We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - shame about the attitude of the staff, and the beds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santrano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Santrano
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Luogosanto
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - shame about the attitude of the staff, and the beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

HOTEL

Hotel Santrano is clean and tidy and is in a great location with stunning views. The two main faults we found were:
1.The staff were friendly but certainly not helpful or interested in us as guests.
2.The beds were incredibly hard. Consequently we did not have one good nights sleep in the 2 weeks of our stay. We asked the staff about the beds, but realised quickly that we were not going to get any help at all. A 'tough luck' attitude is the best way to describe it. My wife is fluent in Italian so it is not as if they did not understand the problem. We asked if they could supply mattress toppers. They said No. We asked if we could get extra blankets and sleep on top of them. They said No. Discussions with other guests revealed that it was not just us that were having problems sleeping.
If we had not booked the 2 weeks in advance we would have thought about leaving, which is a shame as otherwise the Hotel is fine.
We did not eat in the Hotel for several reasons. The restauraunt was always empty, no atmosphere, more expensive than restaurants in village, breakfast did not inspire us and I guess the lack of help over our sleeping problems put us off.
The breakfast was pretty bland and was exactly the same every day
Getting soap and shower gel was like getting a Red Cross parcel. Eventually we gave up and bought shower gel from the supermarket.
Towels and sheets were certainly not new, with holes and ragged edges
Swimming pool/sundeck was nice
Hotel dog very friendly

I would recommend the Hotel, if you like a VERY hard bed and are only staying a few nights.

LUOGOSANTO

Luogosanto is a great base from which to explore Northern Sardinia. Our favourite beach (Porto Pollo) was less than 30 minutes away. The village has two restaurants, Il Girasole and Da Tommy. Both are within 300 metres of the Hotel. There is a small supermarket, bank with cash machine, petrol station, several bars, post office and museum/information office. There was a festival during the first 2 weeks of September, which involved lots of mad bellringing and tooting of car horns every evening, but a great atmosphere.

TO DO

Take a day trip to Corsica
Visit Palau and Porto Cervo
Visit Capo Teste - great beach and rock formations
Visit La Maddalena Islands - out of Palau
Visit San Pantaleo - South East of Arzachena
Visit Tempio Pausania
Visit Fontana Filetta - overwhelmingly disappointing but a nice drive!
Visit the museum - they have a few decent brochures of the area

ADVICE/NOTE

The roads are narrower than in the UK, and are very 'bendy'
The signposts leave you guessing
The maps are inaccurate
There will almost always be someone tailgating you
Buy a map. We got one from the shop next to the supermarket

Best thing to do is try and avoid driving at night until you get the hang of the roads, and ignore the guy tailgating you. He WILL overtake you before too long! My worst experience on the roads was driving from Olbia airport to Luogosanto at night when we first arrived. It took 1½ hours to drive about 40kms! Another couple we met took 2½ to do the same trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilandKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

A lovely 3* hotel located up in the mountains. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful scenery and is nice and quiet. if you've hired a car, then you are less than half hour away from some stunning beaches. The hotel also has a lovely swimming pool which was hardly used when we were there- great for an early morning or evening dip. the rooms are very clean and spacious, with lovely comfy beds. And the service was incredible! the staff were super friendly and really went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I really can't rave about this hotel enough, I will definitely come back here if I visit Sardinia again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phenomeenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Lovely hotel with beautiful views of mountains . very well situated with easy access into village /town of Luogosanto.

Car parking available on very hilly slope . Entrance main foyer very large with seating areas near reception. Bar and restaurant off main reception area. Outside dining .area with outstanding views of countryside. We took breakfast outside , good selection of buffet style produce jams,eggs,ham cheese , cereal, cakes etc . Evening meal selection menu posted in reception looked nice however did not eat here !We ate at Pizzaria located just across road execellent and very popular with locals .

Rooms are spacious and well equippped ,have satelitte Tv , air conditioning and small balconies. Bathroom was really big with shower wc looked newley refurbished to very high standard.

Pool area and garden a delight with views overlooking mountains, sun beds with shade
and railings around outside of sun terrace area. No inflatables including childrens rubber rings (which is pretty silly ) especially as we were only people in pool !

Overall lovely. Hotel staff very accomodating as we needed storage for insulin and quite happy storing in the fridge in bar with access to it at all times, very happy to answer questions about surrounding area .

Town itself really quaint full of character and charm , nice bars and restaurants and locals all very friendly .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentSunshinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Basic but very clean rooms with good air-con.
Fantastic location with beautiful views. The swimming pool was also extremely clean and well maintained in a gorgeous location with amazing scenery.
The hotel restaurant was excellent with very good food and service, which had a good choice of both food and wine.
In a lovely village with other restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Very friendly staff.
A car is a must if you want to explore the rest of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethLondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luogosanto
11.0 mi away
Pausania Inn
Pausania Inn
#2 of 3 in Tempio Pausania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
13.2 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
5.1 mi away
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
#1 of 2 in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tenuta Pilastru
Tenuta Pilastru
#5 of 75 in Arzachena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ragno d'Oro Club Hotel
Ragno d'Oro Club Hotel
#1 of 5 in Aglientu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aldiola Country Resort
Aldiola Country Resort
#2 of 2 in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santrano

Property: Hotel Santrano
Address: Via Caprera, 07020 Luogosanto, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Luogosanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Luogosanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santrano 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santrano is situated on top of the hill known as "Monti Juanni", in the midst of an oak forest. The view is overwhelming, stretching out to the Corsican coastline. The hotel has 64 double bedrooms, each fully equipped with private balcony, color TV, dial-out phone, air conditioning, shower, hair drier, and furnished with style. Our bar/restaurant, meeting room, solarium, large garden, and private car park each contribute to making our guests' stay particulalrly enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santrano Sardinia/Luogosanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing