms and in the morning the steps of people going down the stairs at 7.00 am woke us up.
3) The beds were super uncomfortable, with very hard and worn out springs. The sheets looked dirty and washed out
4) The shower cubicle was tiny, the curtain full of mould, the drainage wasn’t working so you ended up with your feet soaking in the water accumulated during your shower. The hot water supply run out after the first person in the bedroom had showered.
5) Our young daughters were placed in a room that was literally on the street and without any security other than a surveillance camera that probably wasn’t being monitored by anyone as there was no staff in place at the time.
The hotel owner refused to reimbursed us for the 9 hotels we did not stay and we ended up having to pay double for our holidays accomodation.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugeacquaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentino27, Proprietario at Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016
Google Translation

Questa recensione è stata fatta per danneggiare il nostro progetto di Albergo Diffuso per la valorizzazzione del paese di Castiglione di Sicilia,quindi non corrisponde alle caratteristiche dell'Albergo Diffuso.

Valentino Nunzio
Proprietario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews