We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would never eat here again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Langport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Langport Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I would never eat here again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I booked a table for two on saturday for one oclock on the following day. we arrived early, my name was taken and we were ushered through to the bar and told they would get us shortly. The time of out table booking came and went and still no one came to get us, after 20 minutes after our table was booked I went and asked when we would be seated, I was told again "shortly". Another ten minutes went by, finally the head waitress came to get us, she took us into one of the very very cramped rooms which contained the carvery, as we followed her in she said ummmm sorry the tables not ready and dismissed us back into the reception area not really apologising and looking kinda annoyed with us, we stood and waited for a further 5 minutes, she then came back and took us to the most cramped table ever. We were told we could get our carverys if we wanted, we had wanted starters but were not even offered the choice. We got our carverys which was average at best. At no point throughout the meal did anyone come to our table to ask how the food was or if we wanted a drink or pudding, We would have spent around £50+ but ended up only spending £15 because of the lack of service. The head waitress was so rude and had a sour look on her face constantly, the sight of one of the waiters picking his nose (but at least he was polite abd smiled) and the serious lack of service does put me off ever ever going there again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bridgy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    12
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This old Somerset Hotel was easy to locate on the High Street, with a large Free Car Park behind the Hotel, just minuets from Junction 25 on the M25 the whole surrounding area is just beautiful, and steeped in History, Somerset is such a diverse County from the enchanting Brendon Hills, and onwards to Glastonbury then the jewel in the crown the City of Bath.I arrived at the Hotel late on a snowy winter afternoon and was warmly greeted by Debie the receptionist and general factotum, the owners of the Hotel are very fortunate to have such a conscientious employee. I was shown to my Room No1, a small room but well appointed, with a Four Poster Bed, a very clean on-suit Bath Room, a large walk-in Wardrobe, also Coffee and Tea in abundance, yes a very warm comfortable room, The Breakfast was served by the legendary Debie, we all enjoyed a Full English, but the choice is yours the quality is superb. Thank you the Langport Arms Hotel for such a enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarquin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Booked a family meal at the beginning of December. Told there was a carvery but also had an a la carte menu available. Arrived and waited in the bar. There were several other couples/parties waiting. Each group of diners was escorted through to the dining room. We had to wait ten minutes and still no-one came! We got fed up waiting and went through! we were greeted by a very young waiter who didn't seem to know what to do. We asked him to show us to our table. He was the only waiter. The dining room was so dark and tables were so close together you were nearly sitting on top of each other! The carvery was unatteded for long periods. We had to ask the waiter to get someone to serve us up our food. One of our party did not like carvery food so chose salmon fillet with stir fried vegetables from the a la carte. This meal was awful - the salmon was tasteless and included in the stir fry vegetables were peas and parsnips - very strange. The vegetables were tasteless and sloppy - probablyvegles left over from the previous meal which had been 'fried up'. For dessert one of our party had the Key Lime Pie it was still frozen!
All in all this was the worst meal we had had in a long time. There was absolutely no ambience and the staff needed training! Why don't they invite the Hotel Inspector along to give them some ideas?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here for one night. We were asked to ring the hotel if we would arrive after 2 pm. Rang hotel at 1.30 to say we would arrive between 3 - 4 pm. No answer to the phone and left a message. Arrived at 3.30 pm, all doors locked and no answer to the bell. Telephoned to ask to be let in, no answer and left another message on ansaphone. Gave the front entrance door a good hammering and then tried the back door. No sign of life. At last a face appeared at the window and we were instructed to go to the back door to be let in. Queried why they were locked up and were told they close for business between 3 - 6 pm each day. Also queried my messages left on the ansaphone, they hadn't listened to them, they were busy. Yes this is a hotel we were staying in.!!

Asked where we could park, the hotel allocated parking was allocated. This appears to be allocated to the staff!!

Were shown to our room, dated but clean but a very comfortable bed. This is a very old 2* hotel. Tired bathroom in light grey and blue carpet. Toilet didn't flush properly and had to use the waste bin to pour water down to flush.

Breakfast was juice, cereals and a cooked breakfast. Everything was served very hot and more than acceptable. My cereal spoon was caked with gravy on the handle and the green tablecloth looked as though it had the night before remains on it. It's hard to say give it a miss, it is the only hotel in this town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank furnacegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This an excellent small hotel, with a wide range of food options, a great courtyard garden, friendly and efficient staff. What more could you want?

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_farr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting family and local sight seeing. Beautiful hotel, full of history and old world charm. Choice of evening meals - recommend La Roche where you cook your own steaks and stuff at the table. Sunday Carvery def the best I've had in a long time. Lovely staff and Great nights sleep - could have been due to the fab wine on offer tho!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyjeansandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stood at the reception for ages and rang the bell 3 times before somebody eventually came to check us in. not a great first impression but the staff member who attended to us did apologise and was polite and freindly.
Car park was quite a walk from the hotel, and although they have an area for hotel guests with half a dozen car spaces outside the side doors, when we asked if we could have the key to remove the bollard in order to park there (to unpack our luggage) we were told it was reserved. We were there for three days and at no point was the bollard removed or the space used.
The room was very dated, the bed uncomfortable, the bedding was poor quality and ripped, and a room crammed with old furniture. We had requested a family room but there was no room to put a travel cot in without moving some of the furniture into the corridor and re-arranging the room.
Our bathroom had a brown bathroom suite, mixer shower over bath and green carpet, tiles from the 1970's, artex cracked and falling off the walls.
The food was ok not the best or worst I've ever had but I think in line with a 2 star hotel.
On a positive note the staff were freindly and helpful even though it appeared very understaffed (It felt a bit like a ghost town at times)
The location is lovely -right in the centre of langport a short walk from the river and a variety of shops and restraunts. (we would recommend the indian - Cardamom) There are lots of things to do within driving distance too.
Would I recommend the hotel? - No
would I stay there again? - No. Shame really, as it has many beautiful features which are hidden amongst the plastic plants, it feels very unloved but could be a nice hotel if brought up to a reasonable standard.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelling-to-some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langport
3.2 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.8 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
10.7 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langport Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langport Arms Hotel

Property: Langport Arms Hotel
Address: Cheapside, Langport TA10 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Langport Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Langport Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing