We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good indeed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Federico II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Federico II
Certificate of Excellence
roma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I appreciated the well cleaned room and the large bathroom with windows. Good the light system and the furniture. I enjoyed so much the wonderful terrace . Every one of the staff was kind and ready to the customer satisfaction. But what I enjoyed more was typical Sicilian food of the restaurant: it was excellent!

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank giraworldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
60
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

The surprise highlight of our trip to four parts of Sicily, Castiglione is an ancient village that hangs on the sides of steep hills. We planned to use the hotel as a base for exploring Etna, Taormina, and Naxos, but were sucked into the charm of this half-abandoned town filled with picturesque vistas, pretty window boxes, old churches, and fascinating ruins. I spent hours walking its narrow streets and taking photos from its amazing views.

In comparison, the coastal towns -- especially Taormina -- were disappointing.

Although the hotel is in an old building, the interior is modern, uncluttered, and shiny. The family who runs it are friendly and helpful.

Surprisingly, we found two outstanding restaurants in Castiglione -- the hotel's Ristorante Sine Tempore, and La Dispensa Dell'Etna, a wine shop / trattoria about two minutes away. Both had similar menus focused on meat and local farm ingredients. La Dispensa was my slight favorite because of its remarkable selection of wines from the Etna region.

Although the hotel is in the middle of the old town, which is higher up the hill, it is a little hard to find, even with our GPS, which instructed us to drive down alleys that were too narrow even for a smart car. My suggestion is to first park in the lower part of town and find your way on foot. Then it is easy to map the best car route up to the square in front of the hotel, which has free parking.

This is a charming place to spend two or three days -- slowly -- and let yourself fall back through centuries of time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Delightful, fully renovated hotel in a characterful Sicilian medieval hill town. Spacious well decorated bedrooms kept spotlessly clean by the friendly staff. The hotel is family run and the service is excellent, they could not be more helpful. The town itself has seen better days but is a warren of fascinating, if sometimes crumbling, historic buildings. The hotel restaurant is good quality and reasonable priced as are a number of local eateries. Sicily in general is a real discovery, dramatic scenery, amazingly cheap compared to other western European destinations and really friendly people who never hassle you and are genuinely surprised and grateful if you tip them.

Room Tip: Note, hotel is hard to find so arrive in daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adriangrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

I have my wife in three days between the Federico II Hotel in October. Management and staff are very professional and friendly.
They help us bring more luggage room and bring free glass of juice for us after a long tiring journey mines.
Clean room, a bathroom and shower, large bathtub and very comfortable.
Staff available to assist you tour and difficulties as well as locations on the map help, for your convenience to travel.
You get free breakfast, with drinks, depending on the type of test that you will pay.
Difficult to find any hotel at home, however if at Hotel Federico II you almost get there

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Beautiful setting in small hillside town (make sure you find the right street to go up :D). Very friendly family run hotel. Spotlessly clean, large rooms - some with wireless internet access in the rooms. At least one bathroom had a shower for wheelchairs users.
Excellent food incl. sicilian specialities and wine in hotel restaurant - a la carte as well as all-in menus, all freshly prepared. House wine was a really good deal at 4 euros a litre. Plentiful and varied breakfast.
Really can't find a thing wrong with the place...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houseswapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E.Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We had an excellent week here. The hotel is situated just off a square (with free parking) in the beautiful hilltop town of Castiglione di Sicilia that provides real rustic charm, narrow streets, good views of Etna and some excellent restaurants including the hotel's own. We really couldn't fault the staff who were very attentive and helpful at all times and all areas of the hotel are kept spotlessly clean. The hotel also provides a really good selection at breakfast, including cereals, fresh bread, cheese, meats, fresh fruit and cakes - we really did feel set up for the day. A pot of tea isn't imediately available at breakfast but we only had to ask for it on the first morning and it was provided every morning from then on. Rooms (and bathrooms) are quite large and very comfortable and ours had a nice sized balcony with table and chairs (although I don't believe this applies to all rooms). Overall this is a cracking little family run hotel where pride is taken in providing an excellent level of service. Top marks.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We arrived late in the evening (just after midnight) after a long drive from mainland Italy, but had called ahead to advise of this. The wonderfully friendly Sicilian family who run the hotel were able to prepare us dinner before the kitchen closed, and we were tucking in 5 mins after arriving (food was excellent). The son of the owners even parked our car in the winding, narrow streets for us - what a first impression!!

The hotel itself is great - set back from the main town square, smack bang in the centre of the town, down a side road. The room was exceptionally clean, high ceilings, and even had a balcony overlooking the windy street at the side. It all made for a very pleasant stay.

The staff couldn't be more accomodating or friendly - always on hand to offer advice on things to see, places to eat, trips etc. they really bent over backwards. The hotel restaurant is fantastic too - we had a very nice meal here, and very reasonably priced. Great local wine list too.
The hotel is located perfectly for the local sights - a short walk to anywhere in the town. Our balcony view was great too, a real slice of Sicilian mountain living down the winding back roads of the town.

I can't fault anything with the experience.

There's a fantastic pizza restaurant nearby too, offering a panaromic view over one side of the town and the valley below. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglione di Sicilia
0.1 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
#2 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mareneve Resort
Mareneve Resort
#3 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Il Nido dell'Etna
Il Nido dell'Etna
#4 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#1 of 1 in Montalbano Elicona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federico II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federico II

Property: Hotel Federico II
Address: Via M.Baracca, 2, 95012, Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federico II 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the extraordinary territory of the Etna Park and uncontaminated Alcantara Valley, on a sandstone hill , is located the medieval town of Castiglione di Sicilia. Here in the heart of its historic centre, in an ancient palace of 14th century, completely renovated was born Hotel Frederick II. The hotel offers 9 rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with every comfort and is the ideal place to spend a holiday in relax for discover the natural beauties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Federico II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federico Ii Hotel
Hotel Federico II Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing