We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Fantastic house for family celebration”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of Gray Manes

Gray Manes a lovely blue lias stone house in a quiet rural location in large grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gray Manes a lovely blue lias stone house in a quiet rural location in large grounds
Exclusive use of indoor heated pool with changing room Stunning 27ft lounge with oak floors, leather sofas and plasma TV - seats 14 in comfort
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
24 reviews
Gray Manes a lovely blue lias stone house in a quiet rural location in large grounds
Exclusive use of indoor heated pool with changing room
Stunning 27ft lounge with oak floors, leather sofas and plasma TV - seats 14 in comfort
Inglenook fireplace with log burner - all logs provided
Nearly 2 acres of grounds, plenty of room for football and cricket games.
Dining in style
Modern sleek kitchen with granite worktops and slate flooring
Well equipped kitchen with rangemaster and American fridge freezer
Games room with 7tf America Pool, Air Hockey, Table Football and TV
A pool with a view
Leisure barn just a few steps from the house
Toddlers playroom with plenty of toys
all bedrooms can be superking or twin
seats 14 in comfort
All bedrooms have a tv and own bath/shower room
Roll top bathroom
Somewhere quiet to read the paper
All bedrooms are stylishly presented
Quality oak furniture and hanging space will be found in all bedrooms
Childrens play area with swings, slide and trampoline
Patio in the evening sunshine
'Church in the Field' Low Ham
Views across to Glastonbury Tor from Low Ham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Langport, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KazA1010
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house for family celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We contacted Tanya earlier in the year to book a family birthday celebration for my father in November. She was extremely helpful and the booking process all went smoothly. She recommended caterers for the Saturday evening which proved very successful. We were a party of 9 including two grandparents, a teenager and two children of 6 and 10. Everyone had a good time. The children made extensive use of the lovely pool and well equipped games room in the outbuilding just across the patio from the house. The house itself was spacious and comfy with pretty well everything you would need. A good kitchen, TV with sky and wi fi. All bedrooms had ensuites and everthing generally was to a very high standard. We will return and would definitely recommend.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
I am delighted the birthday celebrations went very well and you were pleased with the caterers. I am so pleased the house provided everthing you needed. We would be delighted to welcome you all back if you decided to visit Gray Manes again. Thank you for choosing Gray Manes for your family celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGBluebir...
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We enjoyed the most fabulous stay at Gray Manes in April 2013. We have stayed in many wonderful properties over the last ten years (this is an annual "girly" event for us) and Gray Manes is definitely one of the best.
Chris and Tanya couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - they made us feel at home immediately. The house is extremely comfortable and very well equipped - the swimming pool was a great success with all.
We particularly liked the fact that not only pool towels were provided but robes too.
We were celebrating two 50th birthdays and we certainly have fantastic memories of our week spent at Gray Manes. We would have no hesitation in returning one day and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a special property to rent - try it, you'll love it!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The lay out of the house and the beautiful location
Liked least: The fact we had to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Hi Julie

Thank you for your kind comments. We would love to welcome you back to Gray Manes.

Have a great summer.

Best Wishes to you all Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDoogan
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect, wonderful large house ideal for group holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of friends, 12 adults, 3 children and 2 dogs, spent a perfect week at Gray Manes. The house is just wonderful. Lots of space, each bedroom is beautifully decorated and either has en-suite or its own bathroom. Substantial lounge, with large TV and log burner (not needed in June but looked great!). Large kitchen and dining area, no problem getting us all around the dining table. The kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed during the stay.

Outside there is a large garden area and playground, which kept the dogs and kids perfectly entertained. In the outbuilding there is the games room, which has a pool table, table football, air hockey, TV. This leads into the swimming pool. Beautifully heated room and pool, nice and warm for the kids and a constant depth so even non-swimmers enjoyed themselves. We swam at least twice a day every day.

We were presented with a welcome box on arrival that had eggs (which are available from just around the corner), cakes and other tasty bits and bobs. We were also shown around the property and made to feel instantly at home.

The village itself is lovely and quiet so sleeping at night with all the windows open was no issue at all. The Halfway House pub is about 2.5 miles away, so an easy cycle ride away.

Overall we had the most perfect week away from our normal hectic lives, and left happy and relaxed. We would not hesitate to recommend it to our other friends and would happily return again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K88EYS
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations ...... A truly perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at Grey Manes with our family for some special celebrations...birthdays, engagement, upcoming wedding..... We were met and showed round by Chris and Tanya....the owners....who were so warm and friendly and made us feel so welcome. The house is beautiful, sophisticated, fantastically equipped, lovely personal touches (flowers and home made cake) and so warm and relaxing. We had great fun choosing which bedroom everyone wanted. They are all different and have their own 'personality' . We were all delighted with our choice!
The boys ( 30, 32,35and 40) had lots of great games on the pool table, we swam every day, relaxed in the quiet areas, shared meals around the table and cooked together.The area is quiet and peaceful but has lovely walks and Somerset really is the 'Forgotten County'.
This is a house to share with those who mean a lot to you. It is made for wonderful memories, for fun and sharing. It is a real gem.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The property is stylish and luxurious while staying warm and relaxing. Real 5* accommodation.
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like about this property!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2013
Thank you Paula, it was a pleasure to have you all to stay, we look forward to welcoming you to Gray Manes again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“DO WE REALLY HAVE TO LEAVE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Twelve of us stayed at Grey Manes for our mother's 70th birthday celebration. It was a surprise for her and the accommodation bowled her (and all us) over. Grey Manes made us instantly feel at home, it was warm and welcoming, beautifully clean and presented. Fresh flowers were in every room which was a lovely touch, especially appreciated by our mom. Each bedroom was set up according to our wishes, either twin or double with luxurious soft towels, toiletries and dressing gowns. The open fire in the living room was wonderful, all of us toasting marshmallows and drinking hot chocolate whilst playing the games that are available for use. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and the large dining table was a lovely place to all sit together and eat too much, including the home made birthday cake that was left for us and was a lovely touch.

The games room and pool were lovely and very much appreciated by the children in our party as it was such a cold weekend and they couldn't really get to enjoy playing outside. The pool is a constant depth and not too deep so that inspired enough confidence for our youngest member to learn to swim that weekend.

We booked Grey Manes a year in advance and Tanya kept in touch and was very helpful with location of shops, places to go and recommended restauarants (We went to the Lime Kiln and had a lovely Sunday lunch). Both Chris and Tanya were in attendance when we arrived and showed us around the property and how things worked. It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for either of them - more like renting a property from a friend!!

We had a fantastic times at Grey Manes, the kids wanted us to rent another week or buy the place!! We would have loved to. This is an excellent place for a family / friends get together where you can do as much or as little as you like in superb and homely surroundings.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Loved everything, can't choose
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
So pleased you had a lovely weekend and thank you so much for your kind comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Gray Manes. Tanya and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bumble61
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, fantastic facilities, wonderfully equipped”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We (an extended family ranging from 18 months to 72 years, plus two dogs) were looking for a special property for a long weekend in which to celebrate a Golden Wedding anniversary. We found Gray Manes, and we are so glad that we did! Communication was excellent from the word go (a year in advance in this case), loads of helpful information, nothing was too much trouble, Tanya even suggested we sent decorations ahead which were put up ahead of our arrival. Chris was there to meet us and show us around, i was instantly impressed, they really have thought of everything.

The property is beautiful, very tastefully decorated, and incredibly well-equipped with everything we could think of. Brilliant games room and pool, huge garden with play area - we had no reason to leave. Each bedroom has either an en-suite or its own private bathroom. Fresh flowers everywhere, a welcome basket containing local eggs, jam and cake among other goodies, and even a decorated celebration cake! We sat 16 very comfortably for meals, and used a local caterer who stocked the fridge with home-cooked meals (as chosen in advance from her extensive menu) for our celebration meal - we just had to put the oven on and put the food in - and it was delicious.

I have stayed in numerous self-catering properties of varying sizes over the years, and this really is up there with the very best. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2013
Thank ou Amy, and thank you Elizabeth and Eric for your lovely card. I am so pleased the Golden Anniversary celebration gave you a weekend to remember. We would be delighted to welcome you back and promise another cake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing